We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family friendly hotel - Julie Henderson - England”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful family friendly hotel - Julie Henderson - England”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for 7 nights from 10 May to 17 May 2014. Beautiful hotel and well equiped room, As we were traveling with our grandson I was concerned that the room may not be big enough but room was perfect for our needs. The pools and gardens are gorgeous and very well kept. The apartment was cleaned daily and was immaculate every time we went back into the apartment from our adventures out for the day. We stayed bed and breakfast which was very tasty according to my husband who gives 10 out of 10 for the variety. On our last day we had a medical emergency which meant myself and grandson were unable to fly home thus spent a night in hospital and my husband spoke with the hotel regarding further nights accomodation until we could return home to England and the hotel and staff were fantastic doing everything they could to make the very stressful and worrying time as comfortable and stressfree as they could make it. We can not thank the hotel and their staff enough. We are already planning our return trip next year. The hotel is next to a beautiful beach and is a lovely walk away from the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    362
    92
    22
    12
See reviews for
487
349
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely hotel, we would return if we were coming back to Menorca.

Food;
The buffet had a good selection of food and we even found food for our 7 month old son. Breakfast had cereals, fruit, toast, eggs, bacon, sausages and pastries. Drinks of juice, water, teas, coffee and hot chocolate are included. The lunch buffet is smaller but still includes soup, salad, freshly cooked meat, fish and pasta. Drinks are payable separately. You can swap your evening meal for lunch if you're half board and want to go to a restaurant elsewhere which is what we did a couple of times. The evening buffet is similar to lunch but offers more hot food and desserts. Again all drinks are payable separately.

Hotel;
Lovely hotel, very clean, has wifi (but very poor signal in our room). We borrowed a kettle for a €10 deposit and you can get cups from the bar and coffee, tea and sugar sachets from breakfast. The safe is €2 a day plus a €5 deposit. You get towels for the sun loungers from the lifeguard and he'll swap them everyday (supposed to be 9-10am but he'll change them at other times if you need them). The supermarket on site is ok but it's better to go to the one at the back of the hotel as it's cheaper and has a better selection. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk and there's a coastal walk to the marina. The bus stop is just across the road from the hotel entrance and you can get to Ciutadella for €1.95 an adult, the market is on Fridays and Saturdays although we weren't impressed with the market.

The hotel entertainment seemed good but our 7month old baby went to bed earlier than it started so we just listened from our balcony. The hotel bar is nice to have a drink and the food at the pool bar is reasonable for the price. If you drink at the pool you're better buying cans of beer as it's €3.25 per pint from the pool bar (and you don't get a full pint in the plastic cups).

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend the hotel to all.

Room Tip: We had room 280 which had a nice view of the pool and the balcony got the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ekirby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of the season from 2nd until the 9th May. The rooms had only just been refurbished when we arrived, we even had a wiff of the fresh paint and a guy was just setting up our new tv. In terms of finish the room was faultless. Only one little niggle though, the aircon stopped working and was only blowing warm air. When I reported it to reception I was told that it could only be set for heat or air conditioning which they controlled based on the weather. However as it got hot during our stay (24degrees) it was never turned back to aircon so we were hot sleeping on some nights. The restaurant food was good but does have room for improvement. However don't let these minor points put you off though we would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

On a further note, as a couple in our 40s we did find that a week is just the right amount of time as there are limited things to do. We hired a car for three days and I think we saw all the main sites. Mahon and Cuitadella are worth visiting as well as the fishing village of Fornells with some great cheap sea food restaurants a three course meal was 11 euros.

Without a car your options are limited we were told that if you go by bus to Mahon you have to change at Cuitadella and the bus can get crowded for the hour long journey and Mahon seems to close down at 2 as everywhere closes for the afternoon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Can recommend the Hotel Princesca Playa wholeheartedly, clean, modern, great food and great staff. I'm a hopeless insomniac and they even changed the mattress on our double bed to try and help me get some rest and gave me endless extra pillows !!!!
lovely buffet meals massive amounts of breakfast and eggs cooked to order + churrros, pancakes and doughnuts !!!!
We felt nothing was too much trouble. Evening entertainment was just getting going as we stayed early in the season, and although our room was near the bar and over the pool the double glazes doors onto the balcony were completely soundproof if you felt you'd heard enough. All in all a great hotel and a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vivienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel and although we don't normally do hotels it won't be our last. All the rooms and communal corridors were refurbished in the winter of 2013 and everything is sparkling and clean. The rooms are very comfortable with the bonus of a fridge to keep your water cool. Lovely big bathroom with nice fittings. The beds were new and hard for some but not for us depends what you like. We returned yesterday 16th May so therefore we were visiting outside school holidays, there were very few children there and I understand that those that were had the disappointment of no kids club until next week. The pool area is spotless and attractive to the eye with lovely swimming areas and a nice jacuzzi, sunbeds a plenty and a very attentive lifeguard who will offer you a clean pool towel every day. The food was very good something for everyone. The usual show cooking and a strangely for Spain lots of fresh vegetables. The desserts looked very good although I didn't try them.I read a review before I arrived which was very helpful, if you go out of the lower gate behind the apartments and the tennis courts go to the right a few hundred yards and behind the few shops and bars is a beautiful beach. We hired bikes from the hotel, the area is perfect for cycling. All in all a lovely holiday and I feel certain we will re-visit this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank notsanyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a week half board at this surprisingly good hotel, the rooms are very nice and the massive pool area is great, along with very friendly staff I would definitely recommend this place.
5 mins from a lovely cove and 10 mins from the marina the location is nice and quiet.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 287Dave2104287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a week long stay at this lovely hotel .
The staff were very polite and went out of their way to help with any requests. The hotel bedroom was modern and very nice with a lovely bathroom and comfortable beds and a large balcony. The gardens and pool area are well maintained . The pool is massive with lots of sun beds. Towels are provided for use at the pool / beach so no need to take them on holiday with you. The beach at Son Xoriguer is just a 5 minute stroll away , and the Marina about a 20 minute walk away. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and there are buses to Ciutadella every 30 mins. You can also hire bikes at the hotel to get you around.
Menorca has some wonderful beaches and we visited a few. Cala en Turqueta was one of our favourites but there is quite a walk to the beach from the car park so might not be ideal for some people.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were staying in Menorca again .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ThunderThunderCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
3.6 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
10.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Address: Lugar Urbanitzacio Son Xoriguer 17, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 5 minutes walk from the beach. This modern hotel is situated just 300 m from Son Xoriguer Beach, 800 m from the Cala'n Bosch marina. Ciutadella is 11 km away. Set in spacious gardens, the Princesa Playa has an outdoor pool, a hot tub and a children's pool. The Hotel has double rooms and apartments equipped with satellite TV, air conditioning, heating, safe, mini-bar, telephone and a furnished terrace. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. The hotel's buffet restaurant offers show cooking. There is also a bar-café, a mini-market, a TV lounge and a games area with board games. You can rent a car on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Princesa Playa Ciudadela
Apartamentos Princesa Playa Hotel
Princesa Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing