We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Trip to Palma”
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HM Balanguera
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Kiel, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“City Trip to Palma”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I spent three nights with my daughter in Palma in this modern and nice hotel.
Positive: new, stylish, clean, friendly, nice roof terrace as chill out area

Negative: there are other hotels nearer to the city center but if you enjoy a ten minutes walk the location I still ok

Although the hotel has no own parking area we had no problem to find a free parking place in 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haukeberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    290
    86
    19
    8
See reviews for
78
558
36
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarragona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A nice hotel but a couple of things let it down and therefore it could not be awarded a 5* rating. It's located in a residential area and that area appears to be a bit run down. A good 15 min walk down to the Port or old town. That wasn't a problem for us. The breakfast area was far too small for the amount of people staying in the hotel and people ended up eating breakfast in the reception area. No bar - well they say that they have one but it the reception area again - so this triples up as a breakfast area, bar & reception - not quite what you expect from a 4* hotel. Towels were small, a bug bear of mine and although the roof terrace was ok, if you wanted a drink up there you had to go all the way down to reception (no wine available) and then take it back up again. Breakfast, if you could get to sit at the long school type table was very enjoyable. Everywhere however the chairs in this hotel are either made for children or midgets because they are ridiculously small and not at all comfortable. Won't be back and was glad it was only for two nights. Plus points - big bed & clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The HM Balanguera is a little way out from the main touristy area of Palma.
This was good, as it was fairly quiet the walking to & from the hotel was good for waistline. This was bad, as all that walking to & fro made me hungry!
It is obviously newly furbished and recently opened I believe. Everything was very white – not sure how long that will last. The shower was gorgeous – rainfall type overhead with a powerful hand held jet. Free wifi is a bonus – make sure you ask for a password. The room keys are also wireless – a geeky function when they work, but twice the locks failed while we were there, which meant some people were locked out of their rooms until the engineer attended.
Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Not such a fan of the coffee machine –I do like freshly brewed. I liked the idea of communal dining, but the main table was always full and the little tables & chairs scattered around the reception area are just too low for comfortable eating.
The roof top swimming pool is more bath tub sized (but hey – you’re on an island surrounded by lovely beaches) and the little terrace is a sun trap in the morning & early afternoon, but in the shade for a siesta.
All in all a nice hotel, and I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Husband and i stayed back in april for 3 nights. Our flight did not get in until midnight but we were still were able to get the number #1 bus into Palma, bus stop placa espanya, for a couple of euro s each, could have walked from there if in daylight, but as was late got a taxi to hotel for a few euros,we were greeted by very helpful Antonio who showed us to our superior double room with terrace,beautiful,white iberian style design,good bed and bedding,lovely toiletries with everything you would need,soap,shampoo,shower gel,body lotion shaving soap and razor,(just missing hair conditoner) for those travelling with cabin only baggage,hairdryer, slippers and dressing gowns.Breakfast was very relaxed, with plenty on offer, we are veggies but had no problem having a nice breakfast,fresh fruit, yogurt,rustic breads,herb teas,cheese, almonds.walk into main center is about ten minutes but a pleasant walk.Terrace on roof really nice and a good suntrap, with great views. Our terrace was ok but would be improved with some sun loungers as nothing to sit on,also we booked through hotel and was misled by a lot later check out time than the actual check out of 11 am, we did mention this to staff so this may have been changed now. a very nice hotel to stay in, will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews on here, and we weren't disappointed. Lovely quiet hotel, nice rooms, very good breakfast. Staff couldn't do enough for us.
It's about a half an hour walk from the cafes and bars, so it's a bit of a hike, but it is worth it. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieS566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel over a long weekend and were thrilled. The staff are really nice and helpful. The breakfast is great with a variety of food and fresh fruit. The coffee is the best.

The hotel itself is a 15-20 min walk from the City Centre. OK when you need to loose that extra Sangria :-).

The rooms were well kept and always clean, so thumbs up for the cleaning staff.
The only minus was, that the room fridge was not working and was not fixed during our stay. The receptionist was always very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and this was no problem. We were not disturbed by any noice at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina_smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I liked the look of this hotel and gave the final choice to my better half. Check in and the welcome was genuine and we weren't left hanging around. The room was like we were it's first visitors, I'm a builder and wouldn't have liked to have to fit the sinks, but they have the wow factor. Breakfast had a selection for both of us fruit and more. The city suits us, shopping if you feel the need or off viewing the old buildings around the old streets. Enjoyed Palma, enjoyed the hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aide F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Property: HM Balanguera
Address: Calle Balanguera 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing