We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside restaurant”
Review of Cafe Balear

Cafe Balear
Ranked #12 of 200 Restaurants in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It was opened in the 70s, as a tavern in the harbour that welcomed seafarers in the early hours of the morning before they went to work. Over 40 years, the family business gains the confidence of its customers and became the meeting place for many, where they could enjoy all kinds of tapas and freshly caught seafood. At the present time Cafè Balear is a highly-regarded Menorcan restaurant and a must visit in the Port of Ciutadella. Here you will find a lively welcoming atmosphere, where you can enjoy dishes based on fish and seafood, freshly caught by our own boat, the Rosa Santa Primera.
london
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Waterside restaurant”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This Restaurant is on the waterside but away from the main drag where there are dozens of restaurants. The outside seating runs along the waterfront and is very pretty day or night.
the service can be a bit slow to take your order but a friendly wave usually has them scuttling over.
The starters are fairly large so dont go too crazy. Share a starter if not starving.
The food is good quality and the fish dishes are very fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    519
    214
    69
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location, service and sea food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This Is a one of a number of lovely restaurants located round the harbour. It is always the busiest with people willing to queue for a table.

My wife had lovely sea food and I had a good steak. Just do not order grilled vegetables we thought at 10 euros that was a rip off!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“vastly overpriced for what you recieve”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

weve been visiting the loverly island of menorca for 20 years now (and are seafood lovers) one of our favourite restaurants as been 'cafe balear' in the port of ciutadella. But not anymore! we have just returned from holiday after a loverly weeks stay in ciutadella (last week in sept 2013) on visting cafe belear at app 7.30pm we were seated staightaway (none of the usual queing, but it was the end of the season) i ordered pulpo (octopuss) as a starter which was very nice: Sadly thats were it ended. we ordered monkfish& shellfish soup, (min 2 persons) @ 25 EUROS PP for my wife& daughter&grilled assorted fish of the day for myself, stated in the menu as spp (market price) we waited in anticipation for our main coures, a waiter turn up with a large caldera (big oven to table bowl) and started serving its contents into soup bowls which contained 1 langustine + 2small pieces of overcooked monkfish +about 1ltr of bland tomato based liquid, resembling dity dishwater both in taste & texture.another waiter tuned up with my mixed fish grill, wich was i admit fresh and well cooked, However there wasnt much of it,only 4 types of fish inc 2 small prawns (cira 250grams total) which when the bill came cost me 30 euros!! during the meal a waiter turned at the table with what he descibed as special bread to go with the soup,( french toast) and a basket with three small rolls in it. When we got the final bill we decovered we had been charged for both breads (neither of which we ordered) 1euro for the french bread & 90 cents ea for rolls. on top of the food we also had a bottle of house white& a coffee......Total bill was in excess of 128 euros. (cost 6/7 euro tops) trust me as a foodie DO NOT waste your money here!!!!! instead go to "cafe del nord" in fornels, (superb) I got a plate full of fresh fish 10 different sorts, (yes 10) cica 5/600 grams all cooked well, 24euros+ my wife had sole 14 euros (500 grams it was massive) Sorry cafe belear we will not return,As sadly PROFIT now seems to be your main driver.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank querty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Traditional Menorquin harbouside restaraunt.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This restaurant, which has been in it's current location beside the slip-way maintains the same excellent standard year after year. Many of the staff have been there for 10/15 years and the menu and quality of food has been consistently good for a similar period. Very good selection of home made deserts, with chocolate featuring strongly, "Hot chocolate Bomb" or "Chocolate Filo pastry parcels" amongst the selection are both fantastic. Sit inside and enjoy either the air conditioning or heating according to the time of year, or sit on the harbour side and watch the world go by.
This restaurant is CLOSED on SUNDAY.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is lovely, very good food, and service. I would highly recommend! It also has a twin restaurant in Carla en bosh. Both offer fantastic food and lovely service

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Balear also viewed

Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to Cafe Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing