We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Spent a fantastic 12 days at La Quinta. Rooms and whole hotel beautifully clean well spotless really. Room lovely and terrace overlooking pool. Everything worked perfectly no problems at all. Stayed B&B breakfast plenty of choice fresh fruit cereals pastries. Snacks beautifully presented and very tasty. Staff are amazing friendly and genuine nothing is too much trouble for them. I asked for a special pillow from the "pillow menu !" it arrived in less than 15 minutes. The Spa is excellent and for me was a highlight;.. I only have a couple of comments and these are minor - one is it would be good to have a method of drying swimsuits etc rather than hanging them on balcony chairs or table - perhaps a small fixed line in a discreet place on balcony. WiFi was free which is great but signal was a little sporadic.Art work and sculptures were impressive - loved them. I would definitely go back so would my 16 year old daughter although it was quiet she loved the place.

Room Tip: First and second floor rooms more private but not much to choose they all overlook the pool in any c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LLandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

It 's very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At least, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours faithfully,


Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just spent a lovely week at La Quinta with my wife, this is our third year running and it gets better everytime (if that's possible,it's so good !).
Rooms spotlessly clean,comfortable and modern.
Pool area is serene with good waiter service when required. with ample loungers.(Have to say the loungers are a little hard (no cushions) but that is a minor issue.
Hotel is for adults only, no children under 16 (although I suspected one or two were 14/15), but were not overly noisy or a nuisance.
Dining is a fantastic four course meal with a soup served, buffett salad bar, main served and dessert alongside salad bar.
Each meal had a choice of two soups and 8 main courses which were varied everyday.
Gala evening was fantastic with a set 4 course meal with a mouche bouche taster.
The night we were there is was a poached salmon second course and confit duck for third course.,absolutely great.
The waiters were friendly, courteous and very efficient and all appeared happy in their work.
The bar area included entertainment on three nights ,which made for a pleasant evening.
The bar staff were brilliant , with their little tricks pouring wines and spirits into glasses to everybody's amusement and delight.
Will be going back next year without doubt as it is so relaxing, with the hotel minibus available to take you into Ciutadella or a small walk to the lovely marina at Calan Bosch if you want to venture outside the hotel.
All rooms, which are on either two or three levels, face onto the pool so every room is good, but for added convenience if you have the ground level room ( they call them garden rooms) you can wander from your patio to the poolside and back to your room without going around the hotel.
This hotel is part of the Salgar Group but the way it is run you would have thought it was a privately owned hotel as it is so well run.
Only downside (if you can call it that) is that it is about 45 minutes taxi ride from the airport.
I would like to say a big well done and thank you to the staff and management for a very enjoyable stay and see you next year.

Room Tip: Ground level (garden rooms) for convenient access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AJC_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

It is very nice hearing that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at La Quinta.

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel.

We hope that our staff has received and served you with friendliness and professionalism. You can be convinced that we will forward your remarks to the corresponding persons.

At last, we would like to thank you again for your time and would be glad to welcome you again to our hotel.

Yours faithfully,


Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have had a relaxing week at La Quinta. It is a difficult review to write without sounding too fussy but I chose this hotel on the previous reviews and so want to give a fair summary of what we encountered.

The hotel is small and very quiet. The staff, without exception, were excellent. Always greeted with a smile, eye contact made, which makes such a difference. The room was fairly standard but the bathroom was pretty small. It was difficult to shut the door when using the toilet! The shower was not thermostatic and was prone to go from cold to scolding hot. Having said this we were comfortable. We stayed on a half board basis and we all thought the food was pretty good. We used the spa facilities quite a few times and that was nice. For all you serious gym bunnies, the gym is small and fairly limited with equipment.

We took advantage of the free minibus that goes to Ciutadella. What a lovely place to visit, full of interesting alleyways and shops. The little harbour area is very pleasant and lined with various restaurants. The local people were friendly and hospitable.

We chose this hotel for the adult only option, which was terrific but I feel I have to say that the local area did not support what we were looking for outside the confines of the hotel. The hotel is sandwiched between huge hotels, catering for all inclusive family holidays and so you step out of the peace of La Quinta, into a run down marina area, full of cheap shops and supermarkets, almost "kiss me quick" type fayre. There was nowhere peaceful to stroll of an evening, without fighting your way through hoards of people. The hotel is lovely - I wish we could have picked it up and put it in a different area. Perhaps visiting in June or September would be ideal.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good. All facing towards the pool. Even numbered rooms have the sun all afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank Joanna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much.

We are very happy to hear that you have a nice and pleasant holiday at La Quinta.

Your opinion is very important for us and it is one of the most important tools that we have to improve the level of quality of all our services and product.

All your comments has been readed and analyzed.

We assure you that everything will be done to make your next stay with us very enjoable and relaxing.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon,


Kind regards,



Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been to Cala 'n' Bosch many times but this was our first trip without kids. It is difficult to put into words what made it such a wonderful experience but we could not have asked for more. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff made you feel welcome and nothing was too much for them. This included the cleaning staff who were excellent. The room was tastefully decorated, and well maintained but not ostentatious. Dining at La Quinta was a very pleasant experience made so by the waiting staff who were both attentive and efficient. The food was varied but was more to my taste than my husbands. The house wine, at slightly more than 3 euros a glass was very acceptable. The adult only atmosphere resulted in a very relaxing stay. As a family we have also enjoyed the Cala n' Bosch resort itself which is quiet but a good selection of restaurants and shops around a small marina. When we needed a little bit more excitement we travel into Cituadella, which is a 15 min bus/car journey away. We normally take the cheap public bus service but on this occasion the hotel provided a courtesy bus service once a day at 10am with return to hotel at 2am. Cituadella is a beautiful town full of shops and little restaurants which never fails to disappoint. We would definitely recommend La Quinta and would return ourselves. It is not a flashy hotel but subtle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. This is one of the most valuable tools.

Your opinion is very important for us, in order to improve the level of quality of all our services and product.

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant and enojoyable stay with us.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards from Menorca,


Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel choice was bang on. Beautifully appointed rooms; extremely obliging staff; great food and good facilities. Every room has a view over the pool area and although not used, the fitness facilities looked more than adequate. Cala'n Bosc/Son Xoriguer is a recreational resort with little local character about it. If you want character you must travel to Ciutadella which was originally the island capital. This has character in spades and the good news is that the hotel provides a daily bus service to Ciutadella. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday but do not assume that the phrase "Menorca is quieter than Mallorca" means it is quiet. There are lots of families in the surrounding apartments and accommodation complexes. Not the rowdy 18/30 lot but obviously families who want entertainment, music, fast food and supermercados of which there are legion numbers!! They are all fine but be aware in the early evening things get more hectic around the complexes and harbour area. The haven of real peace and tranquility is this hotel which seems to be the only "adults only" facility in this resort. We enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: "Garden View" rooms give direct access to the pool area but all rooms appear to overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank coxon1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thnak you very much for your time, explaining your experiencia during your recent stay at La Quinta.

We are very happy hearing that you have enjoyed during your holidays.

Your opinión is very important for us. Our challenge is improving continuosly the level of service and product.

On behalf of all the members of our Team, thank again.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Yours faithfully


Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I went to La Quinta for our first trip to Cal n' Bosch, Menorca in July. He had been extremely ill earlier in the year and is unable to drive, so our usual choice of 'touring' holiday was not an option, we had reservations about staying in one spot on a half board arrangement but need not have worried.

The hotel is truly beautiful. By the amount of regular returners, it is clear we are not the only ones who were impressed by this lovely place. From the moment you walk into the peaceful, cool, foyer, tastefully decorated with comfy leather sofas and interesting local art sculptures , we felt totally relaxed. Our room (321) was excellent, spacious and kept immaculately clean through the whole week. Having a fridge was very helpful for keeping cold drinks etc.

The best thing about the hotel was the service and the staff. Every member of staff, from those who looked after the cleanliness of our room and the public areas, to the waiting staff in the restaurant, the excellent and helpful reception staff, the 'talented' barman and his team, the bar staff by the pool, the gardener(s) and the driver who took us into Cuitadella one day, went beyond what you would expect of them. Having said that, it lacked the '5 star pretentiousness' of that some hotels in this league which suited us perfectly. The staff were just lovely - approachable, caring, courteous and responsive when needed, and there was always someone around if you had a query.

Requests made for a mattress topper and a kettle for the room resulted in the items being taken to our room within 2 hours. Roman on reception gave us a plan and a map for our visit to Cuitadella which was perfect.

Anyone, like us, who has possible medical concerns to consider, the staff assured us that a doctor is available daily. We didn't need it, glad to say, but this was reassuring.

The spa was very special and unlike some 'below ground level' spas, had natural light and a very tasteful design. The pool, steam room and sauna were mostly empty so we had them to ourselves most of the time. The jacuzzi was rarely too busy but more popular. However, we were told when the weather deteriorates, which it had the week before and on one day of our holiday week, it becomes much busier, understandably. I had two spa treatments and both were excellent. Quite expensive but of a high quality. Much needed pampering after our difficult year.

Some people told us that they preferred to walk to the harbor for their evening meal where there were many restaurants to choose from. It is five minutes away - very easy walk. It would normally be our choice to go out to different places in the evening too for a change of scene but in this case we were very pleased we had booked the half board option.
Clearly this is a personal choice depending on what you like and as the half board was hardly any difference in price to b&b, we decided to take a chance. This is an adult only resort so in the main, I am guessing most people have booked to come here to enjoy peace and quiet and good quality food and service. We could not fault either and never felt the need to eat outside. The Gala Dinner evening food was excellent with Cava included. The surroundings in the restaurant are beautifully presented, immaculately clean and the service is prompt and efficient, whether you prefer to eat inside or out on the veranda area. Candlelit with the sun going down, stunning setting and lighting. The house wine was very good, we didn't need to move upwards with this! I actually thought the photos of the eating areas did not do it justice. My experiences of half board (including 5 star) have been much more buffet style and food a bit samey after a few days, but this was largely waiter service (second course optional buffet - broad selection of salad and two hot items, and desert, either sorbet or ice-cream with fruit served at the table or a huge selection of cold desserts from the buffet). Everything else served at the table - hot enough and very nice. It would have been difficult or taken a very fussy eater not to like something on offer.

We did visit the harbor area a couple of times, in the afternoon and evening (after dinner) and whilst I am sure it is an excellent family resort, and good for those who are seeking a bit of lively 'night life', We found it noisy and crowded with pizza/burger style and English pub style restaurants (flat screen TVs showing the latest sports events), bouncy castle, souvenir shops (bit tacky) and entertainment arcades. I expect the drinks were cheaper in the bars at the harbor but those served at the hotel were not only brilliantly presented (the barman knows his stuff!), the environment is relaxing - lovely soft sofas and chairs, pretty, candlelit with low key but good music on Friday-Sun nights. It was not well populated at night which was a shame, as with a few more folk around, particularly with the Spanish group, the atmosphere would have been brilliant. For those who like an early night, the music goes off at a sensible hour. I would not have wanted to be staying right on top of the harbor area and trying to sleep but if you are a night owl/more social animal, you could easily start the evening at La Quinta and move into the harbor bars later.

Beaches - turn right out of hotel - closest to the harbour - smallest beach. Very crowded at this time of year. Second beach - turn left, about 10 minute walk, much larger, bit less crowded, nice cafe's, showers, shops and toilets. Beaches are busy BUT they are beautiful. Very much a family resort, mainly Spanish and English families. White sandy safe, clean beaches with turquoise sea and a lovely breeze. It is hard to leave the perfect pool area and comfy sun beds of La Quinta but it makes a nice change. We also met people who had hired cars and found other great beaches on the Island and we would do this if we are lucky enough to be able to, next time.

If you like a walk - the coastal views are wonderful and well worth the effort.

The hotel offers a daily courtesy bus to Cuitadella, the nearest large town. It leaves at 10.00 am and comes back at 2.00 pm. Book at reception. This is a really nice trip (only took about 15 mins each way). The city has quaint historical buildings, lovely churches and cathedral. A beautiful harbor with lots of nice places to eat lunch and some great shops with tasteful clothes and individual arts and crafts. Far nicer than the Cal n' Bosch harbor - you felt like you were in a different country!

Travelling home on the Thompson flight was less peaceful - lots of under 5's who seemed to be screaming at the same time. Nevertheless its a short flight and Menorca main airport is clean and nice to wait in. The transfer to Cal n' Bosch takes about an hour. Shared transfer (if booked independently is about £40 and private transfer £100). Latter would be nice if you can afford it if only to avoid the long wait while the bus fills up at the airport.

Hope this is helpful - we would highly recommend this hotel to people wanting a relaxing, good quality escape from home but with options to do other things.

Room Tip: I think all rooms in this hotel would be good and where you go depends on how you like your sun on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SnakeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are really very happy hearing that your experience has been nice.

Your opinion is very important for us. Our goal is to become your favourite hotel in Menorca.

On behalf of all our Team, thanks again.

Looking forward to welcoming you


Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed two weeks at this lovely adults-only hotel and could not have wished for a more relaxing time. Our room on the second of three east-facing floors and although not luxurious, was well appointed and spacious with plenty of storage space and a good sized balcony. The air-con was quiet and efficient and although we were quite close to the bar, the music entertainment finished at about 10.45 so was not intrusive. There was different music on four nights a week and the female singer and guitarist, Two Cats, on Tuesdays, were outstanding, drawing repeated calls for encores.

The hotel surrounds the pool on all four sides, so no outside views, and on ocassions it was quite busy but only once was it full and then the management quickly produced additional sunbeds and shades.

We found the food at both breakfast and the evening meals very good, so much so that we never bothered to eat out during our stay. With a choice of six main courses to choose from we were never struggling to find someting to tempt us, the problem was often that there were too many tasty options! Wine was reasonable but a large glass of house wine at just over three euros was exceptional value.

The only disappointment for us was the resort of Cal n Bosch which had little to offer other than a harbour surronded by bars and restaurants and a few tourist shops - this hotel really deserves to be in a better location.

Finally, we cannot praise the hotel staff enough - they were friendly and efficient while the waiting staff in the restaurant would do a Michelin star establishment credit.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool, with odd numbers having morning sun and the even numbers have it in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FiveStarSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo G, General Manager at La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guests,

On behalf of all our Team thank you very much.

Your experience at the hotel is very importante for us. Each employee is commited and trained to provide the best attention and care during your holidays, Service is our priority.

Your comments are really very important to improve the quality of all our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Yours faithfully,


Gustavo Gómez Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,361 reviews
24.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,362 reviews
6.3 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa

Address: Gran Via Son Xoriguer s/n, 07769 Ciutadella, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#1 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range: £96 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only hotel. This option is perfect for couples, friends, singles or families with children over the age of 16 to enjoy their holidays. In Minorca, only 9km from the old capital of the island, the monumental Ciutadella, our hotel is located between the beaches of Son Xoriguer (600m) and Cala’n Bosch (300m).The colonial architecture and a well-cared decoration based on traditional materials like wood, terracotta, forged iron, aged marble etc. makes of this place the most exclusive 5-star hotel in the isle of Minorca.Five star hotel of the Island, thought for those who look for peaceful vacations and easy access to the superb beaches of the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort Hotel And Spa
La Quinta Hotel Ciudadella
La Quinta Ciudadela
Ciudadela La Quinta
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing