We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - just a couple of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good - just a couple of issues”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Enjoyed a 1 week stay in this hotel in August. Plenty of nationalities staying here; Germans, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and Brits.

There's a lot to like about this hotel...

Liked
• Good location near the beach, harbour and supermarkets (but quiet)
• Excellent swimming pool
• Friendly staff
• Very clean
• Great choice of food (and plenty of it)
• Lots of available tables and chairs inside and outside the restaurant
• Plenty of sun loungers (they were hosed down at 8am so they didn't tend to get reserved too early)
• Entertainment finished at 11pm
• Kids can use the Spa between 11am and 1pm

Minor niggles
• The walls in our ground floor apartment were thin. You could hear neighbours showering, moving chairs around etc
• The location of your allotted apartment is crucial - some overlook the car park
• Housekeeping started very early in the morning. Apartments adjacent to ours were being cleaned (noisily) before 8am
• Our main bedroom had 2 single beds and not a double
• On the one morning I went to use the gym all the equipment was switched off and there were no towels and no staff on hand. I had to go to reception
• We tried to use the Spa (mid-morning) and the saunas and steam room had been turned off (it took 15-20mins for them to heat up again)

All in all a great break in a very good hotel

Room Tip: • On checking in get your beach towels and safety deposit box key from reception. • Gents should we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear family,


Thanks a lot for visit us. And thanks a lot for write your comments on internet.

we say sorry for your inconveniences and we will try to fix it.

About the sauna and hot areas of the spa, we must tell you that, we switch off that areas when there are nobody there according with our enviromental system. But we do not have problems to switch on them, on demand.

Best regards from Menorca.

All the staff of Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    139
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
277
226
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the Macarella Suites and had a wonderful stay in this excellent hotel which is all about service.

The trip is about 50 minutes from the airport and the hotel is situated two minutes (slow walk) from the beautiful beach and bay of Cala 'n Bosch and even closer to the lively port. The check-in was swift and we were up-graded to a duplex suite with 3 large balconies overlooking the bay, pool and rear of the hotel.

We stayed on a half board basis and I have to say that the food was excellent each and every night. Be prepared to put on a few pounds as there is plenty of choice, it's great quality and hot! Each night there is meat and seafood cooked to order by the superb and very friendly chefs and Louisa and her team deserve a special mention for their impeccable service as nothing was too much trouble. Our daughter has a nut allergy and each night we were shown which dishes she could eat and which should be avoided.........thank you!

The pool is extremely child friendly and large and there were always beds available at almost any time of the day. The food from the pool bar is excellent and the staff are always attentive and we found this the best place to spend the night after the evening meal.

We spent most days on the beach which does get crowded if you want to be 10 yards from the water! Please do not be put off as there is plenty of space down the sides if you do not want to pay €9 for each sunned. The water is warm and clear and again ideal for children as it slopes gradually out to sea. A nice touch from the hotel is the loan of a parasol for free for the week for the really hot parts of the day......just ask at reception.

On the one poor day of weather we visited Ciutadella on the bus and I'm glad that we did. Market day is Friday and Saturday and there are lots of shops and bars along with a small marina it is well worth a visit.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel from the maids to the management for making our first trip to Menorca so enjoyable! We would certainly recommend this holiday with Thomson to anyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Family,

Thanks a lot for visit us, and thanks a lot for your comments on tripadvisor's internet site.

We appreciate so much that you take part of your time to share your own experience with the other travelers.

Many thanks from Menorca and we hope to see you soon here again.

Best regards

All the staff of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our first time to Menorca booked with Thomson and so glad I booked this hotel travelled as a family 2 adults & 2 children ages 12 & 9. We had a lovely time the staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Although at busy times I would recommend more than one person on reception, as I waited twice for a while as the person on reception was explaining to a family where to visit on the island so had to wait a while. Pool is amazing very big always had space to swim even though hotel was full. Love the fact you don't need to reserve sunbeds although some shameful people felt the need to place their towels on the beds before breakfast. I also witnessed 4 towels not even been sat on the whole day sad ! Also really like that they give you pool towels of which you can exchange for clean ones 3 times a week.
Loved the indoor spa area used the facilities every day a haven.
Now the food AMAZING !!! Do not agree with other reviewers saying was cold etc we never experienced any of this. Meats & fresh fish cooked in front of you with top quality food, salads, pasta, rice, potatoes, desserts etc. You will gain weight the breakfast was also lovely too. The Maitre D Lucia was lovely, along with the waiters, waitresses and chefs they all work so hard.
The rooms are of good size & bathrooms have 2 showers ! I also really liked the fact they had fresh flowers in reception gave the hotel a real luxury feel.
The only thing I just did not agree with the need of people swimming & causing a great deal of noise late at night, we've never been to a hotel where swimming is allowed late at night so found this very bizarre.
The hotel is in a fantastic position with 2 excellent beaches within walking distance, we only visited twice as they have lots of jellyfish in Menorca.
We hired a car for 1 day my husband hired on the same day and Monika arranged with the local car hire company very swiftly excellent service. Loved the island & loved this hotel Well Done Xxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CupcakeDelightsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Family,

Thanks a lot for booking our hotel to spend your holidays in Menorca. Thanks as well for write that review on internet and share your own experience with the other travelers.

We say thanks as well for your positive comments about our kitchen and staff. And as well the location.

About your inconvenience with the noise on night we apologize and is forbidden use the pool on night but we are working for let not swim on night again.

We hope to see you again on our hotel.

Best regards from Menorca.

All staff of Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrassa, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We just returned from Menorca where my family and me we've spend a week in this hotel. The situation can't be better. The beach is just three minutes walking from the hotel and it's in my oppinon one of the best in menorca. The swiming pool is very confortable and perfect for toddlers and kids because its like a beach in one of its sides. The food is correct, but not excellent. And the weakness of this hotel is the internet connection wifi. It is a paid service 15€ per week but the wifi coverage is very poor and also the speed is almost zero. It takes ages to load your news page or facebook, and youtube just doesn't work at all. Apart from that point, i would recommend this hotel but I wouldn't stay there for a second time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Capsulecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Family,

Thanks a lot for visiting us and for write your personal experience here on that internet site,


Thanks a lot for your compliments and we apologize for your inconveniences with the wifi, we are working on it.

Best regards from Menorca.

Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Help needed - today (13/08/14) I've lost a little pouch with two diamond rings in somewhere near grupotel Macarella, the marina and the shops. Possibly fell out my bag when shopping. Reward for their safe return, any info would be much appreciated. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have recently returned from the Macarella and had a wonderful holiday. Travelled as a family with 2 kiddies aged 5 and 7 and the grandparents joined us for part of our hol too. To be honest it is hard to find fault with this hotel (having been to Menorca 6 times and stayed at other hotels). The location is perfect, a few mins to the marina. The food was fab and I have to disagree with other reviewers who have said the food was cold - we never found this and the Gala night was lovely. Our children loved the fresh fruit juice, churros and many other delights! The lack of entertainment actually suited us and we have stayed at other hotels that were too over the top! One of the main plus points of this hotel is that we NEVER had any trouble finding sun loungers by the pool - this really takes part of the headache out of the holiday. The hotel is immaculately clean and had so many beautiful flowers around. The staff are all amazing and also our Rep Sarah. Thank you Macarella for such a great time - we will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 126 - ground floor overlooking the pool. Fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LallySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear family,

Thanks a lot for your visit. We appreciate so much your comments on internet, that helps us very much.

We are pleased of work for you and make your holidays as good as you waited.

We are hope to see you again next year.

All the staff of Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelled to this hotel with my husband and our two children (5 and 16 months) Our first visit to Menorca and we really could not fault either the place, or the hotel. Our room on the first floor was large and overlooked the pool, as I had requested. Although we didn't really eat meals in the room it was lovely to have a decent sized fridge for drinks and snacks. We also really appreciated the proper mattress in the travel cot and the free loan of beach towels. The staff in the hotel, from the reception staff to our lovely maid Mimi were excellent, friendly and attentive to the children. The food at breakfast and dinner was good and plentiful with lots of choice, and contrary to some other reviews I have read we never found it to be cold. We ate lunch at the pool bar every day and found this to be very good value. The pool was clean and there was never any problem getting sunbeds, even at this peak holiday time. All-singing, all-dancing entertainment isn't really to our taste so the laid back style of this hotel with its more subtle entertainment suited us down to the ground.

We loved it so much, we're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEFCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for visiting us and we are hoping to see you next year. Thanks a lot for take your time to write a review on internet, and share with the other travelers your own experience.

We have taken note of your comments about the entertaiment and we are working to improve it.

Best regards from Menorca.

All the staff of Grupotel Macarella Suites and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 57 in Ciutadella
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa

Property: Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Address: Gran Via Son Xoriguer, s/n | Urb Son Xoriguer, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the Cala en Bosch beach. Apartments: One twin bedroom. Living room with two couches. Kitchenette. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace or balcony. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool with children´s splash pool. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows and live music. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge and Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Macarella Suites And Spas
Grupotel Macarella Hotel Ciudadella
Hotel Grupotel Macarella
Macarella
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing