We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back one day!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de la Gomera
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Will be back one day!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited this hotel in November 2014 before staying on Tenerife for 1 week. This place is fantastic, with great facilities, and staff. The pool area is beautiful with some fantastic views over the marina and over to Tenerife. The rooms are beautifully decorated and most have a sea view. The town of San Sebastián is about. 15 walk down hill from the hotel and is lovely for a walk round and to have some food and drink in some of the local bars. We only stayed for 2 nights, which was not long enough. This is the perfect place get away from it all and chill out....I will be back to visit and explore La Gomera further one day :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel_bug01986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador_Gomera, Director General at Parador de la Gomera, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por dejar sus comentarios por la experiencia vivida en nuestro Parador. Agradecemos sus comentarios sobre nuestro mobiliario, instalaciones y, por supuesto, nuestro personal. Esperamos una nueva visita a nuestro Parador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    184
    66
    16
    8
See reviews for
78
385
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Crossed over on the Fred Olsen Ferry to La Gomera for a one night visit and stayed at the Parador and were not disappointed. Very comfortable rooms great beds, bathroom etc with french doors out onto the garden and amazing views of the coast below. Had a really good dinner with afternoon tea by the pool. We were fortunate to have had a guide recommended to us by the Hotel, Ricardo Tome, who could not have shown us more of this fascinating and beautiful island in one day. We were also able to meet with Luis Morales who showed us how the whistled language is done and this is indigenous to this island and has been documented since Roman times. It is amazing how it carries around the mountainous region and shows very well how the people communicated in times past. We also stopped for lunch on our travels at a little restaurant in El Cercado called Victoria and again Ricardo helped us to order the best of the local food which was great. A beautiful place to visit but I think we had the best with our great guide, thank you Ricardo.

Room Tip: Rooms opening onto the garden are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador_Gomera, Director de Recepción at Parador de la Gomera, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your visit to our Parador and its location as well as the tranquility and views that can be enjoyed from the gardens and pool area. We are happy that the external services offered by this Parador have been of your total satisfaction. We hope to see you again on future visits to our island and, of course, to our Parador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a find, we were looking for a winter break where we could do some walking and I just Googled 'best walking in the Canaries' and everything came back 'La Gomera'.
They weren't wrong, if you want, late night life, McDonalds, beaches and resort complexes forget La Gomera, BUT if you want the most relaxing environment with superb unspoilt views and walks to die for then La Gomera is the place.
We booked with Prestige Holidays as it was one of the few UK companies that offer the Parador as part of a package and we would highly recommend them, both for their UK based service and also for their reps in the Canaries.
The Parador is a real gem, based in an old convent above the main town of San Sebastian, it is so tastefully decorated with old paintings and drawings on the walls. The entire atmosphere is relaxed and sophisticated BUT not stuffy, the staff are very friendly (with varying amounts of english). We booked B&B and what a superb breakfast, but as someone has commented in the past, the hot food wasn't that hot, but it was still very tasty.
Our room was one of the superior rooms in the newer extension at the back of the hotel, with a balcony overlooking the bay below and the port area,(really interesting watching the comings and goings in the port while savouring a glass of the local wine !!)
We are well into our 50's, but still very active, so the walk back up the hill to the Parador from the main town was no problem for us - (we got it to less than 10 minutes in the end !!), but if you are not quite as active as us, you may need to think about a taxi.
All in all this was probably one of our best holidays ever. La Gomera is 'a place that time forgot' and the Parador just adds to this wonderful laid back atmosphere - no wonder the Germans love it!!
The town of San Sebastian offers some wonderful family run eating places which we will review separately.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room, it is well worth the extra and you get a wonderful balcony with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davekimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Spent a couple of nights here at the end of a hiking trip on La Gomera at the end of March. We arrived soggy and exhausted after 15 kms of ankle-risking descent on the wet rocky paths of GR131. Despite our bedraggled state we were treated with as much respect as more elegantly dressed guests and were delighted that we had upgraded to a garden terrace room. The whole place exudes a calm understated and sedate elegance without being stuffy or too posh.
There are a multitude of delightful places to sit both inside and outside in the gardens which I adored, and you never felt that you had to compete for space, although admittedly, mixed weather meant that there was little pressure on the lovely pool area.
We stayed half board, and although the restaurant didn't offer any specifically veggie meals, they adapted what was on the menu without problem. The breakfast buffet made it hard to practice restraint, the fresh fruit was especially appreciated by myself, and the ham variations by my partner.
The parador occupies a prime cliff top location, making the walk back from town a bit of a slog uphill, but the views are so good, that it would not be much of a loss if you didn't spend much time in the town if on a short stay. The town itself, like much of the island is a mix of dereliction and delight, related to the mixed fortunes and fragile economy of the island. This is my first stay in a parador, and I wonder if they are all this lovely?

Room Tip: I'd choose a sea facing room again if going for a special occasion. Either garden level or balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotty12B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A wonderful to place to recharge batteries! Lovely 'superior' room, complete with sea view, balcony, and sparrows' nest which was charming. There are innumerable places to chill out with a book or just stare into space, both indoors and out. The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble and they coped with our lack of Spanish with a smile. One important word: 'habitacione' means 'room number'!. We were surprised how many German holiday makers were in the hotel, in fact for most of the stay we were in the minority to German and Spanish speakers. Menus in the restaurant and other notices are available in all three languages. We ate in the restaurant in the evenings. The food was good but expensive so most evenings we only had the main course (which was more than enough to satisfy us after the bread and amuse bouche that were placed on the table as we sat down). I would personally have liked the ability to make a hot drink in my room, but these were available to order from the Bar and, as we became 'regulars' were served on the patio on a cloth covered tray with a plate of cakes at no extra charge!!! Overall, a beautifully tranquil place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slugsandsnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed five nights mid march , beautiful gardens with great views over to Tenerife and Mount Teide , we had a standard room which was ok , sound proofing poor as mentioned previously , nice public areas and restaurant with seating in inside courtyards , breakfast was ok as was the evening meal , fairly typical of parador meals . Room had a nice balcony overlooking gardens ,. If arriving by car navigation tricky as our tom tom was incorrect as it seems some streets have been changed to one way only , you can ask one of the local hire car firms to deliver and collect a car to the hotel at no extra charge . A car would be a good idea for seeing around the island , we vistied garonjay and walked to the high point alto garonjay which is well marked from the visitor centre at la Laguna , warm clothing advisable a lot cooler here compared to the coast , a temperature drop for us from 24c to 6c . There is a good selection of restaurants in San Sebastián , only around 5 to 10 minute walk downhill from the parador but we took a taxi back up from the stance adjacent to the main square , around five euros . The staff in the parador were very friendly and helpful and it really is a lovely building .

Room Tip: A balcony or outside patio , if possible a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
168 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for eight nights to enjoy the warm weather and to walk. The Parador's location on the cliff edge above San Sebastian is the perfect setting and our comfortable room with balcony had extensive views of the port and out to sea. Do bring a hairdryer if you need one as the one in our en-suite was somewhat old and short of breath. The thickness/thinness of the walls between the bed rooms did enable us at times to catch up on the BBC news playing next door. Housekeeping staff were really good and the gardens and pool were very well maintained. Now for the restaurant - thankfully we had only booked bed and breakfast. At dinner the hot soup and hot main dish were served on cold plates and so arrived at the table barely warm. The red wine was served at the right temperature though! At the buffet breakfast there were no plates warming for the pre prepared 'hot' dishes - so again the 'hot' items arrived at table tepid. Breakfast was pretty predictable every morning and lacked imagination. Wait staff in the restaurant and bar/café area appeared to be 'thin on the ground' and working hard. Wait staff visits to the table to check that all was well or whether more coffee was required at breakfast were non existent. There is free Wi-Fi in the reception and neighbouring courtyard area but not in the rooms. There are a couple of supermarkets on the road at the entrance to the Parador. The walk down into San Sebastian took us exactly 6 minutes with the return uphill 15 minutes. There were plenty of restaurants in San Sebastian serving delicious 'hot' food with attentive wait staff and as a bonus we got to see the colour and spectacle of the town's celebration of Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sebastian de la Gomera
6.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,526 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
200 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
143 reviews
8.5 mi away
Las Casas del Chorro
Las Casas del Chorro
#1 of 4 in Agulo
19 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de la Gomera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de la Gomera

Property: Parador de la Gomera
Address: Calle Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > San Sebastian de la Gomera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Sebastian de la Gomera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de la Gomera 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of this Parador expresses in its architectural forms the mysteries and enigmas in this Canary island and invites the guest to enjoy themselves in this paradisiacal setting and to contemplate, from its common rooms, unsurpasable views of the ocean and of the island of Tenerife in the background with the Teide peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de la Gomera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De La Gomera Hotel
Parador De La Gomera San Sebastian De La Gomera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing