We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Honest Opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
S Wales
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An Honest Opinion”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Slightly out of 'town' 20 minute walk to the more lively harbour area.
Gardens and pools first class.
Rooms - here we have a slight problem, all odd number rooms face outwards towards the road,
the evens face the gardens and pool areas. Some of the odd numbered rooms (265 - 285 and
on the ground floor 165 - 185) have recycling bins on the road.Some nights the staff drop the recycling in after the bars etc are closed and some morning the lorry arrives at 5-30 to empty the bins.This is not a good place to be. Also some of the lower numbered rooms (again odds) face the back of another hotel and have trees in front of them - not good.
Entertainment is good at the hotel.
Staff are really nice.
Buffets - they really were not up to speed in replenishing the food, crockery etc. - this does
let the hotel down - yes you will not go hungry as it is a buffet but I have got questions about
the quality and service.
Cleanliness - rooms were immaculate as were the public areas.

Room Tip: Avoid odd numbered rooms - ask for even numbers - ideally on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lovetheworldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    361
    92
    22
    12
See reviews for
486
349
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed in the apartments, got a bedroom.... Clean and attractive, been referbed, since my last visit in 2012, smart looking bathrooms and kitchens. Fantastic looking place, nice a quiet, room 308, away from the pool over looking the gardens, which are well maintained. Great staff as always, courteous and friendly. Food is a buffet style , plenty to chose from, great fish and salads, nice little beach just 5 min walk, all in all was a fantastic holiday, and very restful place to be. Have booked again for sept15 already for 3 weeks this time

Room Tip: Go for the apartments, get bags more room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coops5714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Where to start i am trying not to be too hard here as I think we have had a bad experience. The staff on reception were fine and helpful we were allocated room 125. It smelt of damp particularly in the wardrobe area. The room is basic and clean and no problems there. After an evening of children chasing up and down the corridor outside till late evening the cleaner was knocking on the door at 9 in the morning, we were up ad about but thought it was a bit early to be getting a knock. The breakfast food (we were just B&B) was unexciting just kiwi and orange as fresh fruit all else was tinned, a bit of what I would call a bun fight with only two coffee machines on the go.

The area itself is quite, with one or two lovely beaches that were busy but not too bad, but two sun beds and an unberella will cost you 17 euros so on the expensive side. Our pool area was packed when we tried it but perhaps we just may give it another go. One or two nice restaurants around especially down by the little marina.

Unfortunately personally I cannot recommend this hotel to couples it is very noisey with scrapping chairs and slamming doors, however, if you have a room on the top floor it may not be so bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BESTORWORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Absolutely fantastic !!!! we have just arrived home after our second stay at the Princessa in as many years and were not disapointed,as we love this place so much, and we are considering it for next year as well, the whole experience is a delight,the staff are brilliant,so helpful,and nothing is too much trouble,with a special mention for " Paco" in the restaurant,food is above average ,tasty, hot,fresh,the rooms are very good,with fridge and hairdryer,especially the newly refurbished ones facing gardens and pool areas,which are exceptionally clean and well kept,plenty of sun loungers,free towels daily for use by the pools,all of which is a 5 min walk from beach and supermacado,super ,super,super !!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with more garden and sea view rather than pool,there are kettles for hire if you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stu4kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic!!! Stayed 23 - 30th May
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for the coved beach and only a 10 minute walk from the port area. Well worth it after some lovely meals!!!
All apartments were maintained to a very high standard, cleaned regularly and had great locations within the resort.
Towels are free and can be changed every day if you want. No fighting for sun beds more than enough to go around. Bus stops right outside the hotel for a €1:95 trip to Cuitadella and run every half hour (Spanish half hour that is :)).
Food can be obtained for €8 for breakfast or 7 for the price of 6 and evening meal €18
A minor downside is the in resort drinks prices (3:25 per cerveza) however with the quality of this hotel you are willing to go the extra Euro.
Prices for food in the port area are also a little dear but again well worth it in quality.
We would definitely visit this resort again.
Big tip!!!!
Stay away from the open air restaurant and entertainment area on the corner of the port! Lovely position but a Bacardi and coke and a VAT cost €13:70.
Recommend TORO NEGRO & FONTANA restaurants for eating.

Room Tip: Book self catering to get the bigger rooms ( we had 404) if you want to go half board or full board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for 7 nights from 10 May to 17 May 2014. Beautiful hotel and well equiped room, As we were traveling with our grandson I was concerned that the room may not be big enough but room was perfect for our needs. The pools and gardens are gorgeous and very well kept. The apartment was cleaned daily and was immaculate every time we went back into the apartment from our adventures out for the day. We stayed bed and breakfast which was very tasty according to my husband who gives 10 out of 10 for the variety. On our last day we had a medical emergency which meant myself and grandson were unable to fly home thus spent a night in hospital and my husband spoke with the hotel regarding further nights accomodation until we could return home to England and the hotel and staff were fantastic doing everything they could to make the very stressful and worrying time as comfortable and stressfree as they could make it. We can not thank the hotel and their staff enough. We are already planning our return trip next year. The hotel is next to a beautiful beach and is a lovely walk away from the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely hotel, we would return if we were coming back to Menorca.

Food;
The buffet had a good selection of food and we even found food for our 7 month old son. Breakfast had cereals, fruit, toast, eggs, bacon, sausages and pastries. Drinks of juice, water, teas, coffee and hot chocolate are included. The lunch buffet is smaller but still includes soup, salad, freshly cooked meat, fish and pasta. Drinks are payable separately. You can swap your evening meal for lunch if you're half board and want to go to a restaurant elsewhere which is what we did a couple of times. The evening buffet is similar to lunch but offers more hot food and desserts. Again all drinks are payable separately.

Hotel;
Lovely hotel, very clean, has wifi (but very poor signal in our room). We borrowed a kettle for a €10 deposit and you can get cups from the bar and coffee, tea and sugar sachets from breakfast. The safe is €2 a day plus a €5 deposit. You get towels for the sun loungers from the lifeguard and he'll swap them everyday (supposed to be 9-10am but he'll change them at other times if you need them). The supermarket on site is ok but it's better to go to the one at the back of the hotel as it's cheaper and has a better selection. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk and there's a coastal walk to the marina. The bus stop is just across the road from the hotel entrance and you can get to Ciutadella for €1.95 an adult, the market is on Fridays and Saturdays although we weren't impressed with the market.

The hotel entertainment seemed good but our 7month old baby went to bed earlier than it started so we just listened from our balcony. The hotel bar is nice to have a drink and the food at the pool bar is reasonable for the price. If you drink at the pool you're better buying cans of beer as it's €3.25 per pint from the pool bar (and you don't get a full pint in the plastic cups).

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend the hotel to all.

Room Tip: We had room 280 which had a nice view of the pool and the balcony got the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ekirby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
3.6 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
10.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Address: Lugar Urbanitzacio Son Xoriguer 17, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 5 minutes walk from the beach. This modern hotel is situated just 300 m from Son Xoriguer Beach, 800 m from the Cala'n Bosch marina. Ciutadella is 11 km away. Set in spacious gardens, the Princesa Playa has an outdoor pool, a hot tub and a children's pool. The Hotel has double rooms and apartments equipped with satellite TV, air conditioning, heating, safe, mini-bar, telephone and a furnished terrace. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. The hotel's buffet restaurant offers show cooking. There is also a bar-café, a mini-market, a TV lounge and a games area with board games. You can rent a car on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Princesa Playa Ciudadela
Apartamentos Princesa Playa Hotel
Princesa Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing