We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted, great location, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costa Azul
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't be faulted, great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here, nothing happened which would make me not recommend this place -.great location (10/15 walk to old town), staff very helpful and polite, room had everything you'd need (our room on 7th floor had perfect view of the marina and town beyond), really excellent bathroom. One little criticism, the room a/c could have been colder, it works fine and brings temp down, but sometimes when you get in, you'd like that super freezing hit, but didn't affect the quality of our stay at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouzi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    626
    148
    39
    31
See reviews for
174
714
59
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From arrival to departure, faultless.
Welcoming arrival and allowed room before check in time.
Room so comfortable, with full view of Palma marina from lovely balcony. We were allocated 7th floor, the higher the better to get away from road noise although glazing cut 99% of that noise out.
Beds so comfortable with array of pillows to choose from, English channels on TV, free wifi throughout and free room safe. Quietest air con I can remember.
Bathroom spacious with walk in shower with space for a party.
Overall room was spotless.
Breakfast, fantastic, good range of fresh fruits, cooked meats and cheeses etc and then theatre style chef cooking bacon, eggs, omelettes to order.
Staff friendly and helpful throughout and hotel well located for walk around the harbour or walk back into city. Alternatively across road bus to centre 1.50 euros, bus (number 1) 3 euros to airport from same stop directly opposite hotel if you dont want to get a taxi.
Plenty of other bars in close proximity and hotel bar prices very competitive eg 3.10 euro pint.
On 3rd floor and above reception Swimming pool small, but sun terrace area very comfortable.
Overall excellent!

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlRobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first visit and we were very pleased with the hotel.
We chose a premium double room which I was thankful for because the sea view was amazing, especially since we were allocated Room 410 which was a corner room - this gave us an almost panoramic view. The room was immaculate with a modern, roomy bathroom and excellent shower.
We found the hotel to be very quiet, no banging doors like some hotels.
We did not use the pool area but from our balcony we witnessed the staff cleaning/tidying the area every evening - this was done to perfection.
The reception staff were very helpful with our questions re: local transport etc. and were very hospitable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again but would have to insist on a sea view on a high floor. I agree with a previous review that a room on the first floor would be noisy and the view would be limited, also the balcony would not be private.
The location is very central. We used public transport to get to the train station, which was easy to find.

Room Tip: Sea view, high floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

2nd visit, and it seems to have a had a positive face lift to last time, with a new bright clean look. However, it is still in the same great place close to several decent bars and restaurants and only a ten minute walk along the front to the old town. Definitely choose a room with a sea view.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 44Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Despite having paid extra for a sea view and requested a high floor, we got a room on the first floor from which you can see the marina, but not the sea or anything else. You could not open the window since the noise of the cars was too loud. That was a huge disappointment.
The hotel is trying to present an image of a sort of luxury boutique hotel, but there are details such as the cheap fake-wood flooring that shows it is not. Moreover, the fact that they charge you the entire bill in advance, before even entering the room or that to charge any expense on the room account you have to previously deposit € 100 at the reception, are methods more suitable for a student hostel. I requested a "late checkout", to leave the room at noon instead of 11am since my son was sick, but this was flatly denied.
The so-called free wi-fi in the room was so slow it was useless.
The breakfast was good, and the position is excellent to access the marina and close to the centre.
Overall, I think the hotel is overpriced for what it offers, especially since there is no sea view on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Only agree to pay if they assure you a higher floor. The lower floors have no sea view even if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pettica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Costa Azul is one of those hotels that does everything well.....and at a reasonable price too. It's not a luxury property. Instead, it's effectively a 'no frills' hotel but one which has everything most travellers will need.....right down to a small spa centre, a gym, pool and sun terrace. Location is excellent, right on the Paseo Maritimo (Palma's seafront boulevard), overlooking the marina and cruise ship port beyond. The cathedral, old town and shopping area are all within easy reach. The rooms aren't big, but they're bright, funky and well equipped. Our seaview room (at a 20€ supplement) had double balcony doors which kept out any road noise, a bright bathroom with great shower and really effective air conditioning....an essential in Palma during August. How many hotels get things like the shower and air con just right? We didn't try the restaurant in the evening, but the breakfast was also very good....right down to a chef freshly cooking eggs and omelettes. That's usually a preserve of more expensive hotels. One final point. The reception staff were excellent. Can't think of any negatives. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

the azul in palma majorca has everthing you need for a wonderful restful holiday hotel;. set on the front overlooking the marina with views looking over the whole bay including the cathedral within walking distance of palma main shopping. we have now been to the Azul twice and will return again we enjoyed the area very much and its like the centre of a spiders web you can get to anywhere from Palma, by bus or train.

Room Tip: rooms four and above for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,801 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Property: Hotel Costa Azul
Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment. Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city. Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams. In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you. Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing