We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Los Lentiscos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Lentiscos
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed in the apartments around the pool area which were ideal to be able to keep an eye on the kids aged 11 and 9. I agree with another reviewer who states these are not for people who enjoy the finer things in life as they are very very basic and there is a bit of a musty smell to the apartment, there was no way I was going to unpack my clothes and leave them in these wardrobes for a week! We came back one night to find we'd been invaded by ant's, they were all over the worktops and this just put me right off to be honest. You also had to assemble your own bed in the kitchen/diner and had to pay €1 per hour to use the TV. The bedding was clean and we had plenty of clean towels, however we were staying for 7 nights and they cleaned our apartment 2 days before we were leaving - don't know what that's all about!. The resort is quiet with only one beach really which a lot of people may not like as it's very small and more like a cove but if you don't have high expectations you will probably like it. Our kids really enjoyed the beach, they could swim with the little fishes!!!
Would I go back?.................not to these apartments no.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcfaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Los Lentiscos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

We are a mature couple in our 50's with grown up children (how did that happen?) and would have welcomed less children around and in the pool - although their antics and games pleasant to watch there's no volume control!
I would recommend the Los Lentiscos if you arent too fussy - its basic but clean (although the maid service was a little odd - sheets changed 2 days before we went home!!) and spacious and on the whole the clientel are pleasant - although a rowdy "domestic" one night was not the kind of people watching I had in mind!!.For the most part every one else very friendly - saying hello and chatting as one gets to know your fellow sun bed users! On the subject of sun beds - not enough Los Lentiscos and not enough parasoles for shade - I spent my time chasing the shade with my sun bed!!
Good central location no (or little) traffic noise. Beaches hard to find for some people although we found one on our first afternoon - small and rocky and not for us. Good bus service which we used to get to Cuitedella - which we both loved - old buildings, narrow streets, wide squares and loads of cafes to sit and watch the world go by. Lovely fish restaurants by the harbour. Wish we had been on holiday a week earlier as the festival of St John was on which included horse racing on what we can only describe as a dried up river bed - looked like a great day out.
The resort of Cala n forcat was a little too quiet for us - we are not into blackpool and bingo but do enjoy people watching whilst having a drink - not really any one around to watch during the day! A few more bars and resturants would have made it a better holiday. I would strongly dispute Thomas Cooks brochure of "lively" resort - on a hot afternnon it felt like the Mary Celeste!
Having said that two of the bar areas (several bars in a square) had excellent shows on during the later evening (trubute bands, dancers etc) and to my surprise I really enjoyed them, all free and pretty good quality (I've seen worse on Britains Got Talent/X Factor!!!)
We were away during Englands brief football world cup competition which was a little tedious as it was football football football - but that 's gone and done with for the next 4 years (or maybe more??) so dont worry about that.
In summary if you are on a budget Los Lentiscos is a good place to go especially if you have a young family who love playing in the pool all day but if you like the finer things in life and don't do children then its not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Absolutely trouble free stay at these apartments. Service was excellent. Cot was taken to our room upon arrival with clean bedding. Very pleasant staff, really helpful. Dealt with quickly and efficiently and our room was on the bottom floor ideal with having a toddler and right next to the pool. the view was very much appreciated by her, she was saying 'pool' and pointing outside with amazement! bless!
we never really ventured to the bar in the complex but there was always something going and the legend that is Simon was a nice guy who didnt pressure us into going to the night events etc but sounded and looked good when we got back whilst we watched from our terrace.
there were too many fine eateries and bars to go to to stay in the hotel. Haiti pizzeria was our daughters fave as she could see the little waterfall and all the parrots & butterflies dotted around to keep our 15mth old entertained.
there was loads for kids there, bouncy castles, rides etc but not too much that they are in your face. I think its ideal for kids of all ages. we loved the road train that takes you round on a 1hr trip for 5euro.
room was not the cleanest but ok, they changed bedding and towels twice while were staying for only 1 week. pool was immaculate. rooms basic but very enjoyable. just a short stroll to the main area which was excellent.

prices of alcohol and food very similar to here. avg meal about 25 euro, san miguel 3 ish euro but cocktails 6 euro and they were not proper cocktails in bar sixty one (irish bar).

loved it here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonnietigerlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Booked a weeks holiday at the apartments, then started reading over some reviews and wondered if we should have changed our accommodation but we decided to see what like when we arrived.

We were given (no 35) and found the apartment very spacious, bathroom really big and clean, stepped out on to our terrace and the pool right in front of us. Normally we like to have an top floor apartment (don't like beasties coming in) but as no lifts this would have been impossible with a 10 month old. As it turned out, most people with babies/small children were put in the ground floor ones. We were very lucky, there was an elderly couple above us and we didn't know they were there until 2 days before we left and they had been there for over a week, no high heels at 1am or loud music. We were also lucky in that the rooms on either side of us had no people in them for the whole week.

When we heard the entertainment/music the first night, being a light sleeper, I thought - late night - but as the bedroom was to the back - we never heard anything. Most nights it finished at 11pm and we sat on our terrace and watched what went on. Simon who run the entertainment was really good and was not offended if you did not join in and would always stop and speak, thumbs up to him.

The only complaints we had , was that we had to go and ask reception if we could have clean towels on the 5th day and the maid did bring them very proptly to us but no beds were changed and no cleaning was done and you had to take your rubbish bags to the bins (which are situated next to the bus stop) we had to keep our plastic bags from the supermarket to use in the household bin as they did not provide spare bags. Also beware, don't put 4 euros in the tv slot as it runs all night and runs out best put in 1euro and remember not to leave on standby

The reception staff were very nice and helpful and because our pick-up time was not until 14.45 we asked if we could keep our room on longer (vacant time is 11.00am) with having the baby this we were allowed to do and did not charge us as the room was not getting used again that day, normal cost is 5euros per hour.

The spar supermarket across the road is handy but is bit pricey but handy to pop to if you run out. Walk down the road to the statue go along to the left past the fun-fair past the "TOP SUPERMARKET" and past the Lacoste shop go round the corner and across the road to the "ASDA" this is the cheapest. The fresh bread was half the price to the spar shop it also sells cold meat and cheese which they cut while you wait even cans of juice were cheaper.

We visited the Haiti restaurant three times, the two waiters were very nice and coped well with a very busy restaurant, they even went to the shop and bought the baby a little teddy, try their lasagne. The first chinese restaurant round the corner from the Haiti was very good and again the staff were friendly, although it was baby who got all the attention!

We went into town on the bus and because the stop was beside the hotel you get picked up and dropped off there really handy. Although you can walk it, it takes about an hour, wear comfy shoes!

Did find it expensive (but not Spain's fault) to go shopping and perfume at the airport was cheaper back home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucas230609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Aparthotel was nice. Typical „British” with Bingo and Shows at night, for me this is too cheesy, but for sure many people like it, esp. for families it seemed to be good. The personal was nice, always helpful. It has a smaller area for families with small kinds/babies (also pool). At the stay we had was very heavy rainfall, very unusual for Menorca, and the water came into the apartment via the balcony. In general I would recommend it if you don’t want to spend too much time in the Hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We originally should have been staying at the Cabo Banos apartments, The apartment was lovely and the views over the sea spectacular!!!! However, we had requested a top floor apartment, as we like to lie in, and usually people above walking around in heels wake us up. Also the cleaners made such a racket, from 7am. So we asked to be moved to a high floor. They couldnt move us till 2 days later, so we asked at the "sister" hotel Los Lentiscos. They did put us up. we had no choice of room as there was only 1 top floor apt. It was smelly but apart from that the apartment was very clean. There wasnt any entertainment at the Cabo Banos, but there was at Los Lentiscos, so that was a bonus. The staff bent over backwards to help. We loved it very much, (apart from the smell, which was ok if you left the windows open permanently, other than that we had a great time and would definately go again.) Loved the area too, though quite quiet its ideal for anyone wanting a relaxed holiday

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friendsofthealikies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Our planned trip to Greece was cancelled due to the flights being cancelled, so we had to find a holiday that fitted in with the time of work that we had booked and were a bit dubious about going to a 'family' resort (we are in our 40's- no kids).

However from day one we were delighted . We had a ground floor apartment overlooking the pool. The bathroom was large, immaculate, with a bath and decent shower. The bedroom clean and comfortable, the living area/kitchen spacious. There was a large fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle,coffee maker, toaster and a two-ring cooker all of which worked very well. The living area had a big dining table and a sofabed.

The large pool was cleaned every day and there were plenty of free sunbeds and parasols. The resident poolside entertainer -Simon- was a joy. Entertainment was fairly low-key- quiz in the morning- a bit of water volleyball in the afternoon for the kids- quiz and games in the evening- but it was never loud or obtrusive and stopped at 11pm ensuring a good nights sleep for us oldies!!

The brochure did advertise a gym but this was never open (probably due to the heat!!) and the onsite supermarket was very pooly stocked- but we were there at the end of season. There is a very nice supermarket just across the road though.

The apartments are situated about 2 minutes walk, on the flat from the numerous bars and restaurants all of which were pleasant. Sa Calderetta and Daisy's were particularly good.

There are several small and beautiful beaches all within 5-10 minutes walk. Calan Forcat was superb, A small sandy cove, but a walkway has been paved around the bottom of the cliff with lots of places to sunbathe. The water here was wonderful- crystal clear, filled with fish and as flat as a pancake- fabulous for swimming and snorkelling - we could have stayed there for ever.

The no 61 bus stops right outside the apartments and a 15 min trip for E1.45 takes you to Cuitadella, where connecting buses can be taken to various resorts, The busses are clean, reguar and air-conditioned which was most welcome in 34* of heat!! Cuitadella is a nice place to look around and has a very nice sandy beach. Also worth a Trip is San Tomas beach.

The only downside - no aircon. It was 34* during our stay which made the nights a bit uncomfortable. There was a large fan in the bedroom and with a bit of careful positioning we got through it. :-0

We did hope to hire a car - however the cheapest one were E60 a day which we felt was a bit of a rip off (E49 for 3 days in Greece!), but this is the fault of the recession and not the resort.

Loved it- would definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twonicemice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Solvasa Cabo de Banos
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
Apartamentos Vista Blanes
#35 of 57 in Ciutadella
420 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Platja Gran
Hotel Platja Gran
#33 of 57 in Ciutadella
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aparthotel Club Andria
Aparthotel Club Andria
#2 of 2 in Cala Santandria
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
HYB Sea Club
HYB Sea Club
#11 of 57 in Ciutadella
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lentiscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lentiscos

Address: Urb. Los Delfines, s/n, 07760 Ciutadella, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Price Range: £21 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Lentiscos 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Los Lentiscos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lentiscos Hotel Ciudadella
Los Lentiscos Spain/Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing