We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Palma Restaurant”

La Taberna De La Boveda
Ranked #215 of 2,177 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: La Llotja-Born
Description: La Taberna La Boveda is a known Basque-Spanish restaurant in which you will find many traditional Spanish tapas, such as snails, garlic prawns, the classic bread with local oils or small chorizo sausages, as well as a long etcetera of other dishes and tapas. The restaurant has a privileged terrace on which you will be able to enjoy the nights of Palma while enjoying a quiet meal. The solid wooden tables and large barrels create the much sought-out tavern atmosphere. Furthermore, the restaurant is located in a central area in which you can enjoy a pleasant stroll near the old Palma de Mallorca market, the Cathedral and its surroundings or the Borne promenade.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Palma Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Palma is full of great restaurants, and La Taberna should be included in a visit to this delightful island. Reservations are recommended - La Taberna is busy, full, popular. Shared a good bottle of Mallorcan white wine, salad with white asparagus, avocado, corn and red onions; white bean soup (typical Spanish dish with plump white beans, chorizo and blood sausage); fillet of beef (tender, juicy). The neighborhood is bustling and vendors hawk wares while you eat (designer knock-offs, 'pearl' bracelets). Waiters are attentive, restaurant a bit pricey - but worth the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    126
    56
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous vibe”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Food, service and buzz....just fabulous...make sure you book or tip up as they open or you will not get in..find them on.Carrer de la Boteria, 3, Palma

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gurdev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Go To Tapas Bar”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visit Mallorca at least twice per year and always go for tapas here - at least twice per visit! It's busy because it's good. In fact, we usually book a table before we leave the UK. Yes, you have to turn up on time for your booking but why wouldn't you?

The tapas are great, plenty to choose from to suit all tastes and the wine is VERY reasonably priced. It's a buzzy sort of atmosphere especially when everyone is being served their first tranche of tapas and drinks. The side attraction is the people watching.

We always find the staff very friendly and efficient, taking a few moment out to have a joke or chat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine_Smith_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience, where the locals seem to go”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food was great - everything we tried was fantastic. The waiter was busy and efficient. The place was packed, and according to one regular customer, it's like that every night. The crowd starts gather before the doors open at 8PM. The restaurant came highly recommended to us, and we highly recommend it to others who want fantastic food. We'll be back before we leave!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad attitude for pretentious food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have made the reservation at the restaurant. However we were surprised to find out that we have to wait outside of the restaurant for almost half hour before we can even enter the restaurant. During the waiting time, no one greeted us because the staff were chatting and laughing inside instead. The food is ok, very typical Spanish specialities. The service was very unfriendly and even hostile. We tried to ask for separate checks, the service staff was not happy with our request and tried to avoid any further conversation with us. In the end, they tried to charge for the same dish twice, on two dishes!!! When we tried to point out the mistake, the staff didn't admit the mistake and was threatening us. What makes the whole experience worse is that even after all these problems, they were not willing to give back the changes, because of course they think that they still deserve a tip. Be warned, double check your check before paying !!!! Unless you are looking for anger, avoid this restaurant in Palma.

Helpful?
6 Thank gk2002ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taberna De La Boveda also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to La Taberna De La Boveda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing