We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice quiet hotel. 500m from beach. free wi-fi”
Review of Hotel Balear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Balear
Ranked #5 of 19 Ciutadella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very nice quiet hotel. 500m from beach. free wi-fi”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

three friends 23-30 years old on chill out holidays (5 days)

*positive: very good location. quiet hotel. free wifi. english channels. reception speaks perfect english. fresh breakfast (eggs beacon on request -no extra charges for that) taxi stop outside hotel, air con working perfect, room service every day, fresh towels, on departure day - free use hotel reception area incl. bathroom to re-fresh before travel. 10min from airport by taxi. 500m from beach. free beach umbrellas for guests.

*negative: not many really and we had overall very good stay and would recommend it. its more suggestions for hotel: can be noisy with open windows in the evening - take ear plugs if you want to sleep with open window. very slippery floor in bathroom (wrong type of tiles) room service didn't gave us any shower gels after 1st night ( we bough one from local shop though 1Euro haha) there is no pool. but who cares for that when you can walk to azure beach in 5minutes ;)) note for families - there is no entertainment for kids there (that's why l loved this hotel its more ADULTS ONLY) hotel should lover price for bicycle hire. at the moment is 10euro per day which is expensive (you can get 5euro per day from provider close to the beach) we would love to rent a bikes but cheaper (maybe hotel should do promotion for guests??- suggestion only)

overall we had a very good stay. thank you so much

Room Tip: we had room 409 top floor (4th) with balcony and own bathroom (fits 3 people)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyhigh2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
46
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Second time I've stayed here and things are still very good for the money.

I needed to change my booking dates with them and this was not a problem. Also fell victim to a cancelled flight and some fiesta related delays. There was someone waiting for me on the reception even though I arrived several hours after I was supposed to. A life saver!

You'll have no problems at all with this hotel.

Room Tip: Look in the wardrobe for blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had such a wonderful time at Hotel Balear! We stayed at the end of August and despite having arrived from Mahon at 1 in the morning, we were greeted by a very friendly woman who made our entire stay a real pleasure. Regrettably, we did not get her name, otherwise we would mention her specifically!

Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the hotel breakfast was delicious, serving fresh squeezed orange juice, a selection of pastries, including the island's specialty, ensaimadas, as well as coffee made to order from an incredible, high end espresso machine.

The only disappointment was the lack of air conditioning, which, given the extreme heat in August was almost unbearable. However, we knew that there would not be an a/c, and the room had a good fan.

One of the best parts of the Hotel Balear is the fact that it's on the outskirts of Ciutadella, allowing for ample parking spots and an excellent base from which to drive to Menorca's beautiful beaches.

When we were leaving, despite the pre-set check in and check out times, the same woman who checked us in woke up extra early to make us coffee before we left. Throughout our stay she gave us tips about the best beaches to go to, provided us with a few guide books to look through, and was extremely patient and kind, despite our horrible Spanish skills.
We even left a few items behind, and the staff graciously mailed them to us.

We highly recommend the Hotel Balear for your stay in Ciutadella. We hope to stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JatieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Good place very close to the historic center. Great attention from the staff, they are very friendly and always ready to help and speak very good english. Rooms are good, very clean. the place has been renovated. Breakfast is very basic however they propose to make you sandwich for the beach.
Only negative points: no elevator, no frigde, no parking ...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

It's basic and the rooms are small (If you've ever been to Hong Kong or lived in University accommodation, you'll know what to expect), but it's very clean, well located, newly renovated and is run by very friendly people who speak excellent English.

There is decent, free wi-fi connectivity and the rooms, although small, contain everything that you need.

Beds are a bit on the firm side. But they're certainly not uncomfortable.

Will be staying again!

Room Tip: Close the fire door on the corridor leading to your room. It'll block out a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ciutadella hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
#19 of 57 in Ciutadella
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geminis Hotel
Geminis Hotel
#15 of 57 in Ciutadella
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 57 in Ciutadella
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Santandria Playa Hotel
Santandria Playa Hotel
#7 of 57 in Ciutadella
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfonso III
Alfonso III
#26 of 57 in Ciutadella
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
#6 of 57 in Ciutadella
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balear

Property: Hotel Balear
Address: Avenida Cami de Mao 178, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Balear 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Balear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Balear Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing