We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing holiday for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Playa Club
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing holiday for families”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the Grupotel Playa Club. It is a lovely hotel with low rise block set around a good sized pool. There is a kids pool but the main pool also has the all-important gradual slope in for the toddlers. You can sit on a sunbed right in front of this bit and literally be two steps from them playing in the water.

We had a 2 bed apartment - a rarity to find in an aparthotel it seemed during our search. We felt this was essential to us as we have a toddler and a baby who we did not want to share with, and who we did not want to put in together! Toddler had his own room and baby was in a cot in the main bathroom, while we had our own room with an en-suite - perfect! Furnishings were fine - decent bathrooms and fairly basic living area furniture but perfectly fine.

Kitchenette which we also felt was essential with a baby on 5 bottles per day - full sized fridge and two ring hob, basic equipment provided. NOTE - NO MICROWAVE OR KETTLE! This would have been a nightmare for preparing baby feeds so we asked reception for a kettle which they gave us, but it did to them to be an unusual request. So you could not guarantee getting one. I would recommend you take a travel kettle just in case.

Other niggles included pretty ineffective air con (would not fancy this hotel in high summer for that reason), and being given a room up a grass bank when we had a buggy and this was the only way up (other than steps). You can live with this though.

Food was good enough for us not to want to cry after 11 nights of it, probably an 8/10 on the Spanish buffet scale.

Another note - the 'kids club' mentioned on the website consists of one slightly supervised drawing session per day (in German mainly as these are the majority of guests, but the lady can speak some English). This is not a kids club where you can drop your kids and come back later. There is also a mini-disco each night led by the same lady, but we found this too late for our 3 year old at 8.15pm.

Hotel location - great for the beach being only a 5 min walk along a sandy track. Being right next to a nature reserve made the hotel setting feel lovely, as if you are in the countryside. The beach is small but lovely, fairly undeveloped with lots of sand and great waves when its breezy. Supermarkets behind the beach fine but expensive as they always seem to be.

You can walk for about 15 mins down to the Cala N Bosch marina - where you will find a lot more English people if you need them! We found the downside of being in a hotel full of Germans was only that our son couldn't really make friends with the other kids. Apart from that it was a relief not to have to listen to other English people all week. Also there was no sunbed reserving allowed before 9am but no-one really seemed to live up to this stereotype anyway.

Cala N Bosch is a modern resort with nothing much to recommend it but it's fine for an evening out. All families and older people staying here. We wanted to go on a day trip to Cuitadella but found the weather was too hot to bother. The photos of it do look lovely though.

This was definitely a holiday for a family with young kids (who don't really need a kids club). I would not recommend it for couples - too many kids around! It was the first holiday we have been on with the kids where we felt we would definitely go back as it had all the elements we need. Only downside was long (1 hour) transfer, and that was a private one without any other drop-offs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    27
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bollington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at Playa Club. The hotel itself is excellent - we booked an apartment with a separate bedroom, which gave us lots of space even though there was just two of us. We requested a ' quiet ' room and to be fair they did allocate us the best one that suited our requirements. The view from our large balcony was really gorgeous and sometimes it was really peaceful - unfortunately not for long! The swimming pool was a very good size and there were always plenty of sunbeds around even though it was very busy. The gardens were beautiful and well kept. We stayed half board and the food was fairly good - we could always find something we liked. The small resort is just right for a very relaxing break and the nearest beach, shops and bars etc. are about 2 mins. down the road. And if you walk approx. the same distance in the other direction there's a bus stop with a very frequent service to other resorts and also to Ciudadella where you can then travel to all parts of the island. Sadly, having said all that - it is very unlikely that we would stay at the Playa Club again because it was totally geared towards families. There was very little for adults in the evening, it was impossible to enjoy a relaxed meal in the restaurant or a quiet drink at night in the lounge bar.The only " entertainment " was for the kids and this went on until about 10pm - after that they ran all round the lounge and reception area until their parents decided it was bedtime! The upside was that we did manage to get a good nights sleep - that was the only time we got total peace and quiet. We are a couple in our 50's and have 3 young grand-children so are not anti kids - but due to the parents allowing their children to completely run riot morning, noon & night, it completely spoiled our enjoyment of what was a really lovely place. We would definitely return to this resort in the future but will choose another hotel which caters more for us oldies!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed there after being oversold on an easyjet booked hotel, we got really lucky.
The room was lovely and clean, staff were the best and it had a really nice calm family atmosphere, perfect for couples. The pool is outstandingly clean and your a 3 minute walk to the beach (the best beach we went to in menorca). The area has lovely little supermarkets, id recommend Julias, ask any staff member and they'll guide you. You can hire bikes to fit 4 people or normal mountain bikes for about 9EUROS for the whole day.

The only let-down really was breakfast, as we were vegies it wasnt the best to be honest but there was plenty of fruits, breads and cheeses.

I'd recommend going early July before holiday season and if your a little adventurous take the mountain bikes to the town of Cuitedella for some shopping, about a 30minute ride on lovely smooth roads. If not then definately go for the local bus service, costs 1.80Euros for a single journey to anywhere, the bus stop is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m2010d4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Just in case I didn't make it clear in the title this is a lovely place in a lovely resort!

We choose Cala N Bosch because of it’s young family friendliness, port, restaurants and beach, initially we booked to stay at the Paradise Club Aparthotel, but after the bombshell on arrival that our booking was never confirmed we were successfully booked in the Playa Club instead (thanks Alpharooms for saving out holiday) and weren’t we glad we ended up here!

From the moment we walked in we knew it was a ‘classy joint’ a little further out of turn, it is classes as Son Xoriguer as opposed to Cala N Bosch but it was still close enough to the harbour (15 – 20 min stroll depending on your pace) we enjoyed the walk very much, there was a lovely park on the way for our 3 year old to enjoy while we took a break from the heat.

The hotel itself is predominantly German, Dutch and Spanish, throughout our week stay we were the only British family, this may put some off, but honestly it suited us fine, we want to avoid anything relating to home so being surrounded by people we couldn’t understand was very refreshing and we didn’t feel compelled to join in. Having said that they all spoke English really well and were very friendly, made us feel very uneducated not being able to respond to them in their native tongue.

The other advantage of not having any other English residents was the lack of unruly English children which we’ve experienced previously. The German children behaved impeccably at all times, was lovely to see.

The accommodation was very nice, well worth the 4 stars, the rooms were fresh and considering we were in our room about 2 hours after it was booked it was fully kitted out, with extra bedding already in place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, the twin room was very nice, however our son soon decided he was sleeping on one of the twin beds, which meant me and my partner alternated on the pull out bed in the living area, was still comfortable though. It was cleaned daily with a day off on Sunday, smelt fresh and airy throughout our stay.

Had a lovely balcony the width of the living area and bedroom so didn’t feel cramped at all. We were quite centrally located, attached the main building of the hotel, but it was never noisy, we could hear the evening entertainment from our balcony but it didn’t over power us.

If you are travelling with young kids be warned the entertainment is in Spanish, our little boy doesn’t tend to partake in such activities so it wasn’t an issue and the entertainment team spoke such brilliant English if he wanted to join in he would’ve been on.

The pool was fantastic; the main pool was like a beach, a walk in shallow end that stayed knee high for a good few metres, great for our little boy just starting his swimming career. The kids pool was the same depth all round, about chest height on my son, perfect for him to play. There were hundreds of buckets, spades, fishing nets etc available free of charge for the children to use, a nice touch I thought, saves everyone buying things to play with in the water. We did purchase some buckets and spades to take the beach; before we left we donated them to the kids club for use in the pool.

The food, due to the hotel mainly being aimed at Germans and Spainards was a little limited, lots of cold meats etc and guerkins at breakfast! But the guy (don’t know his name) who worked on the hot plate was fantastic, he made the most delicious omelettes at breakfast and had special dishes on at night. My son always found something he liked too, which is sometimes challenging with youngsters.
We were half board, so had breakfast and dinner and self catered for lunch in the much appreciated kitchen in our room.

We eat out one night in the harbour at the Aquarium restaurant, the standard of food was very high and a meal for 3 with drinks and deserts was around 70 euro’s, I didn’t think this was too high considering the quality. We enjoyed a Paella with Lobster which was very tasty!!

The beach (the large on Son Xoriguer – we didn’t visit the smaller one at Cala N Bosch) was beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the beach and being les than a 5 minute walk from the hotel was an added bonus. It was clean; the water was warm, clear and shallow for a good distance, also lots of rocks to look for creatures and shells.

The harbour was very nice for a stroll, always busy but never over crowded, the Goody Goody park for children was good, you could pay to stay all day for 12 euro’s for children to use all the activities, or pay for them individual, We just made use of the soft play area at 3.50 euro’s a turn this was cheaper than our local one here! The pool was free but the slides were extra, still though I did think it was good value and a break from the pool or the beach for little ones.

We went on a boat trip (Don Poncho) advertised as a glass bottom boat but in reality think it was just a tube to look through, I was a bit green around the gills so certainly wasn’t going to get up and investigate. The first 1.5 hours was a coastal ‘tour’ with the boat pulling into different coves etc for photo opportunity. Then you head back and stop off for 1.5 hours at a ‘secluded’ beach (which wasn’t secluded but was lovely all the same). Was a nice day out, think it was 17 euro’s each for adults and children was 10 from 3-12 but she didn’t charge us for our son, which was nice!

Only criticism is the transfer time from the airport, we had a shared coach transfer and it took around 1.5 hours as we diverted to resorts all over the Island, I suspect if you paid for a private taxi from the airport, approx 50 euro’s it would easily half the journey time, think we will do this next time.

Didn’t hire a car, but if we return may do this as there appear to be so many other places to explore.

Would def recommend this hotel and resort, in fact already talked my two best friends and their partners and children in all going away together here next year, good going seeing as we only landed on Monday night!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Angelschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous family holiday with friends. Booked this hotel as our friends were travelling from Switzerland and had stayed here before. Also we were able to book a 2 bedroom apartment, most UK companies seem to think that we can shoehorn our family of 5 into a 1 bedroom! The location is good, right on the Beach, about 15 mins walk (30 mins with little legs!) from Calan Bosc marina, and a 20 min bus ride to Ciutudella. The hotel is almost exclusively used by German and Dutch tour operators, we were the only English families staying there. We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful, all spoke enough English for us to communicate effectively. Our children (8, 3 and 14months) loved mini club and the mini disco (although this is more suited to the very young children), they loved Ingrid and Michael the Entertainment Crew! Michael even managed to rally my husband into water polo a few times - this is no mean feat! The other guests were all extremely friendly and put us to shame with their excellent English! My only reservation would be if you are travelling as a family by yourselves and your children like to make friends with others then it could be difficult unless they speak German! I wold definately use this hotel or another Grupotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HantsFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

An excellent 4* hotel. Rooms were clean and airy with great air conditioning. Pool area was nice, with ample sunbeds. Indoor pool was fantastic too. Buffet breakfast and dinners both had a good selection. Reception was very helpful - Simone in particular. Very few English speaking people though!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmck33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Cosmos contacted our travel agent just 4 days before we were due to go to Menorca. Our hotel had been overbooked. It was one that we had stayed at previously but we were assured that the hotel where we had been moved to was an upgrade. No deception there; this hotel is fantastic.

We quickly discovered however, that it caters for German holidaymakers. The meals were mostly smoked cheeses and cold meats. All food was labelled in German making it very difficult to know what was on your plate until you tasted it. Anyone with a food allergy would have a real problem with this. Making ourselves understood was difficult; the guests spoke German and the staff spoke German and Spanish, some did speak English and all the staff made us welcome (as best they could).

The upgrade was not in a central position as our chosen hotel had been which meant either a 20 min walk to and from the nightlife or an expensive taxi ride each time. The pavements were uneven and the street lighting did not work. High heeled shoes were a no no.

The entertainment listings were posted in German. We could not work out where these were being held and when we did found we could not take part because of the language barrier. Playing Bingo with a German caller was impossible. The Salsa lessons were out for the same reason. Ironically the Mini Disco for the kiddies were all English!

This was an all inclusive holiday where the food was not Spanish or English (not what we expected anyway) and we could not take part in the entertainment so could this be classed as an all inclusive holiday? Draw your own conclusion on that one.

Our real complaint is with Cosmos. Their rep did not turn up for our welcome meeting (herdly worth crossing the road on a Friday evening when you can be out partying instead, Sarah). She was based in the hotel across the road and when we finally got hold of her explained our disappointment. She came up with a suggestion - "Come and see the entertainment across the road" she said. Would we get free drinks, we asked. No chance - bang went our "all inclusive" perks. Sarah was "all elusive". We found a way of getting hold of her though - tell the hotel staff you want to book an excursion and she would suddenly appear from behind some desk, pillar or other large object.

We have only ever booked one holiday through Cosmos and that was one holiday too many.

  • Liked — Large airy apartment
  • Disliked — Too far away from the centre of the resort
  • Tips/Secrets — Learn German or Spanish before travelling
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Blossom230350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Princesa Playa
0.5 mi away
Grupotel Aldea Cala'n Bosch
Grupotel Aldea Cala'n Bosch
#10 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zafiro
Zafiro
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Club

Property: Grupotel Playa Club
Address: Calle de Sa Platja s/n | Urb Son Xoriguer, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#8 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Club 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 m from the wonderful Son Xoriguer beach. Apartments: Double bedroom. Living room. Kitchen. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children´s pool. Swimming lessons. Heated indoor swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Sauna. Turkish bath. Massages. Gym. Jogging area. Table tennis. Billiard. Children´s playground. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Pool & Lounge bar with snack service. Special Service: Babysitting service. Buggies and intercoms rental. Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Playa Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Club Hotel Ciudadella
Grupotel Playa Hotel
Grupotel Playa Club Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing