We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fallen 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated and it is it's only advantage. Main disadvantages are: lack of outside terrace on ground floor, no internet in the rooms, hotel reception is like hospital interior - very "loudy", parking area like from horror film. Even reception service should be changed: I was welcomed by 2 older women definitely not looking and behaving like 5* hotel crew and one of them was ill - trying to stop nose flow (what was really aweful) so it could happen that You are coming for vacation and immediately You can not enjoy because of being affected by flu or cold or whatever. Hotel is acceptable for 1 night stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Cristina Las Palmas, Gran Canaria is very well situated in town and out to the Canteras Beach. We had a room with a view over the beach and sea which we enjoyed. The room was nice, but not very spacious. We had our grandchild with us and went to the beach every day, so sand in the room had to be clean every day as well, and was. The breakfast was fine. The staff friendly and helpfull. The weather was most of the time with some overcast so I did not use the pool area which was on a nice deck. The pool water was too cold for me. The hotel present itself as 5 stars, that was not my impression, I would judge it to a good 4 stars. A hotel I would like to return to.

When we got to our room the first day we had problems with the internet, but when it eventual worked it was fast. Also the telephone, the safe and the fridge did not work. We got it fixed, but it is not nice to get to a hotel where important equipment does not work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is OK, but it's not really worthy of 5*. We have nothing particular to complain about, the hotel is just a bit tired that's all. It's on a really busy street, it's hard to find the dungeon of an underground car park, and you'll end up driving around in circles. Make sure you get an ocean view, it's lovely - the other side of the hotel really isn't. Location is great, you are on a very busy seafront promenade with a wide variety of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Must have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_From_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Good location in front of the beach right across the pedestrian street, the room needed maintenance work (bathroom cracked tiles, loose towel hook, loose socket...) and had worn out carpet. The breakfast was regular and the staff friedly.
During the six days that I stayed at the hotel the swimming pool was closed for maintenance and the mail that I sent complain about this fact was automatically sent back with the message that the mail box is full.
Definitely not what is expected from a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view or you will get one to old buildings and neighbors windows (streets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

First impressions are of a large hotel adjacent to the beach/boardwalk.The reception area is tired looking and somewhat lacklustre with lifts to match. The room itself was a good size, modern and bright with a balcony - although i felt that it was a cross between Ikea and Easyjet in styling - it needed something to break up the starkness of the room, even just a picture would do it! It was very clean with a good selection of shampoos/soaps etc. The downside was a very poor air con that barely worked (the same in many rooms i discovered) and the other down side was Wifi was very hit and miss (mostly miss) although a cable connection is available. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of items. Not a 5 star hotel for me.

Room Tip: a room over looking the beach (front) is preferable to looking at an office block (rear)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian_T2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It was my second visit to this hotel having stayed last year too. The bedrooms are ok but in need of an update (the website shows some nice modern rooms but I have yet to see them, I'm presuming they're reserved for the premium rates). This time however I had a balcony overlooking the beach which was lovely. It sounds odd but it really bugs me that the toilet is separate to the bathroom! The breakfast is good an plentiful and the staff friendly. Ok for Business Travel

Room Tip: overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hotel is located on the north eastern side of the island, roughly a 30min drive from the airport. From what I gathered, this is more the "business" district. All the holiday tourists seem to be concentrated on the southern/south western side.

The hotel is generally neat and tidy, but the passages are very badly lit, and look dodgy. The rooms are clean and extremely plain, but comfortable - I had a good sleep. There is also internet available in the rooms, and wi-fi in the lobby.
The hotel is situated along the promenade, so here are many shops and restaurants available within walking distance.

I needed a business facility, and was showed to a tiny room near the receptionist desk, which had one computer on what looked like a "student" type desk. This desk was next to the vending machine. This computer had no internet facility; my emails had to be forwarded to the front desk in order for it to be printed.

Breakfast at the hotel was great.

Room Tip: You can choose a sea-facing or harbour-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
707 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#1 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#10 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantur City Hotel
Cantur City Hotel
#11 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
462 reviews
2.4 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#8 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas

Address: Calle Gomera 6 | Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Melia Las Palmas)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range: £111 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Set overlooking Las Canteras Beach, Hotel Cristina Las Palmas features an outdoor swimming pool. Most of its rooms have a balcony with views of the city and Las Canteras Beach. The Cristina Las Palmas features bright, attractive décor. All rooms have flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, and a fully equipped bathroom. The Antinoó restaurant serves à la carte dishes and offers impressive ocean views. Breakfast is served on the Cristina’s attractive terrace. The hotel also features steam baths and gym. Massage and beauty treatments are also on offer. The Cristina Las Palmas is just 50 m from Puerto de La Luz Port, where ferries depart for Tenerife and the surrounding Canary Islands. Couples particularly like the location — they rated it 9 for a two-person trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Las Palmas
Sol Melia Las Palmas
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing