We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb views.”
Review of NH Imperial Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Imperial Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb views.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Receptionists and breakfast room staff were effecient, but the happiest member of staff was the chambermaid. After all, a smile costs nothing.!!!! Superior double sea facing room with balcony, highly recommended. No tea making facility and an expensive mini bar. Keep a close eye on web sites as the price seems to vary cosiderably and NH direct is not cheap! see holiday lettings and hotels.com amongst many others. good luck and keep to a sea facing balcony front room.

Room Tip: only consider front facing sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    257
    117
    31
    11
See reviews for
62
212
29
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked this room really "last minute", an hour before I checked in on the NH website for 80 Euros per night, single occupancy. Check in was quick and easy, staff friendly enough. I got a room on the highest floor number 9, regular room, refused to pay for an upgrade. So the view was over the roofs of the city and a glimps of the sea. Large balcony was appreciated! The room was clean and modern. Selection of international TV channels was okay. Air con could have been stronger. Bath was nice and modern as well. Liked the fridge and the safe. Only disturbing thing: The fresh towels smelled like vomit on two consecutive days, no idea what detergent they use. The breakfast is overprized, don´t pay the 15 Euros or more, there are bakeries and cafes right next door. Location is great, right next to the beach! They also give you towels, but the beach chairs are not included and the hotel has no swimming pool, which was a surprise. Everything I needed was in walking distance. Free wifi internet is included but you need to renew your code all the time which makes it a little hard as your downloads stop in the middle of a session. After all, a good choice for the business trip or short vacations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Countrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel while on a short business trip in Las Palmas.

The usual standard of NH hotels, but the food was the worst hotel room service I have ever experienced. Undercooked chicken breast and a chocolate mousse that was in actual fact a block of brown coloured ice.

Another annoying thing during checking out is that they didn't have a list of the contents of the minibar at the front desk. Plus, instead of asking how my stay was, all they were interested in is charging me for the minibar.

The room was nice enough, but the air conditioning is not particularly effective (room 410).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Poland, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed there one night, a good hotel, excellent service, especially at the reception, thank you for your help :)
Great breakfast, with a nice restaurant overlooking the ocean.
Free WI-FI.
I heartily recommend to stay in Las Palmas

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LuMa6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hotel is situated right on the beach and the choices of restaurants along the board walk are endless. The hotel itself is ok and my room had an amazing view of the sea and boardwalk. I was on the 7th floor and unfortunately had a few problems sleeping at night due to the loud music being played in one of the restaurants. Although I realize its a Spanish speaking country, there were no English TV channels in the room as everything was in Spanish so I suggest if you travelling alone, make sure you have your book or laptop to occupy you (if you prefer to stay in the hotel)
I've dealt with more friendlier staff I must say, no one really smiled or greeted, but other than that its a well located hotel if you staying in Las Palmas.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for less noise and a decent sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I’ve stayed at the NH Imperial Playa twice between Nov 2012 and Feb 2013. Both times on business.
The first time I stayed, I had a sea front room the second time I stayed, I was given a “family” room inwardly facing into a “nothing”.
The hotel staff are pleasant enough, however they did not go beyond what was needed to get you checked in and to your room.
The bar was completed closed on both occasions and I had to ask for it to be opened on both occasions I stayed there having arranged to meet colleagues. The staff seems most displeased I had put them out in such a manner as to ask them to open the bar. As soon as I left, it was closed again and at the end of the evening (I say end of evening – in Spain this was 22:30 which in their culture is about between starter and main course) I returned and was told it was closed for the evening!
Technically, there is air conditioning in the room, but on both occasions, it did not function “at all”. On both occasions, it was well above 20°c outside. I called a technician to the room who waved his hand in front of the air vent in the room, left and I saw no more of him again or an improvement in the performance of the air con.
Beds are small and not comfortable.
But there is free WiFi on the positive side….
Breakfast is typically continental with the addition of a “DIY” omelette style breakfast. By this I mean, you have to get a bowl, pick the fillings you want, then give it to a very surly waiter who’ll then take it off to cook it for you. Coffee you get from a coffee machine, too.
So overall, I knew there was a reason not to stay here. Now I doubly know there are reasons not to stay….

Room Tip: try another hotel.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dhsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel is in a great position, right on the Paseo across from the beach with lots of cafes, bars etc very close by. The only thing I found different is that it is a very transient hotel with airline crews coming in and out all the time. Other than this, it's a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a seaview room as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wisegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
0.4 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#2 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
#10 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.6 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#9 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Imperial Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Imperial Playa

Property: NH Imperial Playa
Address: Ferreras, 1 | Las Canteras Beach, La Puntilla Area, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#3 Family Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Imperial Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Las Canteras Beach with direct access to endless local attractions is the four-star NH Imperial Playa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Imperial Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Imperial Playa Hotel Las Palmas De Gran Canaria
NH Imperial Playa Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing