We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Can Alomar
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I visited this new restaurant in Palma as part of the Can Alomar Hotel. The experience was so good, that we will come back. They promised to offer in a week a new and even more exciting menu card. Location is perfect for those who want to visit Palma and discover the city by food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIDDELMANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    46
    15
    16
    2
See reviews for
57
239
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Can Alomar and as others have said previously, it is a well designed and a beautiful hotel and lots of thought has gone into the design. Equally the staff are very professional and the tour of the hotel on arrival is a nice touch.

We were upgraded to a junior suite which made for a great start to a relaxing mini break in the city. The hotel is centrally located so everything is on your doorstep to explore.

However a couple of things clouded our stay; the rooftop pool and sun terrace are not quite as described. It is a lot smaller than the artist impression and it was disappointing to find that whilst it is clear a lot of thought has gone into the design of the hotel to ensure the comfort of guests this part has been slightly overlooked. The sunbeds are an old fashioned ridged bamboo structure without cushioning or the ability to recline or turn over. There is a canopy but this is directly as you come out of the lift and you either position yourself in the walk way of others or burn under the glare of the sun. There were only 5 sunbeds, so at certain times in the day you would be lucky to find a free bed. This area is kept spotlessly clean and towels are renewed but there is no service. If you want a drink or bite to eat you have to make your way to the bar area on another floor. Whilst not a problem we were a little surprised at this for a 5 star luxury hotel.

Another aspect that slightly clouded our experience was the bar area and restaurant. Both these areas are open to the public and it is clear that as a new hotel the local residents are keen to experience what is on offer. (It is worth noting however that the hotel rooms are kept secure and private from the part open to the public). On our second evening after settling in we tried to book the restaurant, and were disappointed to find that it was fully booked for the duration of our stay which was disappointing as previous reviews gave good reports. However when we noted our disappointment to the restaurant manager we were given a reservation for our final evening. The food was great and the restaurant manager was really friendly, helpful and professional. Our advice would be to book prior to arriving if you want to go to the restaurant - it is worth it!

Apart from the evening staff in the restaurant service can be a little on the slow side, at breakfast you have to ask for a second coffee or cooked eggs with your breakfast. On an evening staff are attentive to the pre-dinner crowd wanting drinks before they eat but if you want a night cap before retiring for the evening then you have to seek out staff. This gave the impression that guests were slightly less of a priority than those dining in the restaurant.

One final thing, our room was just above the restaurant and towards the main square which meant you need ear plugs to drown out the noise if your retire to your bed before 12.00am or want a lie in after 8.00am.

These are all minor points but worth mentioning as whilst we had a lovely stay, I'm not sure given what we paid and the pool experience (for us this is a deal breaker) we would be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticalFriendGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a great ambience.Convenient location and the staff are so helpful.cant wait to return.The hotel had just finished renovations and it was extremely clean.We were given a warm welcome and a tour of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just arrived home after spending 3 nights in this lovely hotel and fortunately our experience couldn't have been more different from the previous reviewer. All of the receptionists we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We loved Sofia the restaurant Manager and smiley, happy Elizabeth from the bar was just delightful. The breakfast although not extensive was adequate and good quality. We had to go to the bar to ask for coffee and to order a cooked breakfast. We felt that the breakfast staff should have come to us to take our order. We had a deluxe room which was a good size and very contemporary in design and was kept spotless but the toiletries weren't great. The meal we had in the hotel restaurant was o.k. but didn't have the wow factor. I had two cocktails which weren't the best but the we loved the ambience in the bar and terrace area. The roof terrace did not have enough sunbeds but we were informed that more would be arriving soon. We will definitely be returning to this fab hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gellroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taplow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The building is a winner, for this reason I booked a bit of a special time for my husband's 40th. Unfortunately right from the beginning even our suitcases didn't seem good enough for this hotel. Sly eyes seemed to size us up and I felt totally embarrassed. My husband didn't seem to notice anything and said I was being silly. Apart from that I was a bit annoyed that I'd forked out a huge amount of money (for me) and the hotel wasn't perfect, the lift was still not finished. I had wanted perfection and didn't get it. I was in a difficult position of having to say nothing as I didn't want to complain and make a scene on my husbands special time away, so I had to bite my tongue while there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Can Alomar B, Director General at Boutique Hotel Can Alomar, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear "Cali",


Thank you for your review and your comments about our building.

We sincerely apologize for the perception you had about our service. As you can read in all the reviews that we have, our guests mention the kindness and professionalism of the entire team.

Unfortunately, the lift did not work during the first week of opening, because of something that was not in our hands, but we were always at our guests' disposal. Our main goal is to achieve excellence and provide an absolutely friendly and personalized service to our clients, who for that reason choose a small boutique hotel.

Once again, I would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you.

We would really like to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in one of our hotels. In that case, I would kindly ask you to contact me directly at direccion@boutiquehotelcanalomar.com, I would take care of your reservation personally.

Susana Tejada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you are looking to stay in the city centre we would strongly recommend this newly opened hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in a Junior Suite and really enjoyed our break.Specious,clean room with a very comfortable bed. We made the most of 2 roof terraces - 1 for cocktails and one for dining. We enjoyed a lunch,a dinner and breakfast every morning and found the food both enjoyable and very reasonably priced. (Great coffee!).The staff were always polite and helpful. We would definitely stay again and have recommended to our friends already! Many thanks to Carlos and his team for making my wife's birthday one to remember!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warby52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this Hotel because our first choice, Can Cera wasn't available. We were concerned that as a brand new Hotel things wouldn't be finished and the staff not ready for guests - We couldn't have been more wrong as this Hotel is truly fabulous!

From the advance correspondence with Carlos Vásquez at the Hotel he reassured us that everything would be ready for our visit and with the exception of the lift not working then it was as exactly what you would expect on arrival from a special 5 star hotel.

Carlos (who is a fantastic and very professional Manager) met with us upon arrival, offered us a welcome drink and personally showed us around the Hotel and the facilities it offered. We had booked a Junior Suite and was upgraded to a suite (room 17) with a balcony which was very nice indeed with everything new and spotlessly clean. As an apology for the lift not working we were given free breakfast which was unexpected but warmly received.

The Hotel is in an amazingly central part of the City and very close to the upmarket shops and restaurants. It has been decorated in a very tasteful and fairly modern way and the balcony area for evening cocktails is lovely.
Breakfast is plentiful and tasteful and there are no restrictions to what you can order and how no one watches over you to ensure you don't take too much!
We ate at the Hotel restaurant, De Tokio A Lima twice and the food was top notch and reasonably priced. Its clear that it has become popular with locals so book early.

All staff are very professional and its nice for them to remember your name without referring to a card!

When we needed to check out (and we didn't want to leave) we were offered a free late checkout which was helpful for our late night flight.

This has to have been one of the best holidays we have had and this was down to Carlos and his staff who made this a memorable break.

It wont be long before this Hotel reaches top 3 (if not number 1) in all Hotels in Palma so it might be worth booking soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ScotReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#6 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Palma
Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Can Alomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Can Alomar

Property: Boutique Hotel Can Alomar
Address: Calle Sant Feliu 1, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Can Alomar 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Can Alomar is a magnificent building on the iconic Paseo del Borne (Passeig del Born), a romantic, centrally-located, tree-lined boulevard, the delightful setting for a stroll and the ultimate reflection of the city’s charm and elegance. Situated right in the heart of Palma, the hotel is close to the most well-known historical and cultural places of interest, the best shopping areas, with the most exclusive designer stores and the widest selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Mirai, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Can Alomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Can Alomar Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing