We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, very close to the beach”
Review of Hotel UR Portofino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel UR Portofino
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, very close to the beach”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel is great for anyone wanting to stay in Palma but not directly in the city. The surrounding area has a residential feeling to it. The hotel is about a 15 minute cab ride from the airport, a 20 minute bus ride from the city center and about a 3 minute walk to a local beach. If you decide to stay at this hotel, I recommend walking the path along the beach to Palma which is about a 45 minute walk. There are several amazing restaurants along the way, no need to go directly into the city for all meals.
As for other beaches, we took a few day trips to other beaches on the other side of Palma. Well worth the bus ride. The hotel staff was a great help in directed us to the nice beaches.
The rooms in the hotel have a simple, modern decor and are very clean. The pool is great too. Perfect for lounging at after a day at the beach.
Overall, my friend and I were very happy with our stay.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    213
    75
    25
    10
See reviews for
74
271
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Vienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

2 nights in this charming little hotel close to the sea. A perfect and quiet small town called Ciutat Jardin (garden city) just a few minutes by car to Palma old center, also less than 10 mn from the airport.
Nice swimmig pool and lounge. Good quality and Free wireless.
Helpful and nice staff (Per especially;)
Paid 45€/ night: for this price... just impossible to get better in Palma!
I just red a review from another traveler and ... it seems AC doesn't work in some rooms (including our)... considering the weather that was not a problem though. a friend had a room with no view but working AC ;)
There is a "meat grilled' smell around the swimming pool that seems to come from a restaurant nearby and a bit disturbing If u have a sharp noise...but again...for nearly the price of a hostel it's a Gem and will return If for the same price and in Palma again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I'll start with the good bits - Great location. Closest beach was great & not crowded.
Unfortunately, that's about it. We arrived to an unclean room with a second bed in the room that took up all the space. The staff could not move it until the following day.
Bathroom was not clean & bins were full. Balcony was not cleaned, and was not cleaned for the rest of our stay. No other room was available I was told.
TV did not work. (Don't usually use a TV on holiday, but I just noted this).
Breakfast is not worth the €10.20pp.
I think the worst was on my 3rd night I burned my forehead very badly on a halogen light beisde my bed (which got extremely hot). The staff had no kit to deal with burns. I had to go to the hospital next day. No one at the hotal came to see if we were ok or asked us what happend after the incident or for the rest of the week.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

The Portofino is the sister hotel of the Mission De San Miguel (Palma De Mallorca) which I reviewed elsewhere. We are staying here at the moment and making use of the free wi-fi to write and post this review poolside at the Portofino. Have come with 3 friends and we are sharing 2 rooms. Speaking of Wi-Fi, it doesn’t work in building 2 (where we are) so we come out to the pool. It can be a bit intermittent even by there.

Firstly the staff. I agree with all the other comments in that the staff are very friendly and helpful. They were sympathetic when the airline (God Bless you BMI) lost my luggage and offered to keep checking with the airport when I experienced language difficulties.

The accommodation is quite good for the price though room sizes are small. There is a nice TV but the only English channel is CNBC. Bring your portable media player. Be warned though there are very few plugs in the room so you may need to charge in the bathroom or take the TV out. All the rooms have balconies but you won’t be having friends round for pre dinner drinks on these as they can just about accommodate 2 chairs.

The bus is just up the road or a taxi to Palma can vary between 10 one down (cheap).

We are on a room only basis but you might think about going for B&B.The breakfasts are 10euros but they are about the cheapest locally. It is a decent continental breakfast with pancakes made to order, pastries, cereals, ham, cheeses etc, tea & coffee. We loaded up for lunch as well and stored it in the remarkably good room fridges (we are nothing if not cheap).

Restaurants on the sea front are very expensive. Went to Fusion across the road and that was nice but portions were small. Also went to the much-recommended El Bungalow, which has a fantastic aspect over the ocean. The food was nice but nothing remarkable.

One night we went to the Royal Pub at the back of the hotel…..AVOID!!!!!! We think we were ripped off for being tourists and charged 20 euros for a G&T and Whisky & soda. The hotel is the cheapest place locally for food and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks.

Poolside is incredibly quiet although you can hear the planes from the nearby airport. Plenty of sunbeds available and poolside service is excellent.

The area is mostly Spanish with a few European and American tourists. The hotel seemed to be a base for business travellers.

All in all the hotel and area made for an excellent holiday and they are both highly recommended.

Dave and Ricky by the pool on day 3.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgjbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We only stayed here one night as a stop over on our way to another town in Mallorca. We arrived somewhat late in the evening (around 9pm) and were given a room on the top floor with a very nice view. However, we were very disappointed with the room. The room was quite small, which isn't a big deal. But the AC in our room didn't work at all. It was 30 C degrees in the room, making it nearly impossible to sleep. We called the front desk, and they told us that they would switch it on (they must be able to control when the AC is run), but we never got any cool air blowing from the AC. The safe in our room didn't work and the door handle for the bathroom door was missing. The walls are also quite thin that you can hear anybody come and go in the hallway. For the price that we paid for the room, I would have expected a much nicer quality room.

Based on our limited interaction with the staff, they seemed fine and competent. Also the location the is excellent, as you are only a minute walk from the beach. If you can get a room with a functioning AC and equipment then this hotel would be fine. But for the price we paid and room we were given we were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dww228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

If you're looking for a quiet hotel in Mallorca, away from the centre of town and the parties, then this hotel is perfect. It takes about 15mins to get there from the airport by taxi and is located 1 min walk away from the beach. If you want to get into Palma, there's a bus at the end of the street, which will take you there in around 15 mins. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff are friendly. We had a room on the 1st floor on the street side, and aside from the occassion music from a passing car, was generally quiet. The pool is nice, with enough sun chairs and umbrellas, since most people seem to go to the beach. The restaurant serves good food, but there are also plenty of other places to go, along the beach. The room was clean and spacious, with a little balcony, which was perfect to catch the late evening sun that had already left the pool. Inside there is a little lounge area in front of a TV (although the rooms have TV), a bar and some comfortable looking chairs (didn't test them) to have a drink or a chat or just read a book. Outside there are also chairs and tables overlooking the pool, but under cover, in case you want to relax whilst avoiding the sun.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hombeek
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Nice hotel, very friendly staff.
Nice rooms, but I had an airco problem for one night.
But this situation was handled very well by the staff.
The surroundings of the pool inside the hotel look rather "industrial, but the beach is very close.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
3.7 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
#52 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
88 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#43 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
3.8 mi away
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
#40 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
390 reviews
3.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UR Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UR Portofino

Property: Hotel UR Portofino
Address: Calle Trafalgar 24, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#28 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel UR Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UR Portofino**** The UR Portofino Hotel is situated in the area of Ciudad Jardin, one of the closest beaches to the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its strategic location near the airport and few minutes away from the city, make it a perfect combination of functionality and comfort. The Bay of Palma is famous for the practice of aquatic sports such as windsurfing, stand up paddle, kayaking, sailing, etc.. Around the hotel, you can rent the necessary equipment for the practice of them. A total of 66 rooms make up this beautiful and comfortable hotel, which has been decorated in a pure contemporary style. An exterior swimming pool as well as free wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a free safety deposit box in the room are also some of the services available. The Restaurant UR Portofino is located inside the hotel. Which offers a wide choice of seasonal Mediterranean cuisine, open to the public, with a separate entrance from the main street. It has its own bar with an outside terrace overlooking the swimming pool and offers guests the chance to enjoy a drink on the terrace at the sunset. The hotel UR Portofino is only a few metres away from the nearest beach and the sea promenade which starts at the yacht club in the city and stretches all the way to Playa the Palma, passing by the Cathedral, and the areas of el Portixol, Molinar, Ciudad Jardin, Can Pastilla and el Arenal. One can take a relaxing long walk, skate or cycle along the promenade or simply sit down by the sea and enjoy the breathtaking views. Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel UR Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ur Portofino Urban Sea
Hotel UR Portofino Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing