We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HM Balanguera
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very much look for locations close enough to the airport to be able to get there without it causing us to lose half a days holiday. This was fifteen minutes max. Friendly reception staff, paperwork was sorted and our room was ready, we were twenty minutes early.
This was a bed and breakfast rate and both were done well. Hot and cold buffet, with extra fruit and mini pastries. It feels like a country hotel, even though the area it's in is quiet, it's very close to the middle of town and all the museums and sights. Would do this again but maybe book a few days on the beach at the end of the week to make it perfect. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked a three night stay at this hotel as a surprise trip for my husband’s 30th birthday 17th – 20th July 2014.

It was literally a 10-15 max minute transfer from the airport so I would recommend taking a taxi rather than booking a transfer as I think that it would be a lot faster (As we waited over an hour on the coach before it actually set off).

When we arrived it was exactly how it is presented on the website, bright white modern looking building and it did look well maintained, not tired at all. Inside it was very nice, clean and fresh – it was so quiet! Not one other person to be seen other than the lady at reception who was helpful and checked us in swiftly and explained on a map where everything was in the area.

The area itself is very quiet. Very residential with a couple of small shops. It was about a 15-20 minute walk into the main part of the city.

Our room was quite small although very clean and well maintained. We could have done with a little more storage – there was enough room to hang our clothes although it wasn’t long enough for trousers/long dresses. There were little baskets at the bottom of this space for other items however the curtain that covered the rail was far too long and was always in the way of the toilet door. The bed was very comfy though!

There was safe for our valuables and a mini bar which we didn’t use. The air con was good but the wifi was really hit and miss – signal dropping in certain parts of the room and having to re login everytime you picked up a device.

We used the roof terrace for an hour on our first day and then spent our last day up there sunbathing and relaxing. I had read that it can get very busy and finding a space is hard work. Although it is small we didn’t have a problem at all and found it a lovely space to chill out after two full days of walking and sightseeing.

I just felt that it was missing somewhere to eat in the hotel. It confused me how there was such an extensive room service menu but yet there was no bar/restaurant within the hotel. I have since found out that room service is bought in from an external café. This lack of restaurant and bar was more noticed when we chose to spend the day on the roof terrace… at lunch time we got changed and walked to the end of the street and there was a kebab house (very nice though!)

At breakfast I was unsure what I was going to think as the reviews were really one extent to another. We were both more than happy with what was offered. There was a selection of three hot items – Spanish sausage, scrambled eggs and bacon. There was a number of teas, coffees, juices and cava if you wanted, there was fresh fruit salad, yogurts, selection of breads, croissants and chocolate croissants and cereals – certainly enough to start the day! There really isn’t a problem with the breakfast that they served!
The only thing to bear in mind is that we were checking out at 7.30am and found that it took until 7.30am for everything to be placed out on the buffet but we didn’t go hungry!

I had contacted the hotel in advance to let them know that it was my husband’s birthday and they left a bottle of cava on ice in our bedroom on the evening of his birthday which was a lovely touch!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a modern feel hotel and if you don’t mind a little walk into town then it’s perfect. I would have liked to have been a bit more central but it wasn’t an issue. On our second and third nights we actually caught a taxi back to the hotel from the town which was only 5 euro ish.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RachelA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm confused that this is quoted and sold as a HOTEL? One member of staff, There is no restaurant or food service of any acceptable level apart from a very basic 3* or less breakfast. They order food from a cafe and it returns in a plastic box you need to collect from reception. Wifi is sporadic, room service non existent (I have to collect from reception) food is delivered from a deli, minibars not refreshed nor are the rooms cleaned properly. Staff are not more than one in number after breakfast (two then) they are delightful to be fair but unable to deliver 4* service alone. This is a hostel not a hotel. It's pretty, well designed but NOT A HOTEL

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights before going onto Seville. It's a mod des res, with white washed walls and hand carved sink bowls. The roof terrace was fantastic, my idea of a nice spot to sit in the sun. We felt like we had found the life we've been looking for. Eating out is really good in Palma, from simple Tapas to fancy expensive restaurants around the marina, although the food was pretty special and the walk around the millionaires playground is an eye opener. Modern city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This quirky boutique hotel certainly ticked all the boxes for our relaxing 5 day stay in Palma. Quiet and comfortable rooms, plenty of space for clothes, although the hanging rail was a bit high for me! Wonderful rainfall shower and unusual stone sink. Large TV, but we didn't switch it on, air conditioning and well stocked, but again unused mini bar.

The staff were all extremely friendly, professional and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was well presented and had ample choice. I do wonder what people who have complained about it have for breakfast! There were different cheeses and cold cuts of meat, three hot items, different kinds of bread, fresh fruit, cereals and pastries, along with various jams, spreads etc. an excellent choice of coffees, teas and juices and chilled cava. What more could you want.

The rooftop terrace is a lovely place to while away a few hours in the morning or late afternoon, the shaded benches are perfect for a little siesta.

Wifi is available throughout the hotel, but is a little hit and miss at times.

The hotel's location is in a quiet residential area and despite being on the 2nd floor we heard little noise either inside or inside the hotel after dark. It took us 20 minutes to walk from the hotel to the cathedral at a snail's pace during the hottest part of the day... mad dogs and English men! But you can avoid full sun no matter what time of the day. There aren't many bars or restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but plenty of choice within a 10-15 minute walk.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend HM Balanguera for a break in Palma and will definitely return if I get the chance.

If you have room 203, check under the bed, I might not have left!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marshipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Three words come to mind after staying here for a few nights.
Comfortable, professional, enthusiastic. Pleased with the room, all corners were utilised well and the shower didn't entirely soak the floor. For a place to sleep, relax and see the city I couldn't want more. Nice space to spend some time. Lots of couples, no noise and not many children. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently before heading north for the rest of our holiday. We were travelling with our 2 teenage children (19 &14). The rooms were very modern & clean-showers very good & beds comfortable. The breakfast was also very good with a wide choice available. It only takes 15 mins or so walk to the old town where there are many fantastic restaurants to choose from. The hotel seemed to be mainly frequented by 30+ professional type couples when we were there who kept themselves very much to themselves-don't think they would have appreciated us having young children with us! Even at the small pool area no one even said hello-didn't really matter to us as weren't there long, just a bit odd! We would stay here again if we find ourselves in Palma in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter-we had rooms 104 & 103 which were a bit noisy but it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank pinkskiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,033 reviews
1.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
852 reviews
1.9 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Address: Calle Balanguera 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £84 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing