We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatrical Italian strange menu”

Palapa Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #231 of 2,177 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Argentinian, Italian, International, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Theatrical Italian strange menu”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Located on a quiet street this promised to be quite a find. The staff, especially the patron, are very warm and welcoming. The food was good but my only issue was that it was unlike any other Italian I have been to in Italy or elsewhere. Strange course choice mixes, no fish for example, huge starter of burratta then small main of salmon ravioli- few meat course choices. It's good overall but prices compared to elsewhere in Palma are high and better food is to be had with less fanfare and self congratulation elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and Marco is so great!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had dinner two times here in may this year. We where staying in Palma for just 3 nights. And the second night we landed here. And what was this a great experience.

Marco is really great! He recommended us the mozzerella tomato dish and it was absolutely wonderful! As well as his home made moijto´s! Also the main course was very well served and the portions where exactly the right amount.

Marco really enjoys making his guest happy and tries everything to do so! So of course we came back a second night and he didn´t disappoint us. It was again very tasteful and delicious!

We are absolutely coming back here when we visit palma again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManLej1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The ambiance here was great, and the service was the best we had in Palma. The food was not the best but still very good, although there were a few things not available on the menu, which had a lot of pasta. But, the basil mojito and basil daiquiri are worth the trip alone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank __Kirk_G__001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise !”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were on our way to the Bus Station, leaving our airbnb lovely host. Tired of the heat and exited to be on holidays we just sat down. Order some drinks. As we were hungry, we have asked for menu. Immediately very nice guy (probably owner) has arrived and ask us what we want to eat and he suggested us to share Burratona and Octopus' carpaccio. Fresh, made with love and wonderful service. We had little table outside. And that was holidays in the air.
If you are looking for a good food in Palma de Mallorca - that is the place. Maybe not very spanish food, little pricey but amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xandrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horten
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hands down the best restaurant we visited in Mallorca”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We revisited the restaurant 3-4 days after our initial visit, and were even more impressed with the service and overall quality of food. We were a party of seven and everyone were very happy with their meals. My tip is to enjoy a mojito, freshly made and tasty. The bruschetta is the best I have had, even better than the meals in Italy that I have had before.
The biggest surprise is the nice, quiet feeling you get, one block away from the traffic noise and crowds that Palma is full of.
We stayed in Mallorca for two weeks, this is the best meal we had ! Highly recommended !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenHorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palapa Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Palapa Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing