We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Traditional Spanish hotel”
Review of Hotel Born

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Born
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel was spotlessly clean and beautifully traditional. There was an amazing entrance foyer with a sweeping staircase.
The cool courtyard was lovely for having the fab self service continental breakfast every morning.
I went with some girlfriends for a weekend away but would happily take my husband there.
You are within walking distance of everything Palma town as to offer....
The mattresses seemed new but were very hard (which I don't mind at all) but just bear in mind if that doesn't suit you.
Staff were excellent, the night porter was a bit grumpy letting us in late at night but maybe they should offer keys if you are going to be late, after all Spain is a late night country!
I wouldn't hesitate to go back and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you struggle with stairs you may want to ask for a 1st floor room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

My girlfriend and I spend our final night in Mallorca in Palma, and stayed at the Hotel Born. A very unique and elegant, old-world hotel. The room was very large, with two-double canopied beds (although we only used one!), a nice size bathroom and sitting area. The decor has a very victorian feel, with a very grand staircase going up to the rooms. Breakfast was in the courtyard in the morning and was a great way to start the day. Location is also very convenient to walk through the old town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNS174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 days. On the positive side, the breakfast and location are great! Unfortunately, we ran into several problems.The majority of the staff were rude and unwelcoming with the exception of the front desk staff member on Monday, May 26. He was very helpful. When we booked this hotel, we specifically asked for a double (king), not twin beds which we got. The front desk told us, "We know what you requested, but this is what you got". The hotel was booked, so they could not change. We made reservations in January for May. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Our room looked out onto the courtyard which starts being noisy at 6:30 am. with the setting up for breakfast. So if you want to sleep in a little, it will not be possible. The hotel does have old world charm, we just wish the staff could have had some of that charm.

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel and want a king or double bed. I think I would say twins are not acceptabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely hotel. Very impressive building with a courtyard to enjoy breakfast. Plenty of choice of continental breakfast including fresh fruit and a large range of breads and cold meats etc. Coffee was freshly made to order and was excellent. Ideally located at the heart of the old city. Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Our superior room faced the indoor courtyard and was quiet and comfortable. Quite a few stairs to reach the 3rd floor but well worth the effort. Staff were friendly and very helpful. This is a great place to stay. Would recommend highly. Thank you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nonn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A lovely hotel in a superb location. If you're an older traveler, like me, you might want to avoid the stairs. I've rarely found such an elegant lodging for such a reasonable price. I'll vertainly return if I can

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We didn't mind the stairs, we loved the character of the place, and breakfast in the courtyard was a scrumptious delight. It was an easy walk to everywhere including the airport bus stop. Service was charming and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorksLass_CAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We return to The Hotel Born whenever we spend a few days in Palma. Despite the lack of a lift and "our" room being on the fourth floor, it is worth the climb (even with protesting knees). The view may not be magnificent but it is interesting (backs of old buildings). The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and, with a continental breakfast included, is excellent value for one so centrally placed.

We shall be back!

Room Tip: We have a Junior Suite which includes a comfortable sitting area overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jktraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
964 reviews
Hotel Saratoga
#35 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,126 reviews
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,030 reviews
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
562 reviews
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Calle Sant Jaume 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#27 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £93 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing