We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
WEST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just thoroughly enjoyed a week at La Quinta.
The hotel is just the place for a relaxing, quality break.
If you are looking for outstanding service provided by a friendly, established team then this is the place for you.
Our room was clean and bright with all the usual facilities. We enjoyed swimming in the spa pool and made full use of the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The food is fantastic and plentiful.
We have already recommended La Quinta to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    135
    38
    6
    1
See reviews for
95
604
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Fully agree with previous reviewers re: first rate professional and friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. This is a relatively small hotel fully enclosed in an open square design on a mix of 2 & 3 floors which provides an extremely peaceful situation. Food was excellent and varied with choice of several main courses, soup, salads, sorbets fruit and deserts. We would have appreciated a little more in the way of vegetables but the meat and fish were excellent. So, perfection? 'fraid not. As a previous reviewer mentioned the beds, ours was a double, are extremely hard. This was a view agreed by several people we met but was not sufficient to spoil an otherwise great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms in 3 blocks, 2 are 3 storey and the remaining one 2. Little to choose between them as they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearsted9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 weeks at the La Quinta Hotel in Menorca. It was an excellent holiday. The Hotel Staff were all very attentive. We had a lovely room, the dining in the restaurant was very good. We visited the Spa regularly and it was superb. We used the Courtesy bus to Ciutadella on 3 occasions and the bus driver was very helpful. Having had such a good experience, we will go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieAileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed here now four times and yes it is very relaxing.Stayed on 5th to 9th october,room 108 which I'm afraid had a very uncomfortable mattress so much so that I had backache for a few days and I have not suffered from this before so hopefully they will replace it over winter. We love the indoor pool which is warmer than the outdoor one which is'nt heated.They do have english papers here to read which is nice to lay by the pool reading them .Yes I must agree that the staff are always so freindly even the manager gave me a wink one day.We came here to celebrate my daughters birthday,she stayed all week with her boyfreind.It was his first holiday abroad so he started off with the finest hotel in menorca,lucky boy.I;d like to thank the hotel for her bottle of cava.But most of all thankyou for getting them to the airport in record time when the taxi did not arrive to take them there.Not many hotels would have sorted that one out and take them for free so much appreciated. So if you want a quiet holiday with good food and excellent service you can't go wrong here .Will be back in another year or two.

Room Tip: give 108 a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vera b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were so welcoming. The hotel promotes a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone goes about their daily duties with a smile on their face. The staff here really do look after you. Rooms are excellent, we actually upgraded to a suite which was also excellent. Food was superb and plenty of variety. Gala dinner on the Saturday was a pleasant surprise and most enjoyable. The hotel certainly provides a 5 star service and 5 star facilities. We will certainly be returning next year and would recommend it highly. Thank you to all at La Quinta for a fantastic holiday. We were there from the 5th to the 12th October in room 130.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here early in September, after the schools had returned. We found the hotel very quiet and peaceful. there was only one child in the hotel who was very well behaved, so much so we hardly noticed he was there, The service in the hotel was excellent, staff were friendly and always had a smile, the room maids were the most cheerful of any I have come across. Rooms were lovely, and spotlessly clean, robes and slippers were a nice touch, along with the evening turndown service. Pool areas were very clean, and in the evenings the maintenance man could be seen washing down all the sunbeds. Food in the restaurant was lovely but like other reviews we felt that the lack of vegetables with the main course let it down, however had no issue with the quality of the food. All in all a wonderful stay, and would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHL1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just returned from the La Quinta Resort hotel Wed 25 September- Wed 9th October, where we had an enjoyable two weeks. This review of the hotel consists of two parts, the first three days when the service was the best we had come across and then the other 11days, with over 60% of the staff leaving after the Saturday, and the rest leaving the hotel daily . This change in staffing levels was not mentioned by Thomson or reflected in the price when we booked. So if everything had been like the first 3 days the score would have been 5 stars across the board, but it was not so my scores are averaged out.
The hotel has a nice relax atmosphere and is great if that is the type of quiet holiday you want, we did so it really suited us. The rooms were kept exceptionally well cleaned and tidied twice a day, although the first week we were left little sweets on the sheets this stopped for the second week. The only fault I found with the room was that the toilet was to close to the side wall as a bidet was next to it in a space only big enough for one or the other. The food was generally good although the buffet could have had the variety changed more. The highlight was the Gala dinner on the Saturday night; both of these were exceptionally good; congratulations to the chef for these dinners. The free mini bus into Ciutadella was really good. We had a room on the ground floor, where you came straight out across the grass and into the pool, would recommend this room ours was 114. All the rooms face the pool as the hotel is inland and does not have sea views. The sun beds were plentiful and no one reserved any with their towels why we were there. Although they could have done with some cushions for them, as they were not the most comfortable I have laid upon. The staff were excellent and friendly, although things became more hectic for those left as the hotel did not empty at the same rate that the staff went. The weather was good the first week the temperature was 30-28 C and the second week 26-24C with a couple of cloudy days but the only rain was at night. We had entertainment for the first three nights but none for the rest of the time except on the gala dinner night. Overall we had an enjoyable time and would recommend the hotel but beware that after September what you get is a reasonable 4 star hotel and not a 5 and should be priced accordingly.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room so that you come straight out onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roychristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your time and interest explaining your experience during your stay an our hotel.

All comments and criticisms are one of the most valuable tools to further improve the quality of all our products and services.
And all the points that you listed in your report have been analyzed one by one with the people responsible.

But let me explain you that ratio of occupied rooms/employees has been exactly the same during the period that you have been at the hotel. On the other had you have to consider that the occupancy rate and Prices for October are not the same in June, July, August or September. Bur of course we continue keeping and looking after all our guests until the day we close the hotel.

We look after all the details and we know that the hotel always must keep the standars of a 5 star hotel during all the season and also in October. This is the reason that explain why we have guests that they prefer to come every year in October.

Our challenge is to offer an exquisite and unforgettable experience taking care of all the details, everything always with optimal value for money.

For our team it is certainly a great satisfaction to see year after year guests return to visit us.

We hope to welcoming you again,


Yours faithfully,


Gustavo Gómez Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
6.5 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
999 reviews
24.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,178 reviews
4.5 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 56 in Ciutadella
747 reviews
6.3 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa

Property: PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Address: Gran Via Son Xoriguer s/n, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#1 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only hotel. This option is perfect for couples, friends, singles or families with children over the age of 16 to enjoy their holidays. In Minorca, only 9km from the old capital of the island, the monumental Ciutadella, our hotel is located between the beaches of Son Xoriguer (600m) and Cala’n Bosch (300m).The colonial architecture and a well-cared decoration based on traditional materials like wood, terracotta, forged iron, aged marble etc. makes of this place the most exclusive 5-star hotel in the isle of Minorca.Five star hotel of the Island, thought for those who look for peaceful vacations and easy access to the superb beaches of the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hotel Ciudadella
La Quinta Resort Hotel And Spa
La Quinta Ciudadela
Ciudadela La Quinta
PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing