We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each push is equivalent to 1.5L of water corresponding to 6g of Co2 poured into the atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Each push is equivalent to 1.5L of water corresponding to 6g of Co2 poured into the atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Signs such as the one above are everywhere in the hostel, keeping in with their eco approach. It makes you really think how much water we're using! This hostel is in a very nice location, an old part of Las Palmas - Vegueta. It's full of old squares, small streets and museums. It's also close to the city center with its busy shopping streets. The staff was also always very nice and helpful. The mattress were super comfortable and good size. Everything in the hostel is new, clean and nicely decorated.
On a down side, the common areas are quite small. The kitchen is tiny, it's more like a kitchenette, with no kettle or oven only 3 cooking hobs.The dining/communal area contains only 5 tables and one sofa which simply wasn't enough for the amount of people staying. Also the space between the bunk bed was rather small and could get crowded. There are only ceiling lights in each room, no reading light. Which means if you came in late you either had to switch on the main light and risk waking up others or try to find your way around in dark. It's true that the beds have curtains you can close but that's the case only for the lower bunks.
Also, during our visit the hostel wasn't exactly quiet. The walls are rather thin and you can hear people from next room as if there were in yours. There are no signs anywhere about keeping quiet after certain hours and no rules regarding alcohol consumption. People were coming back after night out at 2am-3am and disturbing others. This is not great especially considering the fact that there were families with small children staying there as well. The hostel should decide who is their target group and apply rules accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
3
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a very nice hostel. I stayed there for more than a week. It is close to the city center and public transportation. It is clean. The bathroom arrangement is a little strange, but although it was full the days I was there we managed :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ad Dakhla, Western Sahara
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Many thanks too all at the Ecohostel; very friendly, clean & comfortable; plenty of tourist information to hand, help & guidence from the staff any time of the day, really great atmoshere!!
I will return with friends soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 439MMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Before arriving there was great communication with the hostel and they arranged airport pickup. The hostel itself is new and everything is very clean. The friendly staff is very helpful in arranging trips or excursions. The location is super. Close to a shopping area, bars cafes and restaurants and also the bus station. Making it very easy to travel to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris82187472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
3.0 mi away
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
#20 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Parque
Hotel Parque
#9 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
#8 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
642 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
959 reviews
3.6 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar

Property: Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar
Address: Calle Pedro Diaz 20, 35001 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have developed a different lodging offer devised so that you take away the best of Gran Canaria. Our Facilities and spaces are designed for making your stay as much pleasant as possible meanwhile you live the experience of our ecologic conscience. We have placed our hostel in the city core, from which you will be able to discover the incredible climate we enjoy during the whole year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecohostel Canarias Bettmar Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing