We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is a beautifully restored boutique hotel which keeps the look and feel of a home. I love the concept. There is an open kitchen for tea, a drawing room with fireplace as the bar and an elegant dining area which doesn't have a fixed menu. Guests can tell what they would like to eat and where, and it will be served. Except for breakfast I didn't eat in as the hotel is a stone's throw from great cafes, tapas bars and fancy restaurants.

I stayed for 5 nights in Schubert, a lovely room with 4 poster bed, and the French windows open to a small courtyard with a fountain in the center. From my room, I could see the roofs of the Cathedral, simmering in soft lights at night...

Ultimately, the people that managed the hotel count the most. They were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I am particularly grateful to Toni, who was forever on hand to offer any help and advises I needed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hashim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay and our "feel like home" philosophy.
Your positive comments encourage us to keep working to provide even a better service day by day.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Supposedly a five star hotel but really a 4 star, and that's if you're not being fussy. Majestic old building with fabulous public spaces that could be jaw dropping but are not. First impressions count and they are sadly missing out due to the reception and entrance being far from grand but ridiculously squashed and uncomfortable. The room we had had good points and bad. Good space and high ceilings and a nice bathroom, but the bed was way too firm with pillows to match. Also the modern elements they've tried to incorporate such as the artwork, does not sit well with the feel of the place. Maybe that's just my personal taste. Breakfast billing is a law unto itself. Various costs for various types of items for various menus. Why don't they see sense and sort it out? The location is good for the Cathedral and tapas bars etc. and the main shopping area is close by so for exploring Palma on foot it was good but overall I found it too expensive and not up to
scratch.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 890Sim0L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending a little of your time writing about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa. Our clients feedback is really important for us and it is the best way to improve everyday.

We have taken note of your remarks. As you know, we are a small hotel with only 12 rooms and we try to create a real family friendly atmosphere and make our rooms the most pleasant.

We are really sorry to know now that you did not like your bed and pillows. If you had told us in our morning check (we do it every day with all our guests) we would have replaced your mattress and pillows.

As you know, in the small tour we make with all the guest when they arrive to the hotel, we explain you (when we are in the room) that you have a Pillow Menu in order to guarantee all guests' relax and likings and that we have different mattresses too.
Our main goal is that you feel really comfortable while you are at the hotel and that´s why we ask you all these details every morning.

Regarding our breakfast, if its not included, we explain the different kinds of breakfast we have during the tour while we are in Rick´s Café (that is our breakfast room). Also you have al that information in your room and there is a menu card over each table with the explanation (you have the possibility to choose between 3 kind of breakfast depending your appetite)

Once again, we thank you for your comments. We would be delighted to see you again in our hotel and have the chance to make your next stay unforgettable by offering you a better service.

Best regards
Sonia Marzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at Palactio Ca Sa Galesa for 6 nights. Initially the junior suite had been booked, but they made an upgrade to the Luxus Suite (ELGAR).
Upon arriving to the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff, while afterwards they made a tour for us around the hotel to see the spa area, the breakfast area and the various rooms of the hotel!
Actually the house looks at the beginning like a labyrinth, nevertheless at the end of the tour we were amazed by the glory & the luxury of each room!
What a lovely kitchen decorated in a British style. Between 16:00-18:00 we could have our complimentary tea there with traditional sweets & cakes from Mallorca!
The bar area & the fireplace room were unforgettable. Nice carpets, beautiful paintings, classic music at the background! You could easily relax after a long day of tour around the island!
The view from the roof garden is also amazing. You can clearly see the fabulous building of the cathedral, while you could enjoy also the sea & the pool of this 16th century palacio!
We have been there in January & although the weather was perfect for this time (around 20-25o C daily) we could not enjoy as much as we wanted the roof garden!
As far as the room is concerned, no words can describe the quality of the accommodation. Spacious room with a big bathroom (incl. Jacuzzi), dressing area, living room & bedroom!The decoration of the room was very carefully made with designer lamps, nice paintings & dark wood details. A king - size bed came to satisfy our son, who could not stop laying on our bed. For the kids, there is enough space to sleep on the couch of the living room, which becomes a double bed every night from the staff.
One time we could swim in the pool! It is not that big & I must admit the air down there is a little bit suffocating, nevertheless our son enjoyed it more than us!
At last a few words for the breakfast: AMAZING! Tropical fresh fruits, different ham varieties (local products from Spain), fish, cereals, different freshly baked breaks, a loooot of sweets, tasty coffee of high quality (whatever you liked) & of course freshly prepared eggs (scrambled, boiled or omellette).

I could keep describing the hotel for hours more! It has been really an unforgettable memory for our family & above all we will never forget the hospitality of the staff (they proposed areas to visit, restaurants to eat, made the reservations for us etc.), who made us feel like home! Thanks to all of you for this wonderful vacation & staying at your hotel!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The luxus suite Elgar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSforA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel in such detail.
We are really glad to see that you and your family have enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments encourage us to keep working to provide even a better service day by day.

We hope to see you back soon with an even nicer weather so you can enjoy our roof terrace!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is a beautiful hotel located in the old town facing the waterfront. It is in a perfect location for major tourist attractions (eg the cathedral is next door) and restaurants. We had the Brahms suite, which is a long, spacious room with a king bed and a pull-out sofa bed. The windows open out into the courtyard. It is, however, right above the reception area and can be noisy (hearing people's conversation) at times.

There are various communal areas in the hotel - library, kitchen, dining and living room with a fireplace etc. The rooftop terrace is a nice place to relax when the weather is warm. The hotel staff was friendly and always tried to help and to make sure we had everything we need. My wife had a body massage and facial, and she had a smile on her face for 2 days, claiming they were some of the best treatments she ever had.

The hotel is not shy when it comes to charging for services and products. Some are worthwhile (massage) and some are not (minibar). Breakfast is not included and we did not have breakfast at the hotel during our stay. However, they do give out free stuff. For example, we received a bottle of cava upon arrival, and they served almond cake and tea in the kitchen everyday (try the cake, it is delicious) and sherries in the living room.

The bed in our room was hard and the pillows were either too high or too flat. They have a varieties of pillows to choose from.

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending a little of your time writing about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa. Your feedback clients is really important for us, as it is the best way to be able to improve every day.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed your holidays at the house.

We do really appreciate your comments regarding our beds, and despite all the clients have a different mattress’es taste, it is a really important issue that we pay very close attention to, in order to offer you the best sleeping quality.

The hotel’s mattresses are semi-hard, being this the most preferred texture, but we do also offer soft mattress’s covers for the clients who desire a softer feeling. This way we try to adapt the bed to your own tastes. If you would have told it to our staff while you were at the hotel, we would have been pleased to change it.

Our main goal is that you feel like home while you are at the hotel and this is why our reception staff asks you everyday if we can do anything for you and if you are feeling comfortable in your room. We are avaliable 24 hours to assist you and to attend all of your demands.
In any case, the whole team will try their best to communicate and explain at the client’s arrival the different bed’s and pillow’s textures available.

Being an old palace of the XVII century gives us an exceptional but also an unusual building structure. While doing the renovation to become the house into a hotel, we tried to maintain as much as the original structure as possible. The house is actually maintaining the “Mallorca Patio” structure (house surrounding a main courtyard) and in order to preserve this structure and being able keep the old palace feel, the reception had to be adapted in size and location to the original construction.

As every person has a different hearing sensibility, we have already changed our working procedures in order to always leave outside doors and windows closed and to remember to control staff conversations level.

All your comments are the best way to improve continuously, so we always keep in mind that our goal is excellence in service.Thank you again for your time and suggestions.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I loved the location of the hotel. It was right in old town near the cathedral and I could walk to everything. The staff was great and the room - a small suite - was large enough for my daughter and her husband and myself. The sofa bed was in a separate area so it gave everyone privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner in the dining room even though it was a bit pricey. I just wish the weather had been better so we could enjoy the roof top deck.

Room Tip: We did have a bit of road noise so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. I am a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepilotRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaciocasagalesa, Propietario at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to continuously improve our services. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back soon (hopefully with a better weather as you said)

Best regards
Sonia Marzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When you read all the fantastic reviews previously of this hotel you begin to wonder if they are genuine. Let me assure they are ! My wife and I stayed four four nights in October and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by the staff. It is more like a country hotel in the middle of a city, from the roof terrace with beatiful views of the cathederal and the bay to all the lovely reception rooms. We were upgraded to the Vivaldi suite and the bathroom was as big as soom hotel rooms we've stayed. Breakfast is a little complicated as there are 3 different options, but I'm nitpicking. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Definately choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blufox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to continuously improve our services. We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

First of all, this is a majestic property worth a visit for the 'public' rooms alone. The high-ceilinged first floor hall and reception rooms are a beautiful relic of a bygone age - highly evocative. We stayed in the Vivaldi suite which is the only guest room on this floor immediately adjoining the hall and reception rooms. It made us feel like a king and queen as we essentially had the run of the place to ourselves. Even though it was clear we were not the only guests in this small hotel luxury hotel, no one else seemed to be taking advantage of these rooms and the adjoining kitchen at all. That's the good news...but here's the bad.

The reception area of the hotel is a little glass-fronted cubicle off a courtyard downstairs. It felt a little like we were checking into a jail. The staff were trying had to be kind in the MOST unwelcoming and cramped hotel entrance we have EVER experienced (more like a bad B&B, a total contrast to the style of the first floor and completely out of context). Our checkout in this crazy tight space also made me totally uncomfortable, especially as we had to have an uncomfortable discussion about the bill. This hotel has a way of pricing the breakfast that is more complex than most hotels room rates - three different price levels and surcharges if for example you want 'real' orange juice rather than the standard orange juice on the menu. Needless to say, when we checked out the breakfast charges were wrong, even though we had tried to discuss this with the surly staff at breakfast. A trivial matter perhaps, but it made leaving less pleasant than it could have been. The beds and pillows were much too hard and we struggled to sleep. We were given alternative options but they were not much better. At least the wifi was free, even though it wasn't working on the day of our departure.

I don't understand how they can claim to be a five star hotel. Compared to La Residencia in Deia (where we had spent the previous 3 nights, brilliant attentive service, ultimate in luxury, unbelievable beds and bed linens, inclusive breakfasts etc) this is no more than a three star establishment. As a suggestion to management to entice us back we suggest 1. include the buffet breakfast for all guests and avoid the constant hassle, 2. include water for free - a five star hotel does not charge its guests for water! 3. Put in place a welcoming reception area in the lobby, surely your designers can come up with something better that integrates with the character of the rest of the hotel! I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for an environment that was really geared around making life easy for the customer.
By the way, my wife said she had the best physiotherapy massage of her life on the roof terrace. Thanks for that!

Room Tip: Rooms are very different in size and character, do some homework to make sure that you get what suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Convent de la Missio
Hotel Convent de la Missio
#20 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,748 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa

Address: Calle Miramar 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#31 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £130 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is an iconic 5-stars boutique-hotel in the heart of Palma de Mallorca. It is located in an elegant XVI century palace which perfectly combines island's architecture with French, Italian and English style.This charming hotel has 12 rooms, all of them unique and different. The wonderful interiors of Palacio Ca Sa Galesa are smartly decorated with valuable works of art by great artists such as Miro, Calder or Bennasar. The hotel is equipped with comfortable lounges and meeting rooms, a library, a bar, a restaurant, a breakfast room, a quiet courtyard for relaxing and a spacious terrace for sunbathing. Hotel's excellent location allows guests enjoying some excellent views of Palma's bay and Cathedral.Palacio Ca Sa Galesa offers a wide variety of quality services including Wi-Fi Internet access, 24 hour room service, express check-in/out, air conditioning, heating, parking facilities, free bike rental and a new wellness area with gym, thermal bath circuit, heated indoor pool, sauna, Roman bath, Jacuzzi and health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Hotel
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing