We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still my favourite place......”
Review of Hotel Tres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tres
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I've lost count of how many times we've been here, and our stay in September 2013 will not be our last. The location is convenient for shopping, beach, restaurants and sightseeing. The staff are friendly and very helpful (but not invading). Great breakfast. Lovely, stylish rooms. Rooftop terrace with beautiful views of the cathedral and old town. Cosy patio bar. Yes, we'll be back. Again. ;-)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HappyTraveller0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Centred in the old town of Palma it's convenient for sightseeing, shopping and being close enough to walk there. This is a modern hotel and should have had lots to offer. Our room was a small space with furniture that looked the part but didn't follow through. The light on my wife's side was temperamental and worked when it decided to. The sink was a small space and I felt hemmed in when shaving. The double bed was the smallest double I've ever seen, we are used to a kingsize bed so had a problem adjusting to the lack of room. The staff were a bit non, not interested, not on the ball and not there for the customer, we felt rushed at breakfast with serious faced busy bodies rattling clean cutlery. This is a pricy hotel when compared to other European hotels we've stayed in. The extra's were not present and we missed them. Probably not stay again, unless of course the prices dropped considerably.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seventieskiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel Tres. The location is ideal for both business and leisure travellers with immediate access to many of Palmas’s major sights. I am sorry to learn that you found the bed too small. Our double rooms have 2 different types of bedding. The twin rooms have 2 separate beds measuring 100 cm x 200 cm each, and the remaining double rooms have a king size bed measuring 180 cm x 200 cm. Next time you come, please let us know, so that we can make sure that you get a big enough bed. It’s a shame that you did not advise front desk about your bedside lamp, I am sure we could have fixed it. Please contact me and let me know what room you stayed in so I can check the various issues. I am also very keen to know what other services you felt were missing. My email address is svenn.rudow@hoteltres.com. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were a little nervous about this hotel. We had wanted to get into some of the slightly 'better' hotels, but they were all full. Hotel Tres seemed good but there was some dodgy reviews. For us, it was between this and the Puro. We're VERY glad we went to the Hotel Tres.
The location is unbeatable - we had a car (apparantly a big "no" in Palma) but the huge underground carpark is about 2 minutes' walk away.
Our room was great, good size, fantastic bathroom. We saw some other rooms being cleaned - our room had great ceiling heights, whereas others were really low (I'd have hated that), so I suggest requesting a room with high ceilings.
What makes the hotel is its roof terrace and plunge pool. That way you combine time in the city with a bit of late afternoon sunbathing/cooling down. The incredible views make you feel like you're part of the buzz of the city even when you're just chilling out.
The staff were GREAT (which is usually the make/break of a hotel). From the receptionists, to the bar staff and the manager, they surpassed expectations - and this is from a really picky Londoner!!! Nothing was too much trouble for them, including planning a mini road trip for us.
For not much more money you can get into a hotel that is probably significantly 'smarter' but these options weren't available to us. The rooms are a full price for what you get, but with the location, staff and roof terrace it's fair enough.
Oh, and in terms of style, the hotel is better than it looks on its website (it looks a bit Ikea on its website, but it's not!).

Room Tip: Ask for high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear HarryWallis

Thank you for a really great review! Much apreciated. We are releasing an updated version of our webpage next week (hopefully), with brand new photos by Nando Esteva, so please check back. I hope you will like it. Hopefully it wont give you the IKEA-feeling (not that there is anything wrong with IKEA:-) ) Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards, Svenn Rudow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just back from our second stay at Hotel Tres and had a wonderful time. Excellent location, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and lovely roof terrace with amazing views of Palma. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Once again, the terrific management staff of this hotel deliver great results. Dimas and team could not have been more professional and delightful. I arrived before the room was ready and got treated very kindly. Our junior suite in the old building was a little more expensive than I had hoped but delivered all we wanted : a great birthday experience for my best friend for the fourth year running! The welcome fizz was, well, welcome and we spent a wonderful afternoon and early evening by the rooftop pool - what a great view of Palma!

Breakfast is stunning. We cannot understand how people can complain! Everything is fresh and delicious. We balked at the cava for breakfast but noticed that our Norwegian neighbours were going for it big time! Holiday!!

Room Tip: Go for the old building if you can stretch to it. Make sure you use the rooftop terraces - there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Such a great hotel, like a hidden gem in old town Palma. Perfect facilities except the swimming pool, it could have been bigger. However the walk to the sea from the hotel is short.
Breakfast could not have been better with an array of food to choose from. Love the courtyard, peaceful and quiet.
This is my second visit to this hotel and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannicke0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Fantastic hotel that felt like a secret hideaway from the hustle and bustle of Palma. Great service, lovely and clean, well thought out rooms to make the most of the space. Lovely building with a great mix of traditional and contemporary. All the staff were really attentive and friendly. The view from the roof terrace is beautiful.
Breakfast is served till 11 am which is a real treat, makes the start of your day leisurely and relaxed. We had read a review that said this hotel was noisy but our room looked out on the street and we had no problems, once you are in you room you can't believe you are so close to the busy streets nearby.
Would definitely return... Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,748 reviews
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
840 reviews
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
528 reviews
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,030 reviews
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres

Address: Calle Apuntadors 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: £148 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tres 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Tres Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing