We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view and value in las palmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RK Luz Playa Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best view and value in las palmas”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We have wanted to stay at these apartments for 3 years but there has never been availability until now. When we booked there wasnt a sea view available but we emailed the hotel to ask for one if one became available. Our ferry was delayed so we rang them to let them know we would arrive at midnight. "No problem at all and by the way we have a seaview for you". So for a small extra charge (well worth it) we woke up to a priceless view. The studios are great. The sleeping and lounge area far bigger than many hotel rooms we have stayed in. The kitchenette just needs a microwave and it would be perfect. The bathroom is a good size with full size bath and shower. Only downside the tv is very old and needs an english channel even just to catch up on the news. What a great find.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved to stay near Las Canteras, and listen to the waves in the night time. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly. The best part is the location! But be careful if you bring children. Dont let them stay at the balcony, it is very dangerous.

Room Tip: Higher floor is good. But you will have a good view anyway :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank versalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

this is the "2nd time we had stayed at this hotel had not been able to book it again until this

year .We have been in interior each time would be nice to have view but beach is so close

doesn't matter .We stayed for two weeks

we have stayed in 3or 4 other hotels of similar price bracket in the locality & this is our favorite

rooms are a good size is very clean the staff are very friendly Right in front of the Marvelous

Playa las canteras( beach) lots of bars & restaurant close by if you just want to chill out the

sea its great but if you want to do site

Las Palmas is a great city & the old town is worth a visit is good bus service take you to the

out lying town .Aruchas ,Is a lovely little town Has an Amazing Church which looks like a

Cathedral.,has lots of lovely cobbled streets ,And has a Rum factory which you can go to for a

free tour you get to try the products for free Rum ,( Ron ) Honey Run ( Ron Miel) or various

liqueurs. Galder Is anther small town about 30 minutes on a bus from las palmas is great

journey .Galder is one of the former Capitals of The Guanches ( the inhabitants) before the

conquests. there is a brilliant heritage site which has uncovered a Guanche settlement there is

a market on a Tuesday & Thursday. Teror is also a lovely little town to visit and And agaette

which is a mall town/ village near Puerto de Nieves which is a ferry port with amazing over

hanging mountains beautiful walkways along the sea front & some excellent restaurants with

great sea food. takes about 30- 40 minutes from las arenas on the side of the auditorium ( my


other bus estimates for Arrucas. Teror & Galdar are all from these stops bus stops will take

longer if you get bus from Santa cantalina Bus station

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jojopirateface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel belongs to a sort of "old-school" Spanish hotels, the way they all were in the 70's. this is not at all bad. The furniture looks a little old and it is not modern at all, especially with the two single beds, but it is by no means dinky. The room is a good size. The kitchen (in the hallway) and bathroom had been renovated and were very nice. We didn't cook, but there seemed to be enough utensils to do so. Obviously, the balcony is the big plus here and you simply must have an exterior room in this hotel. It is just fantastic!

The location is the best as well, if you want to be by the beach. There is more life in this northern part of the beach.
I think it is very good value for your money and I will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deselbyswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We started badly as we had booked an apartment with seaview but Alpharooms booked us an interior apartment with no view at all. Staff were helpful in arranging a move as soon as a sea view became available but the extra money was well worth it. The view from the balcony is fabulous and brilliant clean beach right on the doorstep. Beach is backed by restaurants, bars, cafes etc and there are numerous shops to buy provisions if you want to do self catering. This is a city location ideal for couples without children although the beach is quite safe and has children's play areas .Local buses are frequent and easy to use and these apartments make a great base to explore the city and make the most of its amentiies - but make sure you get an apartment with a sea view.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — apartments without the view have no view at all - only an internal ventilation shaft
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank andrew48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

These are fantastic apartments for the money paid, located on the sea front of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria within easy reach of restaurants and bars. The area is very secure, and the apartments were clean and tidy!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asia77m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We booked through Alpharooms what we thought would be a romantic few days and asked for a sea view double non-smoking room. The webpage for this hotel implies all rooms have sea views. However, on arrival we were given a gloomy 'inner' cell, with no view and two small single beds. The room opened onto an inner well that ensured that any noise was amplified. Needless to say there was a fractious baby screaming all night and depriving us of sleep.

We complained to the management who told us sea view rooms are not available for bookings through Alpharooms as they are reserved for tour operators. Apharooms were similarly of no assistance and we moved out to the Sol Melia (wonderful).

At the time of writing, Alpharooms are still advertising Luz Playa and the website still implies all rooms have sea views.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stephenkirklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luzplaya, Adjunto a la gerencia at RK Luz Playa Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2009
Hello. I am Mario Ponce, assistant manager of Apartamentos Luz Playa. Our policy is to fulfill our clients requirements and provide a good service. That’s our only target. In this spirit we offer two kinds of rooms, sea view and inner view rooms. Unfortunately some agencies only have inner rooms in their portfolio (especially in high season) but they sell them as sea view ones, which is not our fault but we pay the consequences. In high season, due to big demand, it was impossible for us to change the reservation to a sea view room. We are working to fix this situation. Besides, if done with enough time, a sea view can always be booked.
In the other hand I have to say that our rooms, both inner and sea views, are well furnished, clean and in very good style. We cannot offer great views in the inner ones, but we do offer a lower rate and the same standards of quality, in the first line of beach on the core of the city.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
#20 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#2 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Colon Playa
Apartamentos Colon Playa
#19 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RK Aloe Canteras
Hotel RK Aloe Canteras
#21 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Luz Playa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Luz Playa Suites

Property: RK Luz Playa Suites
Address: Calle Sagasta 66, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RK Luz Playa Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location RK Luz Playa Suites has an ideal location in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Located in front of the Playa de Las Canteras , one of the most recognized urban beaches in Europe and the pride of the city , RK Luz Playa Suites meets all requirements for any approach of an ideal holiday one can think of to: sun and beach , health, sports, shopping, gastronomy and culture . In addition and thanks to its good wireless connection, its proximity to the port area of La Luz and to the business center of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria , RK Luz Playa Suites is also perfect for your business trip. Description The modern and comfortable style achieved by the recent refurbishment in July 2015 creates a warm and friendly atmosphere to make you feel at home. All studios and apartments have free WiFi , two beds (the beds are made as a double bed, but can be separated ), a sofa bed, a dining table , a large wardrobe , safe, telephone , flat-screen TV , fully equipped kitchen with utensils for eating and cooking , bathroom with bathtub, toilet, washbasin, amenities and hairdryer . The studios have a furnished terrace with a stunning view of the beach and the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your RK Luz Playa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Luz Playa Suites Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing