We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Es Baluard

Museum Es Baluard
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.86*
and up
Palma de Mallorca Cultural and Foodie Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As a referent in the Balearic Islands of the artistic creation in the 20th and 21th centuries, Es Baluard Museu d'Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma presents since its opening in 2004 differents views of its collection, organizes exhibitions of the main international artists and promotes languages as music, theater, performance, poetry and circus, in the context of the experimental movements. The museum's halls show works of Picasso, Miró, Barceló, Sorolla, Rusiñol, Mir, Anglada-Camarasa, Horn, Calatrava, among others.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Es Baluard was well worth the visit. The situation of the bulding is fantastic and the views are lovely. From a museum perspective it lends itself so easily to the wonderful sculptures. It is not the largest museum but the quality makes up for its size. I would have been happy just to view the building. An interesting afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    156
    81
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Es Baluard is pretty interesting place to visit. This place is especially must-see for those who are interested in sculpture.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Talita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Oeynhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
450 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Impressing building, nice exhibition, friendly staff - we like!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a really nice afternoon in this great building, seeing famous artists and artworks. It was cool inside and at that day not so many people there. From the roof terrace we got a fantastic view at Puig de Sant Pere, Santa Catalina, the cathedral and the harbour. There was also a camera obscura in a small tower on the roof. We had fun exploring the interesting architecture and enjoyed a lazy afternoon. Perfect for taking pictures inside and outside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where's Paul Klee?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The building is beautiful and detailing outstanding - the garden is well worth a visit too, with its eclectic and idiosyncratic collection of sculpture. Only annoyance was the very noisy building work going onThe art, however, is a little disappointing, good old Miro aside, of course. We were keen to see the much-touted Paul Klee, but on eventually finding the spot where it should be (third floor, in a distant corner) all there was, was the caption card, and a space on the wall with two picture hooks. This is taking minimalism too far! The invisible Baselitz next to it was another blow. We asked the young lady on the front desk where the Klee was to be found, but she still thought it should be on the third floor, then she just shrugged. Where is the Klee? Has the noisy building work been used as a cover for a spectacular art heist? The art world demands an answer!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Croy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The building which houses Es Baluard is beautiful, and the view from the roof is spectacular.

However, I did feel a bit ripped off by the admission fee. There was really not a lot of art on display, with one level closed off. I am not sure where the artworks of all the artists listed on their website (with the exception of Miro) were as I could not find many of them...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank F2P2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum Es Baluard also viewed

 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Museum Es Baluard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing