We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of La Casa De Vegueta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa De Vegueta
Certificate of Excellence
Arezzo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I enjoyed 7 days of stay at La Casa de Vegueta. It is a small, quiet and cosy place, with an elegant canarian feeling and, at the same time, a very familiar mood. Ana, the owner, welcomed me with a perfect attitude: very helpful, friendly and respectful. I enjoyed the breakfast in the company of the other guest and I had the chance to meet interesting people, among whom Ana's friend Luz, who helped making my stay memorable. The location is ideal for visiting the city. No problem with the parking. Should I go back to Las Palmas, La Casa de Vegueta will be my place again.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms located around a courtyard, I had the left side one which was very good (clean, wide, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
54
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Please read the previous reviews which completely sum up our own feelings. We stayed here for three nights in February and can thoroughly recommend it for the 'discerning' traveller.

Casa de Vegueta is Ana's home and indeed, when you stay in her B+B, she makes you feel that you are old family friends and nothing is too much trouble. Casa de Vegueta retains its original charm and character but provides very comfortable accommodation in its three rooms. My partner and I have stayed in Las Palmas before but previously we've stayed in a modern, rather anonymous hotel near Las Canteras beach. This time we decided to stay in the old town as we wanted to spend more time exploring the attractive area around the Cathedral and the old, narrow streets around it with its tapas bars and little restaurants which are also popular with the locals - not just tourists. It's very hard to find accommodation in this area so we were very happy to find Casa de Vegueta on the Trip Advisor website and booked a room months in advance. We couldn't have made a better choice. It's the ideal place for anyone who doesn't want to stay in a characterless hotel but appreciates the finer things of life. Ana really looks after her guests and provides a lovely breakfast and plenty of advice on places to eat and things to do. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and sharing our travel experiences over breakfast. There's also a lounge where you can relax and free Wifi is available throughout the house. The only minus point (although it didn't concern us too much) was that the mobile phone reception in the house was very weak.

The house is quite close to bus routes where you can reach the rest of the city and to the San Telmo bus terminus for long distance buses. We also took advantage of the very reasonably priced transfer to the airport provided by Ana's friendly taxi driver.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our first visit to Gran Canaria & to stay in the city of Las Palmas is an experience especially if you have hired a car for a few days. The Casa is delightful in every way, the rooms are all that you would wish for & breakfast is beautifully prepared.

Room Tip: Bring a basin plug with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The reviews seemed almost too good to be true. But everything written about this wonderful guest house is true. In all our 50 years of travelling, we can’t remember ever being made so welcome. Ana is the perfect host. Her advice about the island and help with transport and finding good places to eat was invaluable. One of the previous reviews said that “nothing was too much trouble” We couldn’t agree more, as we had experience of this time and time again.

The rooms, off a courtyard at the back of the house, are peaceful and spacious with very comfortable beds. The breakfasts are imaginitively and lovingly prepared and there is a comfortable lounge where one can sit with a coffee at any time.

Ana’s young son, Javier, and both her parents were also around to make us feel at home, when Ana was out of the house. It was a pleasure to meet such a lovely family.
In addition, Salomé, who serves breakfast and looks after the rooms is also a very friendly and attentive person.

The whole place, its atmosphere, furniture and art works, reflect the artistic care invested in it.

We spent a week in La Casa de Vegueta and look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as they are at the back of the house, well away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our first times in Las Palmas. We wanted to visit the city and decided after some research to stay in the old part of it. We did not regret it. This is indeed the most beautiful location of the city. The Casa de Vegueta only emphasized the beauty of the entire neighborhood. Located right next to a beautiful plaza (Santo Domingo), one can reach the major attractions of the old city and beyond through a leisurly walk,
The B&B itself keeps all its promises. A beautiful setting with three rooms (my friend and I rented two of them for four nights). They are decorated - like the entire Casa - in the most tasteful way, spotlessly clean and very spacious. Thus, if you don't feel like wondering around the city, this is a better than most cafes in the city to hang out, read a book/paper, write something and enjoy a nice cup of tea.
The owner - Ana - makes sure that you feel comfortable there. She prepares a very tasty breakfast which will keep you going for several hours and is alwayes ready to give advice, make reservations. Thus, if you look for a more intimate atmosphere of a small and beautiful place, this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natanTel_Aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very different from our usual holidays. It was extremely comfortable and Ana made us feel very much at home. Nice to share breakfast with interesting people of all nationalities. Ana gave us lots of useful information and arranged transport at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToneJo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murten, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We loved the personal service in this place. The owner really cares for the guests, she's charming, friendly, helpful; she knows the best adresses for dining and art and reserves tables in the best restaurants in town for you! The place (only 3 rooms) has the perfect situation in the middle of the old town (some minutes from the cathedral) of Las Palmas, but is still very quiet. Transportation to airport was done by a friend of the owner, to a very fair price. Thank you, Anna Lola

Room Tip: Only three rooms, any will fit!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank johnrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Parque
Hotel Parque
#9 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
431 reviews
3.5 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#8 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
516 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bed&Chic Las Palmas
Bed&Chic Las Palmas
#1 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
273 reviews
3.2 mi away
Reina Isabel Hotel
Reina Isabel Hotel
#2 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Vegueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Vegueta

Property: La Casa De Vegueta
Address: Calle Pedro Diaz 5, 35001 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique and comfortable place in the old town of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria where history, art, music and good food accompany our guests who have come from different corners of the world to discover our city and our island.La Casa de Vegueta B&B is ideal for travellers looking for comfort and tranquillity. Built in 1913, its interior offers peace, calm and a taste for the simple pleasures wich enchance life. The sound of the fountain, the colour, the life of the plants or the enjoyment in the natural textures of the fabrics and the furniture make this charming B&B an enchanting place to stay in Las Palmas.The rooms are distributed around the courtyard of the house. Much of the furnishings are original designs of the renowned architect Miguel Martín Fernández de la Torre or were part of their family household goods. Are Fully-equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Private bathrooms, cotton linens and original furnishings that make each one, a pleasant and unique space.History, cuisine and culture just a few steps away. Its privileged location, near the Plaza de Santo Domingo, wich is in the historical part of the city centre of Las Palmas, steps away from outdoor cafés, restaurants, museums, galleries, shops and theatres, making it possible to walk around Vegueta and Triana while discovering picturesque corners and emblematic buildings that are part of the natural and cultural heritage of this Atlantic city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa De Vegueta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Vegueta Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing