We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
85
37
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
37
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking holiday converted stable block mains and desserts cala macarella common areas lovely hotel lovely town a great place to stay good size half board on arrival pool area suite mallorca beaches cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

A perfect place if you like peace and quiet. Beautifully run with perfect staff an exceptionally clean hotel Recommend the suites over the standard rooms which can be a little noisy. Our party had one of each . Delicious food in the restaurant and a perfect breakfast. We were delayed from Barcelona due to a huge thunderstorm and the staff were very helpful late at night. Many thanks for a lovely stay can’t wait to return.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank wood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morvedra N, Gerente at Rural Hotel Morvedra Nou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We hope to see you soon
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Morvedra Nou Hotel and its owner and staff are truly brilliant! This has to be one of the most enjoyable places to stay that I have ever experienced.
The hotel is a tastefully refurbished traditional finca, very welcoming, with all the comfortable facilities you could wish for in a small privately owned rural hotel. It is situated within beautiful countryside down a quiet rural road ( effectively traffic free apart from a regular local bus service) about a 10/15 minute drive from the port of Cuitadella, and from the hotel you can see over the surrounding fields right to the sea in the distance and on one side the mountains of Majorca. Cows can be heard lowing and an abundance of birds singing in the trees and bushes, with the quiet hum of bees in the flowers.
The owner and staff are a delight and are always on hand to look after and help their guests whether it be something of service in the hotel or information about the island or where to go and what to do.
The hotel is very relaxed whilst, in a rural way, quietly sophisticed with most beautiful of gardens and an inviting pool.
The food is good too. All meals are taken in the glassed in (wide floor to ceiling opening ) terrace overlooking the garden and pool with the arches surrounded by flowers. White table cloths and linen serviettes are the order of the day, as are shiny wine and water glasses, just waiting for the local menorcan or mainland Spanish wine ( all very reasonably priced), little table decorations and tip top table service. A la carte is fairly simple but delicious and the set dinners ( a choice of two starters, mains and desserts) always generous, freshly prepared and tasty.
The coast is not far away and there are many beautiful walks to be enjoyed there along, as well as the most idyllic of beaches and coves to laze on and swim from. Nearby villages and resorts all have good facilities for eating, visiting and exploring as do others a little further away for those prepared to travel over the rest of the island. Menorca is a very lovely place, as well as full of history and sunshine.
We had a wonderful time at Morvedra Nou ( 10 night stay in the suite in the man hotel building itself) and cannot thank Victoria and her team enough for making us so welcome and providing us with a very memorable special holiday. Spanish home from Cheshire home - would certainly strongly recommend if you want somewhere charming, away from the crowds, relaxing, spotlessly clean, Catalan and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank STIDonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This hotel is in a delightful rural location, even though they have been hit by the decision to prohibit car traffic to the local beach. The customers were quiet and the whole atmosphere was peaceful.

However, the standard room we booked at 124 Euro per night was unacceptable to us because there was no window and no ventilation in the bathroom (which opened onto the bedroom). The only way to get fresh air was to open the door, which meant no privacy from other guests passing by to get to their rooms. Actually our room was (one of 6) was larger than 8 others, which although they also had no window in the bedroom had a small window in the bathroom. We upgraded to what they called a new 'suite' (a larger room with a settee in it). This was very comfortable, had natural light and ventilation in the bathroom but cost us 45 Euro per night extra, which seemed exorbitant to us.

Then there's the food. Self service breakfast was acceptable if basic. Cooked food ran out at around 10 am, a popular time for guests to arrive, although it was supposed to be provided until 10.30. The most disappointing thing was the vending machine for coffee, which was weak and tasteless. The self service orange juice machine was good.

The food at dinner was terrible although the service was excellent. We had booked half board because the hotel is sufficiently remote that to drive into Ciutadella is not really viable. We understood from the owner that if we elected to miss a course from the set dinner, we would get the cost of it refunded. I did indeed elect to miss courses but no refund was made. Maybe a misunderstanding.

So, given the location, this could have been a lovely hotel but the very basic standard rooms, the exorbitant cost of an upgrade and the very poor food (despite excellent service) meant that it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We stayed a week in mid September at this hotel whilst on a walking holiday. It totally surpassed our expectations - it's beautiful setting & gardens, the spacious comfort of our room, the décor & furnishing of communal areas, the choice, quality & quantity of our half-board meals, the cleanliness & above all the personal, friendly, helpful service. It has all the personal touches of a family run establishment & all the qualities of an excellent hotel.
We loved Menorca & felt it has managed & avoided the pitfalls of mass tourism well. Ciutadella is a joy to wander around. The Cami de Cavals footpath around the island is well signed & kept & made walking a real pleasure as well as having the welcoming Hotel Morvedra Nou to return to each evening.
Would thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: As we were staying a whole week we chose to have the Junior suite in the main house first floor with its lovely balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmorvedra, Propietario at Rural Hotel Morvedra Nou, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you so much! I am really happy you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you have enoyed Menorca.
We hope to see you soon
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We booked the Morvedra Nou to use as a base for walking day trips around the Menorcan coast. The holiday was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. On arrival a bottle of sparkling wine was on chill in our room courtesy of the hotel. The hotel is located 7km from the main road and some way from Ciutadella so offers half board. For each of the 3 courses on offer at the evening meal you have to select from two choices. The dining area had a slightly hushed ambience when we were there so suitable for romantic chats or reviewing the day's walk and planning tomorrow's activities! Service was excellent with the perfect amount of time between courses. If you love walking and swimming then Menorca is a fabulous place to visit in late September early October and would recommend the guide book Walk! Menorca by David and Ros Brawn.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmorvedra, Director General at Rural Hotel Morvedra Nou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Greg, we are really happy that you could enjoy your holidays and your wedding anniversary in our hotel and in the island. It's a pleasure for us. We hope to see you again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews