We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Romantic Occasions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Catalina Hotel
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for Romantic Occasions”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I have just spent our 10th Wedding Anniversary there and enjoyed it to much we will be returning every year. We would not hesitate in recommending to family and friends. Despite the fact some things were a little "tired" did not ruin anything for us. Our large double room and balcony were perfect. The staff both in the hotel and spa were fantastic and very helpful. Wonderful massage treatments in spa by Ciara for the ladies. A gentleman treated my husband's bad back and his treatment too was also excellent. It was a fantastic location, an elegant hotel suitable for all but especially couples looking for that romantic break. Well Done to the manager and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and for the surprise bottle of Champagne on arrival. Beats the new ultra modern hotels hands down for us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor in the middle of the hotel and we had a perfect view of surrounding ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    356
    189
    58
    33
See reviews for
136
495
58
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We chose this hotel for its service and historical connections and we were not disappointed with either. Sure the bathrooms, wifi, facilities etc are a little 4 star, but the cleanliness, location, staff, service, room size, decor, linen, breakfast and extras are all 5 star.
We stayed in a junior suite with our daughter aged 9, and loved the full size king bed, extra fold away bed and lounge and large balcony.
Breakfast was varied and very good quality, particularly compared with other European hotels, and even included complimentary methode traditionelle sparkling wine!
Car parking was onsite and free for hotel guests. Pool was OK, but not really a leisure based hotel. Very well located for shopping at el Corte Ingles etc and good restaurants across the road at the marina. Only a €5 taxi to Vegueta, the Old Town.
All in all a great Las Palmas experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This grand old hotel was built in 1890 and is a charming place to stay. It is not four Seasons Chic but a true piece of history. The rooms look much like they would have bee 100 years ago. The hotel is near the yacht harbor when the annual regatta sails from Europe to the Caribbean for the winter season. The hotel is not a beach hotel but a grand hotel in its very own park. As a consolation to the twentieth century the hotel has a nice pool and spa.
We stay at this hotel once a year before our Trans Atlantic sail.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel definitely deserves its 5 star rating. The attention to service is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for an elegant traditional hotel which is charming but not stuffy then you will enjoy staying here. It is not one for the beer swilling beasts more for the Gin and Tonic lovers.
I have never felt like extending my holiday before but on this occasion I actually did it, thanks to the relaxed mood and ambiance that the hotel created.

Room Tip: Go for one with a balcony so you can sit and watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If it is old fashioned class you are after then look no further than this grand edifice peacefully situated in its own park, a short distance from the main drag. Staff are particularly helpful and breakfasts are top notch. It is not a modern hotel but wi fi is provided as well as an excellent spa. Ythe bar terrace is a delightful place to watch the comings and goings of the las palmas business community.
Yes, the rooms could be more up to date but in this haven, who cares ?

Room Tip: Those rooms to the front with large balcony on the first floor are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great hotel, certainly not the usual state of the art bathroom, air conditioning and else, but what an atmosphere ! Sipping coffee on the terrace feels like Churchill is going to walk in. Great bar as well. Don't spend time in the room, no point, but sit outside and watch, breathe and let your imagination wander...

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank olivier b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Past guests include Winston Churchill, Agatha Christie, King Juan Carlos and his Queen to name but a few. It is the top hotel on the island, situated in a fabulous setting but I would rate it as a 4 star rather than 5 star which it rates itself.

Room Tip: Book a suite rater than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traumatised359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1.5 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#1 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
907 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#8 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#10 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
491 reviews
25.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cristina Las Palmas Hotel
Cristina Las Palmas Hotel
#15 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catalina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Hotel

Property: Santa Catalina Hotel
Address: Calle Leon y Castillo 227, 35005 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Catalina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Catalina 5*, which construction dates of the year 1890, is a reference in the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Since its opening, famous personalities such as Sir Winston Churchill, Maria Callas, Gregory Pack, Presidents of Governments and States such as the Royal Family, have chosen the Hotel Santa Catalina 5* as to stay in during their visit to the island. The hotel is situated in the centre of the Parque Doramas, a huge park surrounded by palmtrees and only a few metres away of the promenade. Disposes of 202 rooms, 3 big conferencerooms as to celebrate all types of events such as weddings, congresses and a business centre which consists of 4 smaller conferencerooms as to celebrate meetings, lunches/dinners, presentations etc. The A La Carte Restaurant "La Terraza", awarded with 3 suns in the Repsol guide and run by our Chef Jose Rojano, will surprise diners with original plates such as mango gazpacho... During the night you will be able to have a drink on our fantastic open air terrace and at the same time enjoy the lovely music of our piano player. Let yourself be pampered in our Spa Centre where our professionals will do their utmost as to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Finish your day by having a relaxing bath in our outdoor pool and a snack in our poolbar. It does not matter for which reason you will stay at the Hotel Santa Catalina 5*, for business or pleasure, we do know though that your stay at the hotel will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Catalina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catalina
Santa Catalina Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing