We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhelpful staff!”
Review of NH Imperial Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Imperial Playa
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unhelpful staff!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for a week with my partner, we were given a twin bedded room despite booking a double room. Staff stated that they did not have any doubles available despite the hotel being very quiet all week.The staff had tried to take the money out of my account before we had even seen our room or given the keys. Staff were very rude answering the phone on several occasions whilst checking us into our room. On another occasion a member of Staff sighed when we asked a question about our taxi pick up time. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Excellent location however the hotel restaurant and bar very very quiet! Plenty of very nice restaurants and bars outside the hotel for breakfast, dinner etc.

Room Tip: Vist La Mariner fish restaurant very good value for money and excellent food and service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 63Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahím G, Manager at NH Imperial Playa, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about your stay at the NH Imperial Playa.

We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you have experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay with us. However I would like to explain that I believe, it has been a misunderstanding. The hotel has 142 rooms of which 6 are singles, 16 doubles with double bed and the rest are double rooms with twin beds. If at the time of booking you or your agency request a room with double bed, we are always including a note in the confirmation sent by our system in which we advise that it is subject to availability, we try to do our best to follow the request but it is something that we cannot guarantee in advance.

On the other hand, following to our company procedures, we ask for a credit card only as a guarantee of your stay (on flexible rates, where no prepayment is asked).

We hope you continue to place your confidence in our hotel chain for your trips

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    260
    119
    31
    11
See reviews for
62
216
29
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We came there with family, joining business trip with pleasure, and found this hotel to be very nice. Initially we had to wait for our room, but were upgraded with a view of the ocean and it was really worth it. The room did not have a balcony but overlooked the bay and was very nice. Balcony was not really needed, since we left the room in the morning and returned in the evening, but we really enjoyed the view. The hotel offers great breakfast buffet, the staff in the restaurant was not very friendly, but ok. The staff at the reception was friendly, though. The hotel has perfect location for morning jogging, a walk on the beach and is surrounded by good restaurants. It is quiet and when we rented a car we had the option of living it on the safe and free parking in the hotel 5 min from ours, since this one has no parking facility.
All in all I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the ocean, the alternative is really depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms_sporty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Fourth time i have stayed here all for business but nice people and nice location
Breakfast gre

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

very upsetting breakfast!!!
noisy sleeping room.
staff could not really help finding a decent restaurant around there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arnold e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fribourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hotel is very well located, right infront of the beach, very central.

The rooms looked newly furnished, and the bed was quite comfortable.We booked the room as there was an online offer, so this place was definetly a good value for what we've paid. We didn't get room with sea view, as there was an extra charge for it. We were going to be assigned to a small room facing the inner wall with no balcony, while the whole floor was empty. We went back and requested another room which had a balcony, no sea view, just facing a building. It's better to get the higher floors which have a bit more angle on the sea and less with the neighbouring building.

Breakfast wasn't included, and we found it very expensive (15 Euros pp), no need considering there are plenty of options in the neighbourhood which are much cheaper.

Nothing really outstanding about this hotel, good but nothing more.
PD: If you're staying there, make sure to eat at La Oliva restaurant, it's the best food in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sre_jbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have been in Las Palmas several times for business. And tryied couple of hotels in the town. And must admitt that the Imperial Playa is the absolute best. If you want something more fancy than the resorts further south are better. But for business all the honor to this hotel. Great staff, great breakfast, direct access to the beach walk and the beach. I have tryied various rooms even the suites with large balcony! The view is just fantastic, you can sit on your balcony work and watch the sun go down and hear the people walking down below.
The price i sreasonable, room furniture match the price but the location and the view is 5 star!
What I also like about this location is that you can have a nice dinner, and the after party and walk by the beach home or on the walk where many other people are, avoiding the small alleys in Las Palmas. I have had 3 collegues being mugged in those alleys not far from the hotel. So be careful!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiefen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have just spent three nights at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a base from which to explore Las Palmas.
We had a sea-facing room with balcony on the eighth floor. The room was comfortably, but not luxuriously, furnished and equipped - it had a flat screen TV, mini-bar and safe. The bathroom was very small but adequate with a shower over the bath. The views from the balcony, however, were just fantastic - ideal for spending a lazy afternoon - relaxing, reading, looking out to sea and watching all that is hapening on the sea front walkway.
In our view the (cold) breakfast buffet offered a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, etc.It was also possible to order a cooked breakfast. We did so one morning: it came within the time expected, was nicely presented and obviously freshly cooked.
All the staff we came into contact with were most helpful and professional. We speak fluent Spanish and this may have helped; however, the reception staff on duty while we were there all seemed to have a reasonable standard of English.
For us this sea front four star hotel offered us what we were looking for - great location, fantastic sea views and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We were not looking for a hotel with a pool or a gym or wi-fi or a first class restaurant (there are many good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel), Therefore, as base for exploring the city, shopping or business we shall use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inmigrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
0.4 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#2 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#10 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed&Chic Las Palmas
Bed&Chic Las Palmas
#1 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Imperial Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Imperial Playa

Property: NH Imperial Playa
Address: Ferreras, 1 | Las Canteras Beach, La Puntilla Area, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#3 Family Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Imperial Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Las Canteras Beach with direct access to endless local attractions is the four-star NH Imperial Playa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, NHHotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Imperial Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Imperial Playa Hotel Las Palmas De Gran Canaria
NH Imperial Playa Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing