We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Notteroy Municipality, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I chose the hotel based on previous reviews talking about excellent service and spacious rooms. We were upon arrival handed out the keys to a small room facing the street by a man who appeared to have lost his pet hamster. I am a frequent traveller and have never ever been met with lesser enthusiasm. The room was very small and lacked charm. We were simply disappointed. Impression did not improve through out our four day stay. The hotel is very quiet and you do not even encounter the staff unless you seek them out in the reception.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokodrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    191
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
43
221
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you travel to Palma de Mallorca and cannot find availability near the beach or do not really need a pool, this hotel is the perfect option whether you travel for business or leisure
The hotel has a good location and is very well appointment.I was allocated in a room overlooking the street, the room was big and the bathroom really big. Although I believe hotel has over 08 years, it seems it was refurbished yesterday!!! and the staff is super friendly, always smiling and willing to help
I would definately stay there again, very good value for money option!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpainCarolinaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Palma is a small city so everything is within walking distance. The room and bathroom is very spacious and comfortable. The receptionist was kind and professional. Anything you would expect from a major hotel chain really. I didn't care much form the fancy looking lobby, but it looks nice.

The only downside for us was the buffet breakfast. It was terrible! You can't go wrong with serials and yoghurt of course, but the "English breakfast" looked and tasted bad.

Room Tip: Not sure if it makes any difference which room you take. You are in a city so there will be the occa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shjaarwle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one week and loved it. Location was perfect, everything in walking distance. Rooms were huge and the aircondition was suberb. The staff were very friendly and the cleaners did perfect job. Breakfast was great too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yomanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

the hotel is perfectly situated for what we wanted, near the old town,port, restaurants, shops and many others.

Once your air con is running, not noisy, but just enough to mask any outside hustle and bustle, we found it to be quite enough to not interrupt any sleep, unlike some revues here, we were also on the third floor at the very front with glass bathroom walls, no issues.

we ate breakfast in, a few times, a little dear but lots of choice, all very very fresh & delicious though.

All the staff we encountered were terrific , nothing being too much trouble, a true credit to themselves & the hotel, well done all.

the only thing to give this hotel a 5 which is lacking is a pool, however your surrounded by the sea & we made good use of it instead, this will not stop us returning though. Overall you'll be hard pushed to get all this in many places, thank you for a very special stay, awesome

Room Tip: should imagine they are all of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've spent in the hotel Continental past week. It was a wonderful holiday in Palma de Mallorca. Room was very clean, staff was responsible and friendly. There are free bikes if you want to drive around city center or near the city. It is a beautiful hotel with sculptures and pictures in the hall. Also it has a grand piano in the big restaurant hall. As a professional pianist I want to play at every place which has piano and I played some evenings on it:) Good holiday, good emotions! Gracias :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I started my round-trip at this hotel and only stayed one night. It's a great hotel, beautiful interior and a generous breakfast. Also the area is great for bars and restaurants.
My original room was double-booked, so I was lucky to be upgraded and found myself in a very spacious room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#33 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,075 reviews
0.8 mi away
UR Palacio Avenida
UR Palacio Avenida
#46 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palladium
Hotel Palladium
#38 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Ciutat de Palma
AC Hotel Ciutat de Palma
#49 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innside Palma Center
Innside Palma Center
#10 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Calle Industria 10, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#17 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Continental Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing