We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Ponent Apartments
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
gulliver travels 30
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great apartments”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just come back from spending 2 weeks here .These are great self catering apartments not sure why they are rated 2 star .They are nice and big, towels changed nearly every day with fresh tea towels , kitchen roll, washing up liquid .We didn't eat here so can't comment on food the menu we looked at was very british with lots of fried eggs , we like to eat local food .The hotel had mixed nationalities . pool was very quiet we prefer the two beaches near by. Cala blanca is a figure of eight shape , go right out the hotel round to cala blanc beach and left to the other beach, the shops are in the middle with the restaurants . and a fantastic viewing point to watch the sun go down a must see.
To your left is the bus stop number 64 will take you to cuitadella about 15 mins cost 1.65 each under 4 s free every hour at half past the hour.
We hired a car for three days cost 70 euros from near the Chinese takeaway loads there.
We went to the two lagoon beaches near by fantastic but be prepared to walk about 25 mins from the car park down hill, the road to them are very narrow only allowing one car a time so it was slow going, we visited the whole island and also the lovely Torre view point is fantastic with a cheap café there.
Cala blanca is quiet not much but beaches and a few restaurants shops and a park, julies supermarket in the middle we found the cheapest with cooked chickens, we went the supermarket out of town lidl for a weeks shop of water bread and bits a lot cheaper there!
We had two young children with us so easy to entertain with pools and beach, we also paid a visit to the aqua centre at a cost of 50 euros for 3 of us , my son was free being under three, my husband and kids enjoyed it but theres not much there, staff fantastic all very helpful its in cala blanes get a bus from ciutadella I think it was 61.
Food cost . cafes near beaches about 1.50 euros for a coffee and ice cream lolly 1.20. Supermarkets . water 8 litres was 1.68 a must the water tasted very salty when we had a brew , bread about 1.40 for there white loaf, margarine about 1.20 , milk about 1.70 crisps fr0m 1.70 up bacon was fine from 2.20 and eggs from 1 euro for 6.
Eating out cost us about 40 euros with drinks you can eat in cala blanca restaurant near julies for 10 euros each three course meal with wine so very good, we thought this was a expensive island but it was ok.
Overall I would go back to this hotel staff great and the maid monica needs a medal shes lovely welcoming and does a fantasic job the hotel is spotless with great views and peace all around.
We got transfers with resort hoppa 50 pound return for three and they were good was about 1 hour transfer hope this helps..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank yorkieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    42
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were SO pleasantly surprised with this apartment! It's right on the rugged coastline, near numerous little coves, and it's totally value for money. The apartment is spacious, very pretty, clean and with easy access to the sea and swimming pool. Our apartment even had a large terrace (perfect for having breakfast overlooking the sea and pool!). Staff were nice enough and surroundings are quiet and pretty and lots of parking options. Easy car ride to nearby towns and Ciutadella. Enjoyed my stay do much I want to come back ASAP!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Recently stayed here in sept 13. First impressions on opening the door to our room - wow!!! Had the most amazing view just to die for, the apartment was amazing and was on 2 floors which was totally unexpected. The downstairs was a very spacious living/kitchen area with a good sized balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Upstairs was a very good sized bathroom and bedroom with wait for it another beautiful balcony. Felt very safe to leave the balcony doors open to listen to the sea at night. Kitchen well equipped and clean. Only downside was the lack of anything to do in the evening, fantastic bars about 10 mins walk away but quite quiet area aswell with lack of good entertainment. Spent a few days by the pool which was lovely but for some reason nobody else spent time there. Soon found out why when we discovered the most amazing little beach/cove, so make sure you go looking as it's a gem once you have found it with excellent restaurants on each side of the beach. Would 100% recommend the hotel but for me personally I would choose somewhere with a little more to do next time

Room Tip: Def request sea pool view, if you get one you also get the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrexham77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I spent one week here in August with my husband and baby and found our apartment very comfortable. Although the furniture is old-fashioned, the rooms are very spacious and the bathroom completely new. The kitchen could look better but is fully equipped. The balcony was large and the sea view definitely worth the extra money!The apartments are cleaned 6 days a week and towels regulary changed. The swimming pool is lovey, but a bit in the shadow in the afternoon. Tony and the other staff are all very friendly, and we enjoyed the food they serve at the bar at breakfast and lunch. From the block you can easily drive both to the main beaches (Macarella, Cala en Turqueta etc) and the beautiful city of Ciutadella. I advise you to go shopping in Marcadona, in Ciutadela's industrial area, as it is near and great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this lovely little apartment block.
Positives
Spacious well equipped apartments- request a sea view
Comfy beds and pillows
Full sizes fridge & oven
Microwave toaster kettle pots etc
Fresh towels on request
Good sized clean well maintained pool
Plenty of sun beds - no towels ever !!!
5 mins to centre commercial (approx 10/12 bars serving
food)laurel & hardys serves fantastic good quality food -see review
5 mins to santandria beach which is beautiful
Tony very friendly and helpful
Supermarket next door
Quiet & peaceful
Negatives
No air con
Bathroom like an oven
Cleaner didn't clean or empty bins at all in a week - in fact she told us to take our rubbish to a communal bin on the street!
Food only available at certain times
Bar shuts whenever - usually around 10pm
No facilities for when you are waiting to go home - we actually had to leave our luggage in a cleaners cupboard and had to shower in a cupboard which had linen and buckets in it
Pool area very noisy with Spanish families all day
Very isolated and quiet - no good for teenagers or all girls / lads
Quite expensive for what it is

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driebergen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here at the end of April and beginning of May. A lot of other places were still closed, but we found this aparthotel and were happy with it. Spaceous appartment, clean, sea view, friendly staff and not expensive at all.
There's a little bar at the ground floor, where you can have breakfast is you like. They also serve simple meals. It is on walking distance to the centre of Cala Blanca.
Definately a good option if you seek a nice and affordable place!

Room Tip: ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulvanB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We are currently staying here and cannot fault it. Toni and his family are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Clean, bright apartments and a lovely pool area. We are half board and although our menu choice is limited (we are veggie) we have always had adequate meals. We have a room with a sea view which is wonderful. This is a lovely resort with more than enough bars, restaurants and shops. We would recommend this area and the Sol Ponent apartments.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minky1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
1.4 mi away
Apartotel Skyline Menorca
Apartotel Skyline Menorca
#11 of 56 in Ciutadella
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cala Blanca Villas
#5 of 6 in Cala Blanca
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santandria Playa Hotel
Santandria Playa Hotel
#7 of 56 in Ciutadella
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maribel Apartamentos
Maribel Apartamentos
#20 of 56 in Ciutadella
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
#6 of 56 in Ciutadella
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Blancala
Apartamentos Blancala
#1 of 8 in Cala Blanca
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ponent Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ponent Apartments

Property: Sol Ponent Apartments
Address: Avinguda Cala Blanca, A-4 | Cala Blanca, 7760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Ponent Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: The apartment complex is situated on the front line of the sea, at only 20 metres away from the famous Clot de Sa Cera, well known cliffs that are enjoyed by many swimmers and divers. The complex is located in the tranquil and family oriented urbanization of Cala Blanca, at only 4kms from the centre of Ciutadella. THE APARTMENTS: Sol Ponent is a tranquil and family oriented hotel complex made up of 19 apartments, a swimming pool on the front line of the sea with a children's section and a welcoming snack-bar. All the apartments have a twin-bedded room, a living/dining room with a sofa-bed, a fully equipped kitchenette (electric cooker, small fridge with a freezer compartment, microwave, toaster, kettle and basic kitchen utensils), full bathroom, private terrace, ceiling fan in the bedroom, TV and safe (for a fee). There are two types of apartment (with different prices): -1 Bedroom apartments (with terrace): no sea views. - 1 Bedroom apartments with sea views. Bear this in mind when making your reservation. SERVICES: Prices include towel change at 4 days (within the week) and linen and towel change plus cleaning of the apartment at 7 days (weekly). ACTIVITIES: The apartments are ideal for couples as well as for families with children. They are also recommended for scuba diving enthusiasts because of their proximity to Clot de Sa Cera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Ponent Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Ponent Hotel Ciudadella
Sol Ponent Ciudadela
Sol Ponent Apartments Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing