We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill quickly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Gran Canaria
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, by choice, and enjoyed the experience.
This time my wife and I stayed and it was an unpleasant experience.
The only saving grace was the maid, who changed linen and squared up with the minimum of fuss and maximum of efficiency.
Front desk staff - including duty manager - were surly, rude and unhelpful. Items requested on booking (as per booking form) were totally ignored, and when requested verbally were met with 'we don't have it so why request it'!
Room service was diabolical - they could not supply a hot cup of tea and coffee!
We chose a Junior Suite (19th Floor) - TV had only News as an English speaking channel, so how can they class themselves as an International Business Hotel. I have had better in tourist and local hotels. Bed was so hard that we had pains for 3 days. Bed also made horrible crunching/groaning noises every time you turned over, due to the poor quality frame/legs.
We paid for WiFi and for 2 of the 8 days it was unusable, but was still charged - we did report the faults and were told that it was an issue with their IT provider. The WiFi was supposed to be usable on 3 items, with the supplied login, but we could only get one item online as the system rejected any subsequent attempts.
On checkout the staff blatantly refused to assist in getting our luggage down to street level - preferred to watch me run up and down the hotel steps numerous times until all of our bags were at the waiting taxi. One did offer to carry my briefcase!!!
Will never book there again and we visit Las Palmas on a regular basis, for business!!!!
We would have rated the SERVICE as TERRIBLE, but for the pleasant maid!

Room Tip: 19th floor junior suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked this for one night in order to get a good sleep after a very long flight.
The room was a good size, clean and the bed comfortable.
My room was on 11th floor (of 25) and was very quiet.
The toiletries etc were of good quality
Minibar prices not too bad
It met my requirements admirably.

Free wifi for 24 hours in the lounge. available on payment in the rooms. The free wifi was quick and worked fine.

I was leaving early next morning so took breakfast in the hotel as that was the easiest option. It was okay but I thought a little pricey at 16 Euro for the buffet.

There is no bar but all I wanted to do was sleep so that was not a problem!

Room Tip: you would need to be on floor 10 or above to get a reasonable view to the north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LARRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is not amazing. It is quite an old hotel located in Las Palmas, with medium-sized rooms. Wi-Fi does not reach all the rooms and, since I had payed for that service, they had to change me to another room because they did not check the room I was staying in had Wi-Fi, which I think should have been taken into account before assigning room.

I got the change and then I discovered I had a newer bathroom than in the previous room. Views were nice, but balconies were not neat at all.

The breakfast was a buffet which was correct.

There was a swimming-pool on the top of the building, which was quite nice.

I recommend it for business but not at all for holiday or romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Recommended for business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psgo_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventSales, Front Office Manager at AC Hotel Gran Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a lovely location. Everything was very clean and tidy, staff were helpful.
The only down sides were that breakfast finished at 10. Not great if you want a lay in! Also there is no bar as such. Still enjoyed the stay though. Would go again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ceriharris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

very cozy and modern, it is much better inside than you would expect. good thing about ugly looks, it is easy to find:) very nice buffet breakfast, fresh stuff. dinner very tasty but tiny portions. room is spacious, beautiful view from higher floors

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The highest hotel in the area, you can't miss it, 25 storey circular concrete hotel.
Rooms are very clean and have large TV and mini bar.
Hotel pool is on roof but not very deep and not good enough for a propoer swim.
Restaurantis on 23rd floor and we thought it was a good continental breakfast, our deal included it but would not pay 12euro for it.
The views from the roof and restaurant are great. You can see the beach one side and the port on the other. Lots of restaurants close by.
Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have stayed many times at this hotel. The hotel is clean and so are the rooms. Best in this hotel is, that if your room is on higher floors, you are not disturbed by the trafic noise. The wiews are great and there are balconys in every room.

It is located perfect, it is near everything you need. The bus terminal is also very near, so you can get around the island very easyly. Las Canteras beach is very near and big shopping centre El Muelle is also very close.

The breakfast is quite expencive, but we don't mind about that because there are several nice very local places near by to get a cup of coffee, some churros and toast.

The staff speak good english and they are very polite and seem very professional and helpful.

At one stay we had to ask to change the room because of the noise of the street and it was no problem at all!

Hotel would need a bit updating thouhg it is not so long a go renovated. Also I would like to have free wifi in rooms also, not only the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask room from higher floors if you don't want to hear noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PiiaLilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
2.2 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#12 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
746 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#5 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bull Reina Isabel & Spa
Bull Reina Isabel & Spa
#1 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1,086 reviews
26.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
Sercotel Cristina Las Palmas
#15 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gran Canaria

Address: Calle Eduardo Benot 3, 35007 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range: £62 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Gran Canaria Hotel
AC Hotel Gran Canaria Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing