We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is at least the 5th time I have stayed at this hotel and I cannot fault it. The rooms are spacious and well-kept, there are lovely sea views across Palma and the port, the reception area and restaurant was been completely refurbished in the last year. There is also a spa area with pool which also goes outside, sauna, steam room, aromatherapy room and salt inhalation room, all FOC to guests. There are also 2 outdoor pools and sunbeds on the bathing areas.
Within easy reach of Palma town and dedicated on-site car parking. Can be tricky to find the first time you drive to it, although it is sign-posted from town.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a sea view or pool view, although all rooms on the front of the hotel will have a sea view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McDoogan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

It was a pity we'd only booked one night here (with friends) as we were all absolutely delighted with the spa which certainly exceeded our expectations. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom contained quality products and a decent hairdryer - much better than the usual fitted driers which are difficult to control. The outside pool looked fabulous but we weren't brave enough to venture in despite the sunny weather. The heated spa pool extended outside so we made the most of that. The breakfast room was delightful and an extensive choice was on offer. A really lovely break. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrett65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

have just spent one night in hotel with friends as a birthday treat.Room was lovely, stunning views over bay & mountains.Gardens & pools were well tended,and terrace was perfect place to sit on a sunny January Day.Spa is fantastic,just not enough time to enjoy it all.Staff were friendly, polite and very helpful.One special touch was a bottle of Cava arrived in room wishing me Happy Birthday, a gift from the hotel, assume they realised it was birthday from paperwork, A token that I will not forget.So if you are looking for a hotel in Palma ,with spa , lovely views, good food,and just a bit special then this is the hotel for you.Will definately be recommending it to our friends, and will be there again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

An out of season stay found the hotel rather empty and perhaps as a result somewhat lacking in atmosphere. Food was very good in both restaurants. Pool areas were very pleasant and even in November we were able to sunbathe some of the time!
We saw nothing of hotel management during our stay and gained the impression that the hotel might be more interested in events than tourism at this time of year.
There are a number of shortcomings that have been covered by other reviews, we were particularly disappointed to find that teamaking equipment was not provided in the room and a free hotel provided WiFi was not available throughout the hotel.The hotel bar is small and lacks a comfortable lounge area.

Room Tip: The Palma bay Cathedral view is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We enjoyed 5 nights at this hotel and were pleased with our choice. Having never been to Palma before we were not sure what it offered and so we went for a hotel with lovely pool areas so we could enjoy some relaxation in the sun. The hotel is lovely inside with spacious and exceptionally clean rooms and modern bathrooms.The comments referring to the hotel being a bit dated must refer to the outside which is a bit 1960s in architecture and pool areas resemble the early style of building outside spa areas. However they were kept to a good standard for their age and the pools and gardens were lovely to relax around. The outside terrace areas for eating were also ideal for those warm eveings. It is a walk into Palma (about 30 minutes to the centre) but having done it once we always used taxis and they are permanently stationed outside the hotel.
The staff of the hotel were fabulous, so friendly and helpful and this is important to us so we were very impressed, including service around the pool. We thought the pool boys were great but what you can get around the pool is limited, especially in snacks. If we had any reservations about it I think there is an element of having to save money and the staff were a little on the sparse side in some areas especially the spa, We never saw anyone looking after the spa and still not sure what it had to offer apart from the pool and gym. The price of food and drink in the bistro was what you expect in a five star hotel and we never tried the restaurant because the choice was not great. I think it had one major failing for us. Everyone seemed to smoke and the terrace areas were full of smokers so we sometimes had to move inside to enjoy a meal. The breakfast terrace was completely out of bounds as it filled quickly with smokers. So we found ourselves being pushed out of the best areas. I would suggest to management that the breakfast terrace should be free of smoking and the main terrace should also have some smoke free area. Otherwise a good choice for us. If you have children they will love it as the staff are wonderful with them and the pool and gardens are perfect for them.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour gives some interesting entertainment watching the cruise liners come in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Well, there are many nice things about Valparaiso Hotel.
- The rooms are refurbished, brand new, and very nicely decorated
- The pool areas are very nice, although they look dated (from the 80s)
- The food, although overpriced, is good.
- The spa is fantastic. Biggest on the island, and included.

Now the negative sides
- The poolside service is nothing short of horrible!! Although they have two pool boys on duty, every time you have to walk to the bar or restaurant and ask them to bring you a drink. Every time it seems like a lot of trouble for them. They do not serve food poolside, not even sandwiches. This just doesn't wash for a 5 star hotel in my opinion.
- The prices for food/drink are through the roof! I paid 6.50 euros for a glass of local rosé wine. A pint of beer is 6.50 euro, a burger is 16 euro..
- The lobby, communal areas, restaurants and pools have not had the same facelift as the rooms and look like a 5-star hotel from 1987.
- There is NO free WIFI in the rooms or communal areas outside the lobby. You have to pay 5 Euro per day for Wifi. Usually this would be included in a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oslopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

For a girls weekend getaway, we were very pleased with the Valparaiso. The hotel is well-located for easy access (by taxi) to Palma, without being subjected to city noise. Set up on the top of a hill overlooking the harbor, it is about 20 minutes from the airport by taxi, and 10 or 15 min by foot over to Porto Pi (shopping mall). The cathedral-view rooms were tastefully decorated and included a balcony with gorgeous views.

The reception staff was very friendly and multilingual (Engl/Deutsch/Spanish), and were happy to make dinner reservations for us and give us plenty of information.

We especially appreciated having beach towels already provided in our room, as a 10 minute taxi ride brought us to lovely (but busy) Illetas beach. The room also had fluffy bathrobes.

Breakfast was very diverse - lots of fresh fruit, a variety of fresh fruit juices (banana juice!), omelettes, crepes, the usual cold cuts and bread, vegetables, cereals, etc. Our gluten-free friend was able to find plenty appropriate foods to enjoy, but be aware that the griddle used to make omelettes is also used to make crepes.

The two large pools were fantastic - more than enough comfortable pool chairs for everyone (and they had very luxe mattress pads), a separate kids' pool (although we didn't encounter many children), a friendly drink server, and plenty of shade. The lower salt-water pool was surrounded by beautiful landscaping - even a waterfall - which lent a resort feel.

The hotel seemed to be the crew hotel for several airlines (which is usually a good sign!), so airline employees on vacation may be eligible for reduced rates - worth a check.

There is no question that we would come back again!!

Room Tip: The cathedral-view rooms provided a truly fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereisjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.7 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
0.9 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
191 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,613 reviews
2.1 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA

Address: Calle Francesc Vidal Sureda 23, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Grupotel Valparaiso Palace & Spa)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £112 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an excellent location overlooking Palma de Mallorca's bay and sourrounded by magnificent gardens, yet only a few minutes from the city center. Rooms: large, luxurious rooms and suites, fully equipped with a furnished bathroom, hair dryer, bathrobe, heating / air-conditioning, Sat-TV, minibar, safety deposit box and terrace with a magnificent panoramic view. Spa & Wellness Center: The Nayara Spa invites you to relax in a truly luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Valparaiso Palace Hotel Palma De Mallorca
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing