We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design hotel”
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HM Balanguera
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Modern design hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

20 min walk from seaside and city centre, 10 min walk from restaurant street Fabrica. Clean and nice, a bit eco design. Good breakfast with fruits eggs, cheese and ham. Strong wifi in the room. Nice staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    290
    86
    19
    8
See reviews for
79
558
36
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Havering
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked this for a little retail therapy also ha seen good reviews about the roof terrace and style of this hotel. It suited us perfectly being walking distance to the town but gave us a much needed relaxing evening with a glass of wine and a couple of plates of tapas. Big bed, comfortable nicely designed room. Really enjoyed out trip perfect if you want the city without the summer madness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My friends and I liked the hotel and were generally happy with our stay. It's a nice looking hotel, great breakfast, lovely roof terrace and decent rooms.

If you go to book, I'd recommend checking the bathroom arrangements in your room. Mine had a sink in the bathroom, a very pretty one albeit, but it's not terribly practical when you're sharing a room. Some of the rooms have proper bathrooms which is better.
The air conditioning is dodgy, as mentioned by others here and we also brought it up, but nothing was really done about it.
The room definitely lacks places to hang up wet towels for examples. Nothing dries in the room and the maid service for example did our room and returned our wet, dirty towels (plus did not replenish soaps or shower items).
It's a relatively small hotel so only has a small number of staff on duty, which is fine, and most of them are very happy and helpful. We had for example some good assistance before arrival in booking various things for us. There was however some that had not figured out the concept of service with a smile…which is a shame as for us it brought down the experience a notch. Most requests were carried out relatively competently but with absolutely no attempt at small talk, a smile or trying to make us feel comfortable as guests with our requests.

The location isn't the prettiest but it's near enough to the very centre as to walk it and with a cab it's less than 10 euros.

All in all, I'd rate it a good stay though and it is also most definitely (in mid/low season) very good value for money so we would probably go back.

Room Tip: Ask regarding bathroom arrangements when you book in case you really prefer a bathroom to a sink in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This stay was a runaway success. The hotel was as described by other reviews, big room comfortable bed with the boutique style followed throughout. The staff were competent and breakfast was simple but actually exactly what you need, all good quality components. Enjoyed the relaxed air. Location is a walkable distance to the centre and only 25 mins to the airport. Happy with this choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mr. Nigel,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying at HM Balanguera, I am happy you enjoyed the hotel and hopefully you got to enjoy this amazing city as well.

Best regards from Palma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is beautiful throughout although I'd agree with comments about showers looking unclean due to wear. Roof terrace was great and rarely too busy because it's a relatively small hotel. Staff were friendly and approachable. Not too far a walk from town; 10 minutes to Block House for a great steak or 20 minutes to Taberna el Burladero for excellent modern tapas.

Big downside was the air conditioning not working. We moved rooms after a very hot first night and had multiple exchanges with the staff; resulting in a fan and fruit plate, however neither solved the ineffectual air conditioning in the second room. At times, our room was 25 degrees overnight. Even once they got it working it was rarely below 20 in the room. Other guests told us their rooms were fine, down to about 15, but we weren't as fortunate.

A fair price for a stylish stay but the AC needs to be dealt with.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms at the end of the corridor (104-107) due to definite air con issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We read all the reviews and wanted to try this new and very different hotel. After a week there we have very mixed emotions:

Location
If you complain about the location, you haven't done your homework. It's a 20-25 minute walk to the city centre, but we didn't mind. On our walks we found many nice stores and places to eat.

Breakfast
Excellent! The coffee was not that great, but overall a very nice experience

Room
First impression was: WOW! Stylish design and we felt that we had made the right choice. But then there was quite a few things:

- Toilet door did not close. Hey we're married, we didn't mind too much. But not so nice when you have to do a nr.2

- Paint in shower falling apart. And the "plate" that you stood on was wobbly. Not so nice when you had a kid in the shower.

- AC was HORRIBLE. We pointed it out a couple of times and asked the reception to be sure we was doing the right thing. We set it on 22 degrees and auto on the AC. But we woke up many mornings freezing and saw that the room temperature was down to 18-19 degrees. And since there are no blankets in the room that is a problem.

Me and my son woke up with sore throat and nose the fourth day. The day after we had to make a nightly visit to the emergenzy as the cold triggered our sons cold asthma. Not a pleasant experience, but ANTONIO was very helpful in ordering a taxi and picking the hospital to go to.

Unfit for children
We did get a childrens bed in our room, which was great (or what you would expekt from a hotel of decent class). But there was no childrens chair available for the breakfast. And no micro wave or water boiler either for heating our sons food. So we had to ask each day for them to help us. Seemed a bit unnecessary.

I get it, it is a modern, stylish hotel, but a childrens chair is a must! And a water boiler for the guest to borrow to his room doesn't seem to much to ask?

Pool on the roof
We loved the sixth floor, even though the pool was freezingly cold. It was very cozy.

Wifi
We we're not on vacation to sit glued to our smartphone, iPad and computer. But if i expekted to get some work done, then I would have been angry. It connected fairly well to the Macbook, but it was hopeless with our smartphones and the iPad.

OVERALL
This hotel has the potential to be GREAT! But it seems that a few things has been made in haste. They were renovating the bathrooms when we were there, we smelled the paint, and our room needs a whole lot of fixing.

We are quiet swedes, but after our trip I almost regretted that I did not demand a new room. I pointed out the problems three days in a row, but if we were more demanding we should have asked to be upgraded to a decent room instead.

If the hotels fixes some issues and we visit once more we could surely give av 5 to the hotel. I pondered giving a 4, but there were to many issues with our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in third floor, room 304. Kind of loud noise from the street, so you could not keep the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ortenvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mr. Ortenvik,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I apologize for the inconveniences that rose up during your stay and I welcome your suggestions. Please feel free to email us directly, we would be happy to hear any other recommendations you have! Anything than can help us to be even better is important information.

In regards to the location, I guess it depends on which way you walk to the city. The shortest walk is 10 minutes from the hotel to the center but other routes do take longer.

Thank you again and best regards from HM Balanguera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Not long home and had a very enjoyable time in Palma and this hotel contributed a fair deal to the whole experience. The staff made a great impression on us and were so cheerful and also very helpful in answering all our questions about best places to visit and to eat and drink and so on. The room we had was impeccably clean and had a nice bed and good shower. Felt at home immediately and could have happily stayed longer. The breakfast served down by reception was super. Good quality and a nice change to the rows of boring and expected things you usually find at a hotel breakfast buffet. Taxis are not necessary as the location is quite central. Very good small and well run hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Property: HM Balanguera
Address: Calle Balanguera 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing