We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wow”
Review of Roque Nublo

Roque Nublo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.07*
and up
Gran Canaria Full-Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 409 things to do in Gran Canaria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
The garden of England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just wow”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

the ride up the mountain in the car scared the hell out of me, im not too good with heights and the sheer drops in some places is quite scary. When you get up there however the view is breath-taking. From the car park it looks like a little stone in the distance but when you actually get there it is huge.
It is a hike and takes about an hour there and back

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dawns1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    296
    35
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth the drive.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Much of Gran Canaria had been de-forested to provide timber for building, but around Roque Nublo replanting has been undertaken over the last few decades, making this a really pleasant walk. It's cooler than at the coast, but even in November a pleasant 16C on the day we visited. Try to choose a clear day for the views, including the main peak of Teneriffe in the distance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ActiveRetiree64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were told by the guide that brought us that we were very lucky as the day was so clear. We felt like we were at the top of the world. Breathtaking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ...........
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views - on a cloudless day you can see a mountain in nearby Tenerife!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were persuaded by my husband to climb to the top of this mountain, albeit we did most by car. I wasn't prepared otherwise I would have worn trainers but I was wearing flip flops!!!! I would guess we walked approx 1 mile up the mountain which was no easy feat as you are effectively climbing rocks and some areas were slighly more difficult than others, having said this my 6 year old climbed all the way to the top so it is perfectly doable.
The views from the top are amazing and we saw the mountain in Tenerife.
It is very cold at the top so if you are reading this bring a suitable top or jacket.
This is not for people scared of heights.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank missy_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saro, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Must see if you like hiking”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I went there with a guided hiking group. Was an enjoyable hike, thought it was not easy with all its uphills and dowhill which were sometimes a little slippery because of sand and pebble rocks. Yet I still think it was worth all the trouble

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sar0sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roque Nublo also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Roque Nublo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing