We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Calatrava
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a suite facing the sea, one of the best rooms. It was very large, with a fantastic bathroom and balcony with sea / park view. The sea is at the other side of a park and a road, the port / cathedral is visible to the west and the coast off to the east. In the old town a few minutes from the cathedral, Arab baths, museums etc. walk along the old wall in front of the hotel to get to the restaurant area about 10 mins. Staff very helpful and friendly. They are obviously proud of their lovely new hotel, lots of smiles and a drink for welcome. 10 mins by taxi from airport. 20 euros with tip. Restaurant attached but we didn't try it. WiFi , TV etc all that stuff ..but it is the sort of place where you can forget the world. We certainly didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: suites facing sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dicampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Thought a small boutique hotel would make a nice change for our 3 night break in Palma. First impressions were good with it all looking new and tastefully decorated but we had hired a car as wanted to get out and about, and the hotel parking is terrible! Ridiculously small and hard to get parked. Do not hire anything bigger than a small compact! Our room was very clean and well presented and only negative I would say is that it was very dark. Probably the position of our room but a real shame as we had to have the lights on even in the morning when there was sun outside. Breakfast is served up on the roof terrace and the first morning we gave it a go. Loved the views but the choice was a little limited and it was very expensive for what they offered. The next 2 mornings we ate at nearby cafes and got a much better meal for a reasonable price. This hotel is a good choice if you want to be near the city and are not bothered about the usual 5 star amenities you come to expect, as here there is not even a pool. And forgot to mention their wifi is very hit and miss.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had originally booked at the sister hotel but an overbooking meant that we were offered a transfer (and upgrade to a suite) in the sister property. We had a lovely room with views of the bay and towards the port and in mid February it was warm and sheltered enough to sit on our terrace in the late afternoon. A few weeks later and it will be really perfect for a sun-downer as we had several superb sunsets.
The room itself was large and spacious, with sitting area with sofa and chairs in addition to the terrace. Bathroom was also well appointed and spacious.
We arrived on a morning flight so our room wasn't quite ready but we were offered a coffee in the breakfast area (and were given croissants too) and twenty minutes later we were shown all of the facilities and our room. We had the small continental breakfast on another day and it is a lovely spot overlooking the bay, with heaters and/blinds for cooler days and very nice indeed.
The restaurant is Spanish in style with tapas, small plates etc. Both the nearest restaurants were closed for holidays, but we very happy to eat here every night. The food was good quality and nicely cooked and there is an excellent list of local and Spanish wines by glass and bottle.
Everyone we met in the hotel was unfailingly helpful and attentive and we really felt that we had 'lucked out' by being moved. The location is very good - old city which is lovely to explore, 5 minutes from the cathedral and the bus stop to the airport is also nearby, so if you're weekending there is no need for a taxi/car. (It's also a 15 minute walk to the bus station with good, cheap services all over the island.

Room Tip: I would go for a room at the front for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This small and stylish hotel is in a great location in the old part of Palma. Our bedroom was huge, though a little bit too bare for our taste! The bathroom was very well equipped - our only negative comment is that the wardrobe was in the bathroom opposite the basin, and given the size of the bedroom we would rather have had the wardrobe in there!
The roof terrace at the top of the hotel is lovely, giving panoramic views across the sea.
The staff are very friendly and helpful; we asked the concierge for restaurant recommendations and all of them were brilliant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went in August, the Hotel had just opened in April. It was a sister property of another Boutique in the Old City. This one was down near the water, still part of the old city and had views. We carfeully read the Tripadvisor reviews and determined which rooms that we wanted to stay in. As the Hotel dates were wide open, I was very specific of room type and location. When we showed up, we were unimpressed with their selection, so we balked. They tried to upcharge us for a larger room (unneeded) with view (our explicit desire). We balked and told tham that we were not staying. The manager was called at home and he gave us the upgraded room at the same rate. We stayed 4 nights. It was lovely.

Room Tip: HIgh rooms facing the ocean. The tree line in front of the hotel is too high and unproductive. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indstrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

In a city like Palma where there are good hotels on every corner we just took it for granted that the price they charged here would be reflected in the hotel. We didn't find that the case though. The hotel is still nice and new but our room was really dark despite the size of it. Very clean and well set out but void of any warmth or character. The staff were quite helpful and gave us hints on where to go in the city and we enjoyed the art galleries and architecture of Palma a lot. There isn't a proper restaurant at this hotel so having to find somewhere decent to eat out every night became a bit of a chore for us. They do serve breakfast but it was not very extensive and they charged extra for it! Most hotels of this standard charging these prices would have the decency to include it. All in all they have done a nice job on the reinvention of the building but the overall experience was not fantastic and we would not choose to return to this particular
hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank JeeG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Calatrava lives up to its reputation of being a true boutique hotel!

The owner and his wife are are experts in their work of architecture and remodeling of old places and have given this place their very personal touch, apart from that, they are really nice people!

This is truly reflected in the friendliness and helpfulness of each single member of their staff! A delight to be a guest here!

We love the location at the sea front edge of the Casco Antiguo of Palma!
You can let yourself be lost in the wonderful maze of little streets and alleys and enjoy the apparently largest old town area of all towns in Europe.

As from yesterday, the new summer patio in front of the hotel has been set up, and whilst still a bit chilly outside, there are first us toms to it already!

Breakfast is excellent and tasty and Meribel creates wonderful huevos pochadas!

Many thanks to all the staff at Calatrava: Susanna, Carlos, Lucia, Sofia, Ernesto, Antonia, Meribel, Jessenia, Angeles, Sergio, and all whose names escapes me!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Calatrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Address: Plaza Llorenc Villalonga 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#3 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £152 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Calatrava 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is part of the marine facade of La Calatrava, in the city centre and close to the Catherdral. The hotel has 16 suite-type rooms, a cafe-bistro, SPA and a large terrace with magnificent views over the bay of Palma and the Parc de la Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Calatrava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Calatrava Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing