We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two cities”
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HM Balanguera
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We organised a double city trip and did Madrid first. Second was Palma and the Hotel Balanguera, we stayed for two nights and could have easily stayed longer. Spotless room and shower everywhere looked brand new having come from an older style hotel in Madrid. Staff just as helpful but the breakfast was excellent here and we obviously saved the best till last. Palma is ok to do in two days but we would have liked to see some of the nightlife but were too tired this trip, will be back to put that right. The short walk to the shops is ok, it looked further than it actually was on my map. Best place to finish the day was on the roof, nice addition to a smart hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for four nights and on the first night I had trouble sleeping due to traffic noise. I should add that my partner didn't have this problem and said that she slept very well. Nonetheless we asked to be moved and this was arranged very quickly by the excellent staff.

The second room was quieter but we didn't actually get to sleep in that room as the door wouldn't lock so our second night was in a third room. This room was quiet and we both slept well for the rest of our stay.

The room had a smart television, aircon, safe, minibar and decent bathroom with a great shower. We did have a strip light fall out of its socket and break (fortunately the majority of the glass stayed within the plastic cover) and one of the bedside lights didn't look particularly secure but it did stay on the wall.Other than that the hotel was very stylish.

There's a small area on the roof for sunbathing with a (very) small pool. I don't think that many people would want to spend much time there but you could spend a couple of hours with a book quite hapilly.

Breakfast was very nice. Eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, fruits, yoghurt, cheese, cereal tea, coffee & fruits all available.

The location isn't terrible and we enjoyed the walk to and from the restaurants but I can imagine that for some this would be an issue. It's about 1.25 miles to the restaurant area.

Getting to and from the airport by public transport is easy enough. The number 1 bus stops about half a mile away in Avinguda Alemenya and is 20-30 minutes from the airport at a cost of €3 each.

The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I found the first floor room to be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon-DA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel and would definitely recommend.Stayed here for 3 nights this time Hotel is kept very clean and bright. Staff is very nice and really helpful, will book taxis, restaurants etc. Breakfast is delicious, and nice to eat at the communal table or if you want at the smaller tables,its all comfortable and clean. Room was clean, hip and windows looking out to the area around. Bed was comfortable. Roof top pool is small but good enough, sun beds are clean and comfortable. Location is good and within walking distance to the harbour, Cathedral and the old town.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are very similar although there is a 'superior' larger room at more cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosyD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location, within walking distance to most attractions in Palma. Breakfast is good with ample choice. Good facilities in the room and loved the rooftop pool!
Top tip - The sushi on the room service menu comes from a fantastic nearby restaurant and definitely worth ordering if you don't want to venture out!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Recommended by a friend who had been here when it first opened. As we were in Palma for a few nights thought we would try it as we were not bothered about being in a big hotel with all the bells and whistles. Liked the modern and clean, white look and also found the staff very genuine and warm. Our bedroom was perfect. Just my thing with wooden floors, stone basin and white bedding and curtains. Very natural feeling and also high end. They have a roof terrace which has great views over the rooftops and city and it was a nice place to sit for half an hour or so and very private. In the city centre, which takes around 10 minutes to walk to, there are so many shops and restaurants you will wish you had longer to explore. Very nice small hotel and a good deal to boot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
3  Thank Laura A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent hotel. Great Price. Comfortable room and very helpful staff. Breakfast was good and overall experience was excellent. I stayed in winter, so didn't get the chance to go onto the roof terrace, which was a shame but would definitly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, which was a bit near the road, so maybe ask for one on a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, hopefully next time you visit us during a warmer period of the year and you'll be able to enjoy a roof terrace, it has a lovely and small pool and great views of the city.

Best regards from Palma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Chose this hotel after reading reviews and was looking for a clean city hotel, nothing more, nothing less. Definitely fulfilled my wish list. Very clean hotel and sleek and stylish. The room was comfortable and quiet and ideal for what we wanted. It is a small hotel so there are not a lot of staff but the few we met were nice and spoke English well. Taxis are easy to find outside but we walked mostly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Mrs. Aoife,

Thank you for sharing your experience at HM Balanguera with other fellow travelers. I see that the decoration in our hotel caught your attention, we tried to give a very Mediterranean spirit to the place.... I am happy that your experience was a positive one, we try to improve every day as one of our goals is to make guests feel at home.

Best regards from Palma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
576 reviews
1 mi away
Palma Bellver By Melia
Palma Bellver By Melia
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Address: Calle Balanguera 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £75 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing