We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older rooms not very comfortable”
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Azul
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Neat and modern hotel however we were not satisfied with our room. We booked the room based on pictures we saw on the reservations site and were given a room on the 2nd floor which seemed to be the older rooms.We took a look around and found that the renovated and new rooms that we saw online were on Floor 3 and above. We enquired about this and also saw & heard another guest enquiring about the same. We were all told we would have to pay to upgrade. Anyways, ensure you reserve and get the same as what you see online and have booked.

Location is okay, 10 minutes wak to the restaurants,etc. The views from the hotel are fantastic though. Thought it a bit odd that the hotel reception charges for a basic map.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We are just back from a weekend break in Palma and stayed at Hotel Costa Azul. We have stayed here before so it was a pleasant surprise to find that the hotel has undergone a complete makeover. We had a room on the seventh floor overlooking the marina. The rooms have been totaly transformed and are now modern and with very comfortable beds. The bathroom has a large walkin shower but no bath. We had a very large balcony also with new furnature and a glass screen instead of a wal which alows great views while seated. The lower two floors have not yet been refurbished but this is planned for the end of the year. The receptionist told us that the hotel had just been awarded a fourth star so I expect prices will rise. This is a good value friendly hotel in a great location and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor at the front o the hotel for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrythemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Oh dear, two nights in one of the unrenovated rooms and it wasn't great. Bathroom was damp smelling but my main beef is that the room had no hair dryer and the hotel only kept 2 or 3 to loan out, which others had taken. The reception staff just did not get that this was a problem and were pretty offhand. It cannot be the first time this has arisen. Eventually I was given access to one of the nice new rooms to dry my hair...

When all the rooms are done it will be great, but do not accept a room on floor 2!

Hotel well located for lovely bars and restaurants in Palma.

Room Tip: Front facing had nice view and was quiet-good glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jbeattie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from a week B&B at the Costa Azul and the refurbished rooms are excellent. Paid extra for a higher room with marina view and most definitely worth it. However, a few issues that I think let the hotel down. I think that the breakfast is pretty poor for the star rating and the breakfast staff less than courteous and sometimes downright rude. However, other staff and reception staff excellent. The room itself was great but floors not cleaned once during our stay. So any sand you might bring with you from the beach stays with you all week! And no extractor fan in the bathroom which makes the mirror useless after a shower and no mirrors in the room. Small point but a little irritating.
Harbour location very good but restaurant choice nearby is odd - nearly all Italian or Curry houses! A few tapas bars but if you want authentic Spanish you'll have to be prepared to walk a few miles to the old town.
Overall a nicely furnished hotel but don't think I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Jump on a Number 1 bus from Palma airport, pay 2.5 euros and ask for the Costa Azul stop. The driver gave us a wave when it was time to get off and we walked the 100 yards to the hotel. The hotel overlooks the Marina, what an excellent location. Reception is modern and bright,as are the restaurant and bar area (in the evening the bar spills out on the pavement!). On the 3rd floor there is a small swimming pool which can be covered over in the event of poor weather, there is quite a large sunbathing area close to the pool with comfy sunloungers. the pool is serviced by a bar and snackbar. We were allocated room on the 8th floor. what a surprise when we opened the door. It was a very large, clean, bright airy room with a bathroom to match. The balcony was also large with a side sea view which gave us an amazing view over the Marina and Palma Cathedral. the beds were amazingly comfortable. All the decor in the rooms is very modern and this continues into the hallways and landings. it has been very tastefully finished. We uesd this hotel as a stopover for 1 night prior to joining our cruise ship in Palma. The journey from the hotel to the Port of Palma was just as easy, 3 stops on the bus as you are there, this is a fantastic way to arrive at your ship! There were a variety of nationalities staying there and also a mixture of ages. This hotel would make a great base whilst staying in Palma and visiting the rest of the island. We stayed on a Half Board basis and were not dissapointed with the food in the restaurant. The evening meal was self service buffet style meal with lots of choice. Breakfast was again buffet style with something for everyone. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. .

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view - well worth it! ask for a high floor - above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susane2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Jst returned from 5 days in Palma, from reception to departure, the staff were helpfull and, courteous. Despite non of speaking fluent Sanish, the staff dealt with all our questions with no delay at all The room was not one of the refurbished ones, however it was spotleessly claen , with a balcony view of the marina. Would highly recommend the hotel as it is within walking distance of several great restraunts and bars .Nice walk into the old town. When we stayed it was incredible warm, howevr we were unable to sit outside for an afternoon drink or pre dinner drink as there were no parasols or canopys over the outside tables. I was unsure if this was because the Azul wasnt looking for passing trade. However when we did have a drink in the hotel bar the service was excellent and the staff were very entertaining, The buffet breakfast was great and once again the staff couldnt have been more helpfull, my husband has balance problems and the staff were so helpfull to him without makeing him feel uncomfortable

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned from 5 nights in Palma with the Mrs. Loved the city and the hotel.
It's very easy to get to, bus route number 1 from the airport, 2.5euros 20minutes.
It's located right on the marina, surrounded by little shops, bars and restaurants.
The city itself is about 5 minutes walk away, head to the bars/restaurants of Carrer de Sant Joan, the cathedral is just passed here.
Great staff, easy check in, nice lobby.
Breakfast had a huge choice, fry-up, fruit, meats, yogurts, cereal, breads, doughnuts too! oh, and good coffee.
We were in room 709, modern and bright, cleaned impeccably every day, and the balcony got the sun late afternoon too. And a little fridge for San Miguel. perfect.
If/when we return to Palma will not hesitate to return to the Azul.
Enjoy it.
Ftm

Room Tip: high floor. 709 gets afternoon sun on balcony. winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hungryfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.4 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palma Bellver By Melia
Palma Bellver By Melia
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,627 reviews
0.9 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
976 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#36 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £79 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment. Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city. Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams. In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you. Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing