We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here and you'll be glad you're not in Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portixol Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Eat here and you'll be glad you're not in Palma”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A wonderful place for a terrace meal with a cool breeze off the sea. (If the breeze is a bit too cool they give you blankets to wrap around your shoulders - they'll give you two if your legs also feel a bit too cool).
A great family meal attentively and happily managed by a posse of impossibly tight jean-ed women. Not unreasonable cost (that bit is a guess since my son was paying and he's not rolling in it). The food was wonderful, bread and oils to dip into were unlimited and even the coffee was great by Mallorcan standards.
Outside parking is a bit of a pain but give the totally unofficial 'space watchers' a Euro and space magically appears. (Don't give them a Euro and, I'm told, a scratch or puncture magically appears.)
This is not Palma but a little fishing village grown much bigger by its small boat marina and linked to Palma by the motorway to the airport - so it is a bit of trek into town - but if you want to spend a lot of time in town, stay there and eat here a few times. You're worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Rupert-Seller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    89
    28
    18
    12
See reviews for
62
189
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What's not to love! This was the second time I have stayed there. Lovely rooms, amazing shower and very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and quality linen. Pool is lovely (and I like a good pool!) with excellent sun loungers and umbrellas if required. Make sure to ask to hire bikes, which are free, so that you can cycle into Palma along the seafront or in the opposite direction. Be warned that the cairphirinas are very strong but extremely tasty so don't consume too many pre-cycling. It is expensive but a fantastic hotel and far better than some of the other boutique hotels I've stayed in in Palma. Great restaurants nearby with the exception of The Tapas Club which had the most appalling tapas.

Room Tip: No tip necessary as all rooms good based on my own and friend's experiences
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueholidaylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a very trendy hotel and only 5 minutes drive to Palma city. The hotel overlooks a beautiful bay but like others have said, parking is a problem and taxis are not as cheap as they used to be in Majorca. The food at the restaurant is great and service could not be any better. Rooms are nice and modern but a bit too empty for my taste.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is how it should be ... if there are any flaws I didn't spot them ... Lovely touches.. staff so nice not forced.. (Thank you all) The water "monitor" ... Simple but inspired... management warm none intrusive wanted to know all ok. I worried about location but that's the beauty. In but out of town Seaside walk/ bike cheap bus ..taxi. Great food choice in and around hotel. Retro style not usually my thing but somehow just all "works" I really like this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Have just spent a lovely four days at the Portixol hotel. The hotel is excellent in every way, staff are all very pleasant and helpful, lovely breakfasts and the rooms kept immaculately clean. Beside eating in the hotel restaurant we also tried the local restaurants Es Mollett - delicious fish, and ProSecCo a small friendly restaurant where we enjoyed freshly cooked pasta and risotto.
Would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: This time we stayed in a Mediterranean view with terrace on the second floor which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savannaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is amazing as always. The staff are incredible and simply cannot do enough to help you. We visited over the quiet christmas period and were welcomed with free coffees on the terrace, upgraded to the most fabulous room and treated so well throughout our entire stay.

I have to say, for us , it was a perfect time to visit as the hotel was quiet and we could relax as if in our own home. The staff didn't find it at all odd that we were snuggled up on the couches in the bar area and lounge area, watching dvd's on Christmas Day (it was a mini hurricance outside!) and consuming the free coffee and biscuits from our delightful room.

The maid delivers fresh bottles of water to the room every night and weather reports for the following day (even accompanied by christmas chocs on christmas eve!).

There are now has a great selection of local bars and restaurants, if you feel like leaving the hotel for a change of scenery. (Prosecco serves great risotto and salads and you get a complimentary Prosecco when you pay the bill!). Coco and Momo both good eating and drinking bars and the Tapas Club serves great plates of food with a nice view.

The Nassau Beach Bar is open again (was closed for a while) and further down the beach there is Animal, on the beach. Good food and cocktails.

Breakfast at the Portixol is a beast of a feast! Anything and everything is there - and they serve 730am until 11am. Just how relaxed is that! Great if you want a lie in. Stocks are always replenished, so no worry about missing out on the fabulous breads and cakes and eggs and bacon are cooked to order.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Portixol if you want a nice, stylish, relaxed break. Use the hotel bikes to scootch into Palma (a flat ride and a lovely view along the beach - 5 mins cycle to Cathedral). Don't waste money on cabs! Its so close the the airport (15 mins) that the 2 hour flight from Stansted makes this a great weekend break. You will never be disappointed - not if the staff have their way. And what never ceases to amaze me is - not one person seems to be front of house, driving them. I have never seen one person who floats about, looking important and doing very little (like a lot of hotels). The staff seem to be individually motivated to do their very best for everyone and seem to genuinely care that you are having a good time.Whoever is behind the hotel recruitment and ensuring they are doing a great job - is doing a fantastic job and should share their secret with a few other establishments I could name.

Well done Portixol.

Room Tip: The no view rooms are just that - but are great cosy little rooms and altho small, are just as lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freelander1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grindleford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband I were terribly disappointed that we were unable to stay here for our recent last minute romantic getaway and ended up staying at Puro Hotel instead (excellent). As it turned out what a huge relief!! We were so keen to see the Portixol having reading rave reviews we thought we would lunch there one day to see if we should stay there next visit - NO would now be the answer!! Firstly it is at least a 40 minute walk into Palma(I'm not adverse to a good walk being a runner but walking by a busy dual carriageway isn't romantic!) the location isn't as pretty as it should be over looking far too much metal railings, concrete and smelly old seaweed!! Immediately entering the hotel it obviously was smart years ago but looks nothing special now. We sat for lunch and had to wait far too long until we were offered any drinks, the waitress eventually took our order but my husband's order arrived wrong as the waitress didn't it write down. However, I would have no complaint about the standard of the food as it was truly fabulous. Following a very good feed and plenty if champagne we thought we would watch the last rays of sun go down on the empty sun loungers, a member of staff gave my husband towels as he paid the relatively large bill. As we had just settled a very rude member of staff told us we were not allowed to sit there as we were not guests!!! Most embarrassing!!! Overall this spoilt my birthday lunch but at least we weren't there for the full 4 days!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alexbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
#53 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#30 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#42 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or
#30 of 46 in Cala d'Or
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portixol Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portixol Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Portixol Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Calle Sirena 27, 07006 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#34 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portixol Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portixol combines old tradition with modern style and comfort in a unique way. This small and exclusive hotel is beautifully situated in the Portixol harbour within easy walking distance of the centre of Palma and its majestic cathedral.Space and light is the overall impression of Portixol - a delightful mix of light Scandinavian simplicity and Mediterranean colours bringing together functionality and flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Portixol Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portixol Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Portixol Hotel And Restaurant Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing