We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The princesa playa hotel is fantastic, but there are a few (outside of the hotels control) issues that I feel will be important for some people who may have trouble walking but like to get about. You will find this at the end as I don't want to tarnish how good this hotel is.

We were on a half board holiday June 20th for 10 nights.

Hotel room 244
This is a lovely room on the 2nd floor over looking the pool. Some may think this may be noisy, but the double glazed patio doors onto the balcony do a great job. Proper double bed with blanket and sheet. Fridge in the room. Safe also in the room (€2 a day with €5 euro deposit), air conditioning is also good. Bath with shower overhead, large bench sink, toilet and b'day. The room was cleaned daily, and they done a very good job of it.

The pool area.
This is lovely with a large main pool, smaller raised pool, separate jacuzzi, separate child's pool with barrier to main pool. The water was a nice temperature to cool off in. There are plenty of sun beds (get the towels out early if you need a parasol) as these can not be moved. The tiled floor around the pool can get hot so be careful with small children walking bare foot, but don't let this put you off. There is a pool bar with good prices (for a hotel) that also serves food between 12:30 and 3:00. We ate in there once and the food was of a good standard. There are games around the pool for the adults at set times throughout the day. You can win sparkling wine on these games.

The restaurant
This is a buffet style for both breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are plenty of choices on all meal times. (yes chips are available every day, but they have to cater for every taste). The food is lovely, tasty and we'll cooked. Tea, coffee, juice is available at breakfast, but you have to buy (unless your all inclusive) your drinks for lunch and dinner. A bottle of still water is €2 if you want to spend a little less. The waiters are busy all the time and tables are cleared and re-set all the time, we never had to wait for a table. There are also tables outside for the smokers.

Bar and entertainment area.
This is large with plenty of tabled seating areas. The bar is very well stocked and at a reasonable price (some extra charged on some drinks if your all inclusive) but the local drinks are nice. There is entertainment every night (done by the hotel staff) including a kids disco.

General areas.
The reception, corridors, toilets, and outside spaces are of a fantastic standard. The floors are very shiny but I didn't slip on any of them, the reception area is very clean, as are the toilets, there are outside seating areas that are in the shade and very cool and clean if you wish to get out of the sun. There is also a small library and Internet access available. There is free wifi throughout, they give you a user and password at the reception when you check in. All of the staff are clean, polite and very helpful.

Children's areas.
Although we didn't have children with us, it seems they are very well catered for. There are 2 kids clubs, and lots of play areas, including a very shallow pool area which is barriered off from the main pool.

Like I said, the hotel is fantastic, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Now for those down sides, as I said, nothing to do with the hotel but worth noting if this will affect you.

Distance
It's about a 15 minute walk to the harbour where the bars and restaurants are, the pavements can leave a lot to desire, uneven and with holes. The pavements are very high. Be careful if walking at night as the street lamps turn off around 12pm, leaving it very dark. There are some good pavements though. Taxi's can be called if required (unsure of the prices)
The beach is about 5 minutes walk away, the pavements are Ok for that walk.

Shops
There is also no tobacco shop on the resort. Closest is in Ciutadella, about 20 minutes on the bus, costs €1.95. There are about 10 gift and clothes shopping shops, but there are plenty of supermarket type shops if you are going self catering.

Finally my hints and tips.
To get to the beach, go out the back of the hotel behind the self catering apartments and turn right. The beach is behind the shops (which are also the closest for self caterers)
To go to the harbour (which is lovely) go out the front of the hotel and walk straight ahead (don't go left or right) and keep walking to the end of the road. Then turn right and walk, the roads to the left take you to the harbour area and shops and restaurants.

Once again, a fantastic, clean, well catered, friendly hotel. Would recommend it highly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    332
    84
    20
    10
See reviews for
452
309
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in June and have to say it was perfect. We were self catering so had an apartment at the back. The apartment was one of the best I have stayed in, modern and clean. There was air conditioning in the room but as the sun didn't shine in the room it stayed cool. The pool area was fantastic, a kids pool, a bigger adult pool, a small adult pool and a jacuzzi. The lifeguard was fantastic friendly and helpful. The grounds were kept clean and all staff were friendly. I honestly couldn't pick fault with this hotel. Would go back in an instant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank pragian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hopton
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just recently returned from our first visit to Menorca with my grown up family and two small grandchildren. After what was a very long transfer of 1 hour and 30 mins we pulled up outside the hotel and first impressions were very good. Check in was fast and we were able to go to our rooms immediately which isn't always the case when arriving in the morning. We was very pleased on entering the room you could see it had been newly renovated and had a lovely bathroom and furnishings. Our room over looked the pool and was close to reception which was very good.

The meals were good though they did get a bit samey and l have certainly had better in other hotels but overall couldn't grumble.The entertainment at the hotel was a big let down after being in four star hotels in the Canaries it was not comparable. For under 2's there is nothing at all to keep them amused but if they are over 4 there was a mini club. They could do with an early dinner sitting for toddlers as my two grandchildren were getting very grumpy eating after 7pm and the mini disco didn't start till 9pm.

The pools and surrounding garden area's of the hotel was very attractive and well maintained. There was plenty of sunbeds and spare one were stacked up if you needed some. The only thing lacking was umbrellas were quite sparse. It would have been nice to have a bit of music playing around the pool and maybe more pool activities going on. To be honest was not over impressed with the animation team the show which consisted of two people was a joke though it wasn't meant to be.

The location of the hotel is quiet a 5 minute walk to a lovely beach and only 15 minutes from the marina with lovely restaurants and bars and another gorgeous beach.

We really liked menorca and would consider going back another year but would try another part. Tip if you can afford is to book a private transfer we booked with A to B transfers and had to wait on the coach for around 40 mins for arrivals from another plane then we were last to be dropped of so from landing it was almost 3 hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoptonRedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for a week on the 7th June 2014 and found the hotel to be great. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and the entire place is kept very clean. As other reviews have said the marina is about 10 - 15 mins walk away, which we found to be quite a nice walk other than the pavements being a bit bumpy for pushing a buggy. The marina itself is the main hub of the resort and is full of nice restaurants and a couple of pubs which we found to have good quality food quite reasonably priced, we also had no problem getting gluten free food anywhere in this resort. The hotel itself has a good mix of nationalities and the food on offer tries to cater for everyone, we found the buffet style food to be good although it got a bit samey. The only real criticism we had was due to the set meal times we had a problem with our one year old as one of her meal times fell at a time went they weren't serving food. we got round this by going to one of the restaurants behind the hotel, however the food only stops for a few hour so if you don't have young children then it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graemeandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights beginning 13th June - me, hubby and 4 year old daughter.

We stayed in Room 332 which was a Junior Suite. The location of our room was excellent - at the end of the building on the ground floor overlooking the children's pool and playground. The suite had a small kitchenette (behind cupboard doors - fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster), a sofa bed (which you could open just half of so when the bed was made up you could also still sit on the sofa), twin beds in the bedroom and a large walk-in shower (no bath).

We also had a terrace with nice quality table and chairs and a clothes airer. There was air con but we found the apartment stayed cool enough that we didn't use it. Our bedroom had lockable shutters so we were able to leave the window open and still get air whilst staying secure.

The safe cost €14 for a week plus a €5 refundable deposit. This was key operated. Our room was cleaned daily.

Despite a "no reserving sunbeds" policy, everyone ignored this so you had to just do it too otherwise you'd have nowhere to sit after 10am especially round the children's pool. There were lots of children there but all were well behaved and we heard no adults shouting - in fact the other guests were friendly and chatty but not "in your face".

The pool bar food was reasonably priced as was the hotel shop. There are numerous supermarkets nearby so perhaps competition kept the prices down. The nearest supermarket is out of the back gate, turn right and it is 200 yards on the left. Beyond this is the beach and some cafes/restaurants - we ate in two of these at lunchtime and they were nice.

The beach is great but, due to the heat, we only went there in the evening after dinner for a paddle.

The food was buffet which is hit and miss but was generally good quality. You need to get there fairly early if you want an outside table.

The staff were excellent and are a credit to the hotel. Everyone we dealt with from the maids to the bar staff, the reception staff to the waiting staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

The evening entertainment was amusing but not necessarily in a good way. The most bemusing were the couple that just mimed to famous songs whilst changing outfits. Hmmm.

The marina was a good 20 minute walk with a 4 year old but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed from 2 - 16th June 2014.
I think you have to be careful where you stay at this complex.
If you are a couple that wants quiet, then stay in the hotel only.
If you stay in the hotel it is quiet, if you stay self catering this is where all the families with kids and under 5's stay. We had to endure scraping of chairs overhead from 5.am and all day/night long. Children screaming crying and running around the corridors .
Most of the self cateringapartments face north/west so no direct sun except evening. The apartments that face south are shaded by a mass of trees, so again not much sun on your balcony.
The rooms have recently been re furbished in white paint, not sure how long that will last?
The rooms were cleaned daily except Thursdays and Sundays.
The entertainment was quite good, felt sorry for the Michael Jackson solo act who clearly hadn't got much experience and kept disappearing behind the curtain leaving the audience with rather awkward "pregnant" pauses.
The Temptations were very good.
The entertainment area was very hot because the doors were open so air con wouldn't work.
The smoke from the smokers just blows in with the wind.
The grounds were kept very nice except when sun loungers were strewn all over the place.
The aircon in the room was very good with 3 levels.
Wifi is very hit and miss unless you are near the hotel reception.
Did not try the restaurant as we were self catering and like to eat out.
We had a very bad experience at Mr Jaume restaurant on 5th June 2014 in the harbour.
Jacket potatoes came smothered in mayo when we asked for plain ones he hand picked them off of our plate... we were speechless!
He came back 10 minutes later but our food was cold by then. The mixed grill was raw in places, generally awful meal. The sweet menu was flung at us, then he never returned to take that order, so we asked for the bill. When we paid, we were due 15 euros change but once again he never returned with it, we had to ask for our change...SO BEWARE needless to say we DID NOT leave a tip.
Contrary to some reviews the harbour is only a 10 minute walk away, you certainly don't need to take a taxi.The beach was very crowded but clean. Be AWARE though that sunbed and parasol will set you back 17 euros a day!!! Apparently it's to pay for lifeguard and beach cleaning!!
If you want a very good selection of food including GLUTEN FREE, then visit El Pato we didn't have a bad meal here at all and very reasonable prices too. Avanti restaurant was good also.
Would we return?, probably yes, but to a top floor in the hotel only.
If you are puzzled by one tone whistles during the night, it is a Scops Owl.
We heard at least 3 at one time, and actually saw a baby owl in the tree outside our balcony.

Room Tip: A top floor in the hotel only for peace. bottom floors for famillies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allwaysonhoilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel. Staff very helpful and courteous. Everywhere nice and clean and good housekeeping. Stayed half board and different choices for hot meals at night, lovely salads for cold. Entertainment available every night or you can walk down to the marina where there's also entertainment. Walk to marina takes about 15-20 minutes, lovely stroll after dinner to walk off extra calories! Stunning beaches nearby. Would certainly recommend this hotel and area if you want relaxing holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
6.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 8 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Zafiro
Zafiro
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
Address: Lugar Urbanitzacio Son Xoriguer 17, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apart-Hotel situated in an exclusive and privileged area of the “Paseo Marítimo” of Marbella. In front of the Sea, between the sports and fishing harbours, only five minutes walking distance to the old town and 5 Km. away from Puerto Banús. The Princesa Playa offers 100 rooms apartment studios fully equiped wih the most modern facilites for your comfort. 24 hours hall-reception, meeting room, reading lounge, cafeteria, terrace-bar and outside swimming pool, heated during the winter. Totally refurbished in year 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Princesa Playa Ciudadela
Apartamentos Princesa Playa Hotel
Princesa Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing