We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blanc Palace Cottages - Great hotel just very crowded!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vacances Menorca Resort
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Ciutadella
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We returned yesterday after an 11 night stay in a Blanc Palace Cottages (myself, husband and 3 children aged 7,6 & 4).
We were very impressed with our room (3125) 2 bedroomed which looked recently refurbished with good self catering facilities altho we were all inclusive. It was a duplex apartment facing the road (quieter than those looking onto pool which did get very noisy and crowded) with 2 balconies altho only had 2 plastic chairs when apartment could sleep 6?
Food was excellent. Plenty choice including kids buffet (nuggets, fish fingers, chips etc) main buffet always had pasta, lasagne, potatoes, veg, fish and meat and there was always a roast being carved by the chef. Puddings were typical Spanish offerings along with 4 flavours of ice cream. Staff were all very helpful and cheery.
Blanc cottage has a large pool and a kids pool with slides. First week the large pool area was quiet and relaxing however the 2nd week lots more people arrived and it was bedlam!!! Kids jumping into pool unsupervised (which was 2.1m deep!) and sun beds everywhere!! We ended up using the blanc palace 1 pool across the road which was much bigger and quieter with more sun parasols. There was also a serious lack of parasols at blanc cottages with little shaded areas. This is an area the hotel should look to improve especially with the number of children visiting. People also reserved sun beds at night for following day which was frustrating however half way through holiday this stopped and they were all pulled off and put into piles which freed up more beds.
The local beach was nice and there was a bus-stop outside hotel which we used to go to cala n bosch.
Kids club reps were great - 2 of our children went to kids club sessions during the day and a couple of the night time parties which they really enjoyed. Night time entertainment was cringful!! (Consisted of amateur shows and embarrassing games!!) Thankfully our kids were happy to just to go to the play park (which is excellent) then we headed back to room with a drink to have on the balcony. The entertainment room got very crowded with children running wild and there were huge queues for the bar.
We had a great holiday and would recommend this hotel for families But it did get very busy, crowded and very noisy however the hotel can't be blamed for the behaviour of some of its guests. Main areas for improvement would be parasols, pool side crowdedness and evening entertainment but you will not be disappointed with the food!

Room Tip: Away from pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Holidaze_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good morning,

I hope the Return to your home has been smooth.
Thank you again for choosing us again for your holiday in Menorca, and Thank you for your comments.

I hope to see you soon again in Menorca!

Kind regards,
Sheila Gordo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I would like to thank all for making our stay fantastic, Stayed from 4th July 2014 for 10 days and did not want to leave. Stayed with my daughter and two grandsons 17 and 3 both enjoyed all the facilities on the various sites, Beds comfy, Food great selection and enjoyable, all staff friendly, Kids club was terrific for the little one. So good we only left the site for a visit to Citadela. Beach my sort of beach easy going lovely sea. would definitely return. One small critism kettle leads need to be a little longer had to balance ours on dish as socket high.

Room Tip: Not overlooking pool if a blanc cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jan160753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good Morning,

I hope the Return to your home has been smooth.
Just a few lines to thank you once again for choosing us for your holiday in Menorca.

I want to thank you sincerely for your comments and I remain at your disposal for future visits to Menorca.

Kind regards,
Sheila Gordo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was very nervous going to this hotel after reading the negative comments before they all got deleted,I arrived back on 14th July and the place was lovely,The staff are very attentive and very helpful when you have special requirements regarding food etc,The receptionist name (Raefaela) was really helpful with an unusual request that I had regarding one of the people that I was on holiday with.Raefaela was most kind and helpful.The food was abit of the same most days but enough choice for everyone.The accomodation was excellent very clean and beds changed every day except wednesday.I stayed in the cottage side of the hotel and it was room 3120 and the sliding door was facing the swimming pool which was a lovely out look. I would highly recommend this hotel and trust me you cant get any fussier than me !!

Room Tip: 3120 right by pool side ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michealnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came to Sa Caleta Menorca for a week as our family holiday in the summer. The transfer from the airport is 40 minutes and is a pretty straight road. When we arrived the location and setting of the hotel is beautiful. lots of lovely villas and there are no high rise which is good. When we went to our apartment in Blanc Palace 2 ( which btw is the white and modern one) anyways our apartment had the best view the hotel had and it was stunning. The balcony looked over the sea and you could see the lovely town and beach. The twin room had such a nice view of the sea. The apartment is clean and very modern. we loved it! The room is big which is also great. The food is also great. every day there is a good selection, usually includes a chef offering you meat, such as pork, beef or chicken. The breakfast is nice with continental and the full English breakfast, all help yourself. The staff at the food area are so friendly and helpful too. If you have kids, there are clubs and lots of activities for kids to do during the day. But you don't need to take part. All poolside staff are lovely and drinks are serves through the day. The hotel is so close to the beach. Blanc Palace 2 seemed much nicer than 1. There were Thomas cook reps there to help you if you needed it. I don't know what the negative reviews are talking about because we had a great time. I would guarantee you would have a great time. Well worth our money.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3221, it had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After spending two weeks at the Blanc Palace Resort I felt the need to write a review to say how great our holiday was, with the friendly staff,the room size for family's and how clean the resort was kept. Would recommend it to anyone for a great family holiday

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Andym6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had booked in Blanc Cottage, but we were made to stay in another place which belonged to them, the front office staff look very hassled due to the large number of tourists and they don't speak much of english though they try. None of our request like a quiet room with a decent view were honoured, the front desk were not too efficient in guiding us to the local sightseeing places.
The room/apartment itself was ok with a small kitchenette, the beds were lumpy and the air conditioner very noisy.
This seemed like a place frequented by families with kids and it was evident from the large number of families thronging the two large pools through the day.
Connectivity to town is rather scarce with a bus plying every half an hour, it's better to hire a car if one wants to explore the island.
The buffet breakfast which is to be paid for has a huge spread and the restaurant staff is extremely efficient, we wish to thank the gentleman serving tables who fed us past closing hours when he saw we did not know the timings, he ensured we had a good meal even though it was way past his time to close.
recommended for families with children who would like to stay on the premises and not venture out much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukeskywalkerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Firstly, on behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Menorca.

We have your suggestion into consideration and try to do it, but Keep that it's high season and the request are not 100% warranty.

Your request was a quiet room with a decent view, and if we had put him in the Blanc Cottage, would likely have been less quiet as it is one of the parts of the resort where most families with children staying.

We will consider your suggestions and thank you for telling his experience with us.

Sheila Gordo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We (myself, my wife and my 3 young children) returned from a Thomas Cook holiday, all inclusive to Blanc Palace, staying at Blanc Cottages and have come home quite disappointed with the holiday, having tried to research past reviews, which are mainly withdrawn due to a change in name/ownership, we were apprehensive with the late deal we had chosen.

We arrived and was allocated one of the newer style duplex apartments but had real concerns for the safety of our toddler, there was a stone staircase without any gates that within 5 minutes our youngest had tried to scale several times, the terrace was also unsafe for smaller children, it had no gate and went straight out onto the main road. We asked to be moved and were shown a couple of even less safe and older styled apartments and settled on one with an enclosed terrace, the room was really dated, mouldy in the bathroom with a terrible sewerage spell, not good but safe. The furniture was really old and the floor and bathroom poorly cleaned.

The other issues we had was that the hotel has been extended it seems but no extra provisions made in the pool areas and restaurant, it was impossible to get a lounger by 8am, many people put the towels out the night before. The restaurant seemed under staffed, the staff that were there were very hard working and friendly but there were just too many people, there were queues at times to get in and for the hot buffet section. The food quality was generally poor and repetitive, I guess this depends on your normal eating habits, mostly pasta and chips. Many dishes ran out with often a long wait to get refilled, there was only a show cooking area at the evening, no fresh omelettes etc for brekkie.
One of our biggest complaints was that this is sold as a family hotel but there was no thought in the restaurant of this, no plastic glasses/plates or children’s cutlery, something that seems obvious from our experience with other family hotels.

The kid’s entertainment was quite good, lots of kids clubs and a nightly disco, the staff were really friendly, our children especially took to Maria, who seemed to really care about what she was doing. We only caught a few bits of the nightly entertainment, which looked really cheesy and amateurish, for the kids disco there was not enough tables/seating, if you were there after 7.30 you had to stand.
Surprisingly there was a lot of late night noise, with lots of young children still running around up to midnight, there seemed to be lots of children unsupervised both around the pools and later in the evening which we found a little concerning.

The Blanc palace itself over the road seemed more laid back, with many nationalities, quieter with more space around the pools, although we did look into a few rooms which all seemed very basic and dated.

So to summarise, there were some good points. Friendly staff, nice pools, nice small beech nearby.
Negatives. Very overcrowded (and we were told that it would be much busier come the main summer holidays) so nowhere near enough sun beds, queues for the restaurant and for drinks.
Drinks were mainly poor, decent beer and coffee at the main bar (pool bar and restaurant coffee was vile). No consideration for kids in the restaurant, no free soft play in the hotels. Kids play room and toys in the sandpit were dated/broken.
Nothing really nearby, we took taxis to Citudella (5 euro) and Calla en Bosch marina (12 euro) which were really nice.

There were a number of smaller things that just weren’t good but may just be down to our expectations, this is not a 4 star place, 3 at best, I can see how some families might enjoy the place but for us there was just no quality at all. We’ve been on other 4 star all inclusive family holidays and said we probably wouldn’t do again, but the late offer here was really good, unfortunately this was much worse than our previous experiences and think we will stick to higher quality self catering in the future.

Room Tip: new duplexs were nice but unsafe if you have toddlers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 144Ben81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Good afternoon,

Firstly, on behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Menorca.

About your comment:

We gave option to change the apartment because you said that the staircase leading to the front door of the apartment was not safe for your child.

The pool hours are from 10 to 18h, is when the lifeguard begins and ends his day.
In the welcome meetings is communicated to customers who can not reserve sunbeds with towels, so we have made the decision to pick them up every night.

On the menu, try to have an international variety as not all our customers are from the same country or have the same customs at lunchtime.
Plastic cups are given in the pool bar and lounge bar, but the restaurant is served in glass. If a customer asks for a plastic cup for your child there any objection to give it.

Vacances Menorca Resort has an animation team and thomas cook has the kids club, but the supervision of the children at night must be provided by parents.

Thanks for your review, we will consider your suggestions.

Kind Regards,

Sheila Gordo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
1.1 mi away
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#39 of 52 in Ciutadella
3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maribel Apartamentos
Maribel Apartamentos
#4 of 7 in Cala Blanca
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
Hostal Residencia Ciutadella
#18 of 52 in Ciutadella
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Apartotel Skyline Menorca
Apartotel Skyline Menorca
#5 of 52 in Ciutadella
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,267 reviews
15.1 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacances Menorca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacances Menorca Resort

Address: Vacances Menorca Resort 7769 Calle Parres 2, 07760 Ciutadella, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range: £32 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vacances Menorca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vacances Menorca Resort comprises of 3 holiday complexes - "HA Blanc Palace", "AT Sa Caleta Playa" & "AT Son Blanc Cottage", each one with a 4*/4 Key rating. The Blanc Palace Resort is situated in a quiet residential area of Menorca just 1km and easy walking distance from the centre of the historical capital of the island, Ciutadella. There is also a regular bus service from the resort into the town. The beach of Sa Caleta is just a few metres away where visitors can enjoy the crystal blue waters of the small, quiet bay and a further 500m away is the neighbouring beach of Santandria. All of the apartments in the resort are air conditioned and consist of 1 twin bedroom, full bathroom with hair dryer, lounge/dining area with sofa bed, telephone, flat screen TV with some satellite channels, kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Safety deposit boxes are available to hire. Two bedroom apartments and adapted rooms for wheelchair customers or customers with reduced mobility are also available on request. The resort has a 24 hour reception service, buffet style restaurant, bar & swimming pools with separate children's pool, sun terrace, sunbeds & umbrellas and an extensive entertainments programme both throughout the day and each evening. A mini market is also onsite for all guests use. The location of the resort and the facilities its offers provides the opportunity to enjoy a wide range of sporting activities during your visit including cycling, trekking/rambling/walking tours, diving, paddle tennis, horse riding, sailing, kayak, etc, etc - the possibilities are endless. The resort also has its own "Wellness" centre where guests anenjoy Jacuzzi, sauna, gym and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vacances Menorca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacances Menorca Resort Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing