We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in a poor location”
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HM Balanguera
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel looks like a photo shoot but lacks when it comes to service and position . You have ugly views from your windows and when you walk outside , you are surrounded by very ordinary apartment blocks , not the lovely old city which is a 10-15 minute walk away.
The staff at the front desk were inconsistent . One was lovely , the rest didn't look like they were in any way keen to help you.
There is absolutely NO parking to be found anywhere near the hotel . The staff kept telling me that there was but I spent way too much precious holiday time trying to find parking and couldn't . They were unhelpful in this regard . So if you hire a car in Palma , think twice about staying here.
The rooftop pool is TINY as is the outdoor relaxation area ( only 4 chaises ) .
On a cheerier note, the breakfasts were lovely and the rooms were really beautiful - whoever did the fit out here , really has exquisite taste !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for HM Balanguera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

A couple of points to add to the many accurate comments : 1. You can take the airport bus to the hotel - the hotel can confirm details. Bus was just outside arrivals and ran every 15 mins or so - you get off within 10 minutes walk of hotel. Much cheaper than a taxi. 2. The location was not quite as central as I expected - its a 10 - 15 minutes walk to the edge of the center. This was fine for two males but I suspect females may find it a bit long at night. Not that it was unsafe - but a bit quite walking along the streets. All other aspects were great - though it wold have been good to be able to open a window! Enjoy...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AW123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is away from the roar of the city but still close enough to walk to when you want. The staff were the nicest team and the style is a winner. Our room, meals and comfort were all catered for and added up to a near perfect stay. Relaxing and up to date don't usually go hand in hand but they have done it here so well. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very impressed during 3 night stay, rooms clean & quaint. Decor superb, roof terrace fabulous. Breakfast delicious. Staff v helpful . Quite a long walk to centre and seafront or nearest bus stop but manageable - good exercise!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandMel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just came back after a short stay at this small new hotel in Palma and it looks very attractive from outside and also inside with new design. The reception staff where all very pleasant and helped us with directions and where to eat and what to see. What we loved about the hotel was the shower and the the comfortable bed we had. Hopefully we will go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertaMadrid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Spent a blissful week away from the children relaxing at this calm oasis. The welcome was as bright as the weather and it continued throughout our stay. A taxi from the airport was an easy way to arrive it cost 21 Euros, well worth it. The room was white, comfortable and very new, we both loved the large shower. Breakfast was civilised with no hurry. The hotel has thought about the whole set up and it worked well for us, enjoying the roof views from the terrace early evenings. By the end of our time here we had fallen into the Spanish way of eating dinner very late it does allow you to make the most of the evening and we could walk around parts of the city at our own pace. Super hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at the HM Balanguera for 4 nights in April 2013. I have absolutely nothing but good to say about this hotel! The service was superb, the rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything you need, the walk in shower was fantastic and the breakfast was varied and very tasty - They even had champagne on ice! The staff were extremely helpful with any questions we had and weren't even put out when I lost my room card one night and had to get a replacement.

The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk to the centre or a few minutes in a taxi (about 5 euros).

The only disappointment on our trip was the weather as we were unable to make use of the gorgeous rooftop terrace and pool but I imagine when the sun is shining that it is lovely and relaxing up there.

All in all though we had a great experience at the Balanguera and I would go back in a second if I could!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,935 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Address: Calle Balanguera 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £89 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing