We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Since I am a solo traveller, before I book any hotel, I try to research every aspect of the area where it is located, the price etc. I also read reviews, and am greatful that there are sites out there and people who are willing to write them. Having said that, I thought I would share with you my experience. The reviews I read for this hotel were mainly positive,but there were some negative ones too. Some people gave rated the hotel low, but said it was acceptable. I will tell you what my experience was, and I hope it helps you in your search. I should also mention, as I travel, I try to have an open mind about everything, especially about my hotel and the people who run it. Having said that, here is my review.

I stayed at the Cala Bona - the hotel itself however has 2 buildings, for 3 nights. I had a balcony overlooking the beach, in a room with 2 double beds. The room was bright and airy and very clean. It is true, I was solo, however I do think even for a couple or 3 people, the room would be large enough without feeling cramped. Plus, you are not there to spend your holiday in your hotel room - you are there to experience Menorca.
The cleaning lady was very kind - on the first day she came and cleaned my room while I had breakfast (which by the way is delicious and included but more on that later). The second day, she came a bit late around noonish, and she found me in the room. She was going to come back later, but even though I didn't speak Spanish we understood eachhother and I stepped out while she cleaned my room.
Since I am a very tidy person, she didn't have much work to do. A note though, she didn't change the bed linens. I am assuming this is because I was only there for 3 nights. It didn't bother me, because like I said, I had 2 double beds I could chose from and plenty of space. If this bothers you, I am sure the manager would be more than happy to have them changed for you. But for me, this was not an issue.
Some reviewers mentioned that the shower stall was small and cramped. I agree it was small, but not cramped. More than adequate for a normal sized person, and it gets the job done, not to mention it was CLEAN. Some of you also mentioned the toilet being in a weird spot (cramped into the sink). Yep, I had that too. And it wasn't that bad. Afterall you1re in, and out. You are not spending your vacation in the loo, so really, unless this should come up when you are paying couple of hundreds of dollars or euros per night, this shouldn't be an issue.
Another issue i saw mentioned was the room door. Yes it was wooden, yes there was a 2 mm gap between the door and the floor, and yes it might have seemed like someone could kick it down. But you are on an island not the middle of New York, and to me it was charming, and seemed more like a B&B than a hotel. The owner also locks the hotel door downstairs every night and I have never felt unsafe while I stayed there.
Breakfast - I also saw some people complained about this. It was excellent! There was a variety of choices from cereal, muesli, muffins, little breads, croissants, cold cuts, excellent cheese, hot coffee, tea and orange juice. Eveything you need to start your day off right, buffet style. Not to mention, you had the option of sitting out on the terrace and eating your breakfast out there. You can't ask for a better morning.
The hotel also has a swimming pool. I didn't actually try it out because i went to the beach instead - which by the way cou can access right from the hotel. So I cannot comment on the state of the pool and the furniture as some of the other reviewers mentioned it's old and rusty. I don't know, I took a look, the pool was very clean, the furniture looked rustic, but definetly not in a state that it would warrant replacement.
Internet -- the hotel has internet, with Wifi connection, as of Sept. only at the Mar Blava. At the Cala Bona, I coudln't connect to Wifi and I was told this will be introduced in November. This didn't really bother me. The owner also has a computer in the reception and you can use it anytime and that is what I did. It was great.
Lastly, the owner is fantastic! He speaks English very well, not to mention a variety of other languages too. As I mentioned, travel with an open mind and a positive attitude and you will have a great trip. He went above and beyond to make my stay fantastic and it was. Since I was alone, he had breakfast with me every morning and we exchanged stories and chatted. He made suggestions about where I should go and what I should see. He told me the history of the island and for me at least, it was a fantastic experience.
I think, when I return to the island, I will only stay at this hotel. The staff is extremely nice and hospitable. I didn't speak Spanish, and unlike other countries I have visited, this was not an issue.
I sincerely recommend this hotel. If you are like me, and travel with an open mind and positive attitude, I assure you you will have a great time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prinzessin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at the Cala Bona in July. Of the two buildings, the other being the Mar Blava, I would say the Cala Bona is probably more up to date. Our room had two single beds, which were comfortable, a ceiling fan, a sort of corner cupboard / wardrobe, a small en suite shower room / toilet, and a balcony with a lovely view of the cala on which the two buildings are situated. The room also had a small TV but we never switced it on so don't know if it worked or not. Like the rest of the buildings, maintenace was badly needed, the doors and window frames were shot to pieces, and we felt that had there been a strong wind they would probably fall in. The furniture was tired, the curtains had long since seen better days, and the decorations were grubby. In the bathroom the shower stall was so small that if you dropped the soap you would not have room to bend over to pick it up. On the plus side, the room and en suite were cleaned every day, and the floors were gleaming. The towels (all worn and in need of replacement) were changed daily, bedlinen was changed twice in the ten days we were there.

Breakfast was over at the Mar Blava. Breakfast was basic (but OK for the price) however navigating round the dining room was a nightmare, because there is an open sided tent with poles in the middle of it, and this tent is directly over the buffet for breakfast. Why? Who knows. This means that when you have got your coffee, cheese, cereal, whatever, you have to edge around the tent poles to get away from the buffet and get to a seat. There is just too much furniture in there. Sitting on the terrace eating breakfast looking out to sea is worth plenty though, and with some serious investment and rebuilding the place could be lovely.

The Mar Blava has steps that lead down to a concrete platform, from which you can swim. Unfortunately the concrete platform is like a large ashtray, covered in cigarette ends, and there is nowhere to shelter from the sun unless you bring an umbrella. Be careful on the metal ladder getting into and out of the sea - it is lethally slippery, and I nearly broke my leg getting out. The water is deep enough to dive in, so you just run the risk from the steps when getting out. And the water was so lovely after the heat..... There is a swimming pool, which looked clean, although we never used it. Some of the 'rustic wooden furniture' around the pool is fit only for firewood, falling apart and has rusty nails sticking out all over, so is dangerous. One evening whilst we sat on our balcony a big lump (about half metre long) of concrete render fell off the upper facade of the Mar Blava, some of it onto the pool area below. Had there been anyone sitting below it would certainly have hurt them badly. The render was repaired the same evening - but that is the whole story about the place, it needs lots of money spending on it, and its held together with patches of plaster, cement, duck tape, and filler....

The situation is ideal - in 10 minutes you can walk to Born Square in the centre of Cuitadella, and the 65 & 64 buses stop at the end of the road so you can be in Santandria or Cala n Bosch is less than 20 minutes. There is a hipermercado 10 minutes walk away. The people that own it were quite friendly and helpful, and the host is widely travelled and knowledgeable. I would not stay here again unless we knew it had been upgraded / rebuilt, but the saying is true - you certainly do get what you pay for so at £47 per night B&B, in peak season, we do not feel hard done by

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Egyptians5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We stayed at the Cala Bona for 1 week. The hotel is small and unpretentious, very clean, in a fab location and very friendly.

Cala Bona is set on an inlet, you can dive off the rocks just outside the terrace or walk 2 minutes to the beach. A lovely little beach, not at all crowded, gently shelving into clear, warm water. Great for snorkelling, swimming or just floating around.

Just above the beach is a fab little bar called Mogambo. Jose-Maria will look after you and if you are lucky sing spanish songs accompanied by his guitar.

Just a 10 minute walk takes you to the centre of Cuitadella with lovely architecture, cobbled narrow streets and a great harbour full to the brim with luxury yachts.

Excellent food although quite expensive.

We took a bus trip from the square in Cuitadella (1.45 euros) to Cala Blanca, a lovely beach with a few restaurants. But give Cala n Forcat and Cala Blanes a miss, unless you are craving Tetleys beer and egg and chips.

Would we go again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammcoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

The Mar Blava Hotel is located one third of the way down on the edge of a beautiful inlet. The small sandy beach end of the inlet is a five minute walk from the hotel and a five minute walk into the very centre of Cuitadella. The Mar blava is in a quiet residential area ten minutes from the town centre. Across the road from the sandy beach (cleaned every morning) is a brand new local authority swimming pool complex that is well situated and very pleasant. A path leads from the complex under a road to the sandy beach. There are metal steps leading into the water of the inlet, set into the rock shelf sides, at several locations down each side of the creek. For swimmers the location is ideal. Not crowded at all (the local pensioners groups of women swims up the inlet every morning at 7.30!). You can dive into the creek into 3 to 4 metre deep clear water and climb out up the metal steps, or swim up from the sandy beach.

One set of these metal steps (a bit awkwardly situated) is on one of the wide ledges below the outdoor terrace area of the Mar Blava. This stone shelf would give space for 12 sunbathers in uncrowded privacy. About 15 steps lead up easily from the shelf to the terrace entrance to the Mar Blava.

The terrace is long and narrow, and breakfast can be taken out there. We also picnic'd out there in the evenings too, once or twice. The view from the terrace down the inlet out to sea is just fabulous, with wonderful sunsets. At the front of the hotel, situated privately behind a wall onto the residential road, is a very small pool for just soaking in. All the pool furniture, especially the rustic wooden tables and chairs, need replacing. Other places show some signs of wear and tear. Our only cirticisms of the hotel.

Breakfast can also be taken under a pleasant sqaure tent-like structure off to one side of the terrace. Breakfast was cheap and chearful. Rolls, jams and margerine in little individual packs. Mediocre coffee, tea, juices, hard-boiled eggs, sliced ham, salami, tomato and cheese, and cerials. Not gourmet stuff, but perfectly adequate to wet your whistleand fill your stomach.

Most of the rooms of the Mar Blava are above the terrace and face out to the inlet and thus afford wonderful views of it. Other rooms have no exterior window, but face into internal public areas with some loss of absolute privavy,and are priced accodingly, others face directly on to the terrace. Get a room with a view.

The room we had was on the corner of the Mar Blava building, and also had a pretty good view out from the bathroom window towards the sandy beach end of the inlet. (room 7). It was above the terrace and on ground floor level (bar 5 steps) vis a vis the front entrance to the hotel. The hotel is built on a slope and there are steps on almost all routes around the hotel. It is not wheechair friendly in that respect. The room felt fairly spacious: it had a small tv getting a few Spanish channels, two generous single beds, table, two armchairs and plenty of drawer/wardrobe space. There was a bathroom en suite with small bath and shower over, sink and wc. All clean and tidy with tiled floors. The room cleaning service and towel/sheet changing was fine for us.

The staff were very helpful. The 'patron' supervises breakfast, and serves on the bar until midnight in the evenings, in between receiving new guests. He is worth cultivating.

We like cheap and chearful non-pretencious hotels. For us the Mar Blava Hotel fitted the bill just fine. We will go back as soon as we can. Great value for money and warmly recommended.

R and M Slater, Cardiff. September 07

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

I’ve stayed in this hotel in August and I’ve loved it. The location is absolutely incredible, turned to the sea and only at 5 minutes walking from the centre of Ciutadella and to the closer supermarket.
The hotel is composed by two buildings: Mar Blava and Cala Bona, the two belong to the same owner.
It’s a familiar hotel, where you always feel like in your own home. The owner is extremely kind and he’s in every moment trying to please their guests.
The hotel has been restored and it’s fresh painting and everything well decorated. The rooms are very clean and the bathroom is fresh new too.
The breakfast is regular; you have the necessary to get satisfied during this meal. Also you can take the breakfast seated outside in one of the tables in open area of the hotel looking to the fantastic view of the ocean.
From this side you can accede to one solarium where you can take some sun and enter directly to the sea. If you prefer a sand beach you just have to walk 1 minute and you’ll arrive to it.
The hotel also have many areas to rest, where you can sit and read a book or just stay with your friends having a nice conversation. Or you can go to the pool that is also very nice.
So if you’re thinking to go to Ciutadella this hotel is the best deal. I surely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Laupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We stayed in 2004 in this nice hotel. It's a small and family friendly B&B hotel, with it's own private beach away from the busy crowded beaches. The rooms are cleaned by a friendly woman and she leaves it very clean. The atmosphere of the hotel is comfortable and is located just 5 minutes walking from the city of Ciutadella and not too far from the main busstation.
There is a small pool as well, which we use it several times. Certainly refreshing after a whole day walking in the city.

A highly recommendable hotel for staying in Menorca.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.9 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#1 of 52 in Ciutadella
846 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
#23 of 52 in Ciutadella
112 reviews
25.3 mi away
Artiem Carlos - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels

Address: Avenida Mar 14-16 | Urb. Son Oleo, 07760 Ciutadella, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
#8 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range: £31 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a complex of two hotels: Cala Bona / Mar Blava where guests can be accommodated in any of the two establishments. The hotel comprises two buildings, with shared facilities. These include a beautiful garden terrace and bar. The hotel has two floors, being located in the best area of Menorca. Located on the beach, in a quiet promenade. Located 50 meters from the beach (Platja Gran), in the historic town of Ciutadella Menorca. Features an outdoor pool and wireless internet access. Ten minutes walk to the center and the charming Old Town, where there are numerous entertainment venues. Very close, only 300 meters, there is public transport. Credit card, satellite, home, garden or terrace, central location, pool, hair dryer in room service, bar/cafeteria, TV room, WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Bona Mar Blava
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels Spain/Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing