We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky was we????”
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costa Azul
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We were very lucky when we got there as we had been double booked. They apologised and put us in the amazingly plush penthouse suite. I couldnt believe our good luck. The room was brilliant with great sea views. We even had a massive balcony with sunloungers to look down at the marina. The bar downstairs was great and the pool although small was clean and well maintained. If your with the missus this hotel should be considered if travelling to Palma. The hotel is situated in a prime location next to the sea which is makes it so easy to leave the hotel and explore the area. I know it sounds like I am going on, so I am sorry, just not experienced enough of "posh" rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

just got back from costa azul after a 4 night stay, 20 minute walk into city. Go on the citytour bus 13 euro, ticket valid for 24 hour's see all the attractions then get off where you like. cathederal was fab as was the castle, indian restaurant next door to hotel serves lovely food and very romantic its a set menu 32 euro you get 3starters 5mains 2 deserts plus all the red wine you can drink have to pay for the white though, plenty of other restaurants and pubs in the area,you get to the hotel from the airport via the number 1 bus cost 2 euro located straight across the road from the number 4 exit door at arrivals takes about 15 minutes as soon as you see the marina on your left look out for hardrock cafe on your right, bus stops outside shamrock bar get off and keep walking for about 100 meteres, hotel a bit noisey from 6 lane highway outside but we asked for a high room got room 715 fantastic view over the marina so noise was not to bad, brekfast was very good we will return in the future

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beany33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We wanted a value for money hotel, reasonably well located, for a B & B break for a few days in a nice climate ( shame it rained every day, but clearly not the hotel's fault!) to chill out from work and this seemed to fit the bill from previous reviews. Generally it does what it says on the tin, so to speak. The location and consequential views ( although I can't speak for lower floors), access to buses, proximity to the many interesting sights of the city, personnel, cleanliness, rooms ( though maybe a bit spartan and with thin walls/ceilings), common areas, restaurant were all good enough and pretty much as one might hope and expect. The breakfast buffet in particular was very good and with a generous slot ( 0730 to 1000) within which to "eat your fill". There were a few niggles, inter alia no hairdrier, a rather mean 10 Euro charge for a key to use the room's safe, drilling works adj the (tiny) pool where the bar remained steadfastly shut ( presumably not quite the season for it to open as yet), road noise and smoking in the main bar ( this costs the hotel quite a bit of custom, I suggest- certainly we ate elsewhere on more than one occasion as a result of the initial "fug" on entry driving us away). Bizarrely there was no hotel guide in the room to appraise of and encourage use of its services/facilities and those of the location generally, and when we asked we were told the old one had been withdrawn due to too many errors and the reception had no idea when a replacement would be forthcoming. Not exactly selling themselves and what they can offer! However bearing in mind what we paid and especially in the light of how much prices have shot up generally as a result of the pound doing its best to qualify for the next Olympic diving competition, I'm perhaps being a bit churlish and "picky". So, you do get what you pay for and make allowances in the light of the overall value for money.
Sant Francesc Cafe/restaurant ( Placa Sant Francesc) has nice atmosphere, is especially good value and has very pleasant, helpful staff if you are in the area and need refreshment after being dragged round another church by your wife!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I booked this hotel through hotelopia, paying £230 for a five night stay, which seemed very reasonable. I was not disappointed. My room was ready for me on arrival which, as I arrived at midday, was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and had a fridge, aircon/heating and a small televsion with BBC channels as well as Spanish/Catalan/German channels. Like other reviewers I took the no. 1 bus from/to the airport. The price was a very reasonable €2 (price went up 23 March, so have €2 change ready if possible, not €1.85 as previously mentioned). Other buses in Palma are very reasonably priced at €1.25 for journey. The staff both at reception and in the hotel bar were very friendly and helpful. unfortunately I can't comment on breakfast as I didn'r get up early enough (!), but others staying at the hotel told me it was good.

The museum "Es Baluard", on the way into town is interesting if you like modern art. Even if you don't, the building is worth a look at, and on Fridays you can "pay what you please" to get in (from 10 cents, but to give that little would be rather too mean!). The cafe there was a good place to sit in the sun and have lunch if the weather is nice.

If you have a laptop/netbook etc with you, I would recommend that you go to the nearby Shamrock bar and use their wifi (ask for a username/password at the bar), as the hotel's wifi costs €1/15 min, which seems steep when you can use it for 2 hours at the Shamrock for the price of a drink. Also, the hotel's wifi doesn't connect on the higher floors.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mauvaisgarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Just returned from week at Costa Azul hotel in Palma. We had a lovely time- hotel far better than a 3star. We went bed and breakfast- booked with Thomson and had Easyjet flights (also very good). Breakfast was excellent- variety of hot and cold and very good coffee! We had a 7th floor room overlooking harbour- fantastic views. Only negative was the hotel snack bar where food was very average and would not recommend. All in all a very good hotel only 15 mins from the airport by No 1 Bus- cost 2 euros each way. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gransden94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Location of the hotel was great, 10 mins walk from the centre. Rooms very clean but no hairdryer in the room, we had a room on the side of the hotel so we had views of the harbour but without the noise of the main road, which is very busy. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good hot and cold. Taxi to the aiport was cheap as we couldn't get on the bus with a buggy too busy. Would recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor this seemed a great hotel for a very reasonable price in a good location and we were not disappointed. It is 3 star so the rooms are basic but clean and tidy and the location is perfect. Overlooking the marina and located for both restaurants and bars by the marina and also only a 10 minute wander into the centre. Lots of stuff to do, must do the train trip up to Soller and lots of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £86 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment. Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city. Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams. In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you. Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing