We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready and not all that!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brondo Architect Hotel
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not ready and not all that!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel shouldn´t have taken paying guests when it simply wasn´t ready to open. The staff had obviously been told to smother the guests with smiles and kindness to try and make up for it, but I wasn´t buying it. Apart from that the most annoying thing about this hotel is that there is no parking, hence no unloading of suitcases outside hotel. This means using the public and v.expensive parking outside in Palma and then having to lug your suitcases over to the hotel, which is not fun in 35 degree heat, and v. inconvenient. The room we had was big but dark and not decorated well. A few arty objects thrown in an empty room is not designer chic. No real thought had been put in. Breakfast was o.k. in a kinda "help yourself" way. I prefer to be served breakfast when I´m paying those prices, but everyone to their own. 
It is a beautiful old building but unfortunately they have not utilised it well, and totally missed the mark.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Betglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    112
    59
    23
    20
See reviews for
48
208
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

It's just in the beautiful historical center, hidden in a tiny quiet street..... avery room individualized , some very surprisingly, as the Charles suite where I stayed, which has many stairs un pa dn down but is a real apartment... very nicely refurbished, but not completed yet (the kitchen offers just the furniture, but not even y fork or a knife who could help... except a fridge, nothing provided). You got a separated terrass, which is a bit like a cell, and to go up to the roof terrass, makes you go down first as it is in a different part of the building, not accessible by elevator. Architects often forget the functional part of the rooms. So, you've nothing to put your underwear or t-shirts in a huge wardrobe, and nothing to put the soap in your shower. Nevertheless, the bar-retaurant terrass is amazing, breakfast good and served on another cosy terrass. As the service is exceptional, all staff being helpful and gentle, it is quite to recommend for people who don't need sea or pool for their holidays. PS: also try the restaurant for lunch: not expensive and a very talented cook.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClocloLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I am absolutely gutted that we only got to stay in this hotel for one night last week, I would have LOVED to have stayed for longer. Why? Because its all a'buzz with the potential that lies within it. It has been brilliantly designed from a 17th century building (the main building) and then also the building next door which is an old industrial building from the early 20th century. Currently it only has 9 rooms but I have been told by September that will be 15, a combination of Suites and Junior Suites. The pride that the staff have in this place is overwhelming and you know its going to be great. The restaurant was scheduled to open the day after we left and they were still building the boutique (which i think will be a wine bar) downstairs. The spaces are unique and funky without being pretentious.

The rooms are quite large with a bathroom separated from the bedroom (which I am a big fan of), we stayed in a Junior Suite and I thought it was great. Again, modern simple design, cool furniture, could have done with a little more natural light in the day but that is minor as you'd be outdoors all the time! And what else is nice....PROPER DOUBLE BEDS! This was the only hotel we stayed at out of four in Palma that had a proper double (queen i think actually), not two singles pushed together and made up as singles, ugh, what a relief.

The simple but totally adequate breakfast is a nice touch, its like being at home without being at home. Squeeze your own OJ, make your own nespresso and choose from a spread of pastries, bread, cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheeses then sit out on the terrace and enjoy. You'd feel a million miles away but what is so cool is that you are right in the heart of Old Town Palma. Less than a minute to fantastic people watching spots. Pull up a chair, order a coffee and watch the hundres of people go by. Within 5 minutes walk your at the stunning Cathedral and surrounds, the gorgeous back streets and alleys filled with shops, restaurants and galleries. Just wonderful.

The downsides, there is no parking here. Dont let that stop you though, less than 2 minutes away by car is parking at the Plaza Mayor de Palma, its not cheap but its really not THAT expensive either, overnight cost us about 21euros. So the bugger about the parking is that because the hotel is on one of these little side alley streets, you can't pull up and unload your luggage. You'll need to find somewhere close, stop, unload and get the stuff in the hotel then go park the car. Unless you have wheelie bags, in which case, park and just walk to the hotel, its about 5 mins away. Its do-able just not super convenient. Again, dont let that be a reason not to stay here, the place is great! One of my favourites so far. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We only had one night here after almost 10 days in Majorca and wow what a fantastic place to finish our trip.

This is a very new place and not quite finished (a wine bar is being built downstairs) but it truly was a fantastic discovery.

We had a nice suite, albeit a bit dark, on the reception floor. A word of warning there is no parking here. It's an old narrow street. You need to park a way away and carry your bags to the hotel. Get a bag with wheels!

The breakfast was lovely, self service but home style and you sit on a lovely terrace to eat it or take it back to your room.

Nice modern TV in room and lovely bed to sleep in. No fridge though which would be nice...

The decor inside the rooms and especially around the property is just gorgeous. As you can see from my photo of the lounge area of the hotel!

It's a also a great location in the stunning old town of Palma. So much around to see, eat, drink, shop etc... I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights..it is in a central position on a lovely quiet street. Excellent breakfast, room and staff extremely helpful. Hotel had only just opened so everything brand new. Lovely private terrace just for us but also communal outside areas were lovely. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms individual but very spacious. Rooms with access to roof terrace were not quite finishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyraCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Born
Hotel Born
#37 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cort
Hotel Cort
#17 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres
Hotel Tres
#18 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#31 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almudaina Hotel
Almudaina Hotel
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brondo Architect Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brondo Architect Hotel

Property: Brondo Architect Hotel
Address: Calle Can Brondo 4, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#40 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brondo Architect Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brondo Architect Hotel is an unique Boutique Hotel in the old city center of Palma!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brondo Architect Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brondo Architect Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing