We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good tapas”
Review of Gaudeix

Gaudeix
Ranked #72 of 2,236 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good tapas”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the tapas and the kids loved the ox steak. Can recommend the baby squid with prawn and the marinated tuna with fennel.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    138
    25
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints ”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

If You accept that the service can be slow and go with the flow then the quality of food is excellent - for example - the baby squid with shrimp is extraordinary - it is a favourite for ours

Helpful?
1 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent quality contemporary tapas”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

we sat outside at one of 5 or 6 tables on the pavement outside the restaurant, lovely spot to eat ad watch the world go by - but book don't leave it to chance. This is tapas updated but not as radically as to make it unrecognisable. The Merluza (hake) was superb as was the Atun(Tuna) Macerado delicately cooked and thinly sliced but not quite carpaccio and also the coca chiperon (baby squid) were all of note, different and delicious. We didn't have any meat on this occasion but there was plenty. They serve small individual tapas or slightly larger ones (like the Atun and Coca chiperones) so you can sample plenty of dishes as a couple without over ordering. The owner/manager is chatty and sounds a bit fierce but I didn't find her that way - she was also attentive and always around when something was needed. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

It was our last night in Palma and we were feeling a bit glum...on the off chance that they could squeeze us in we turned up and were shown to a table in the small and attractive outside seating area. The menu is divided into either 'pinchos' which are small dishes for one or two people together with larger 'tapas'. The food was absolutely first rate - unusual melty cheese wrapped in aubergine and served with olive tapenade, wonderfully fresh hake with leeks, delicious baby squid on a bed of caramelised onions set on thin and crispy Mallorcan toast and robust entrecote steak served with 'broken eggs' on a bed of potatoes and onions. Puddings were also top notch with the highlight being the crema catalana. We decided this was the best tapas we had since a visit to Barcelona a few years back and that this was quite probably better. The owner is a delightful bubbly character who is clearly very proud of her restaurant and food.

Like many eateries in Palma it offers excellent value and having had a very decent bottle of wine and munched our way through a number of dishes over a period of almost 2 hours the bill just crept above 100 euros...astonishing compared to the UK.

We all left much cheered up by the delicious meal and vowed to come back! This restaurant deserves to be in the top 10. Go...but you may need to book!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fifeadvantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tapas with a twist”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unusual tapas served inside or out in a quiet part of the old town. Definitely worth seeking out.
The ferreros de morcilla are to die for. It was busy on a thursday night but we had booked. Suggest you do the same so as not to miss a great culinary night out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallwalker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaudeix also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Gaudeix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing