We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Ever Christmas”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Ever Christmas”
Reviewed 1 February 2008

The area around the hotel was seedy to say the least, dodgy looking people hanging around outside a brothel etc. It seemed that the hotel catered for non-british travellers, the menu was in Spanish and German, the TV programmes Spanish and German. The majority of customers, save a few Brits, Spanish and German.
The meals were cold at every serving, no entertainment of any type.
The area around the hotel was OK but it was not a place where British tourists should go. It might be alright for a long weekend city break but that is it! Las Palmas was okay but not for a fortnight or even a week, you can only visit the shopping centre so many times.........

We tried for a move but could'nt get one. I even tried to rent an apartment for a week to break the monotony. No availability!
What a disaster, thank you Broadway Travel.

Don't go here!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vulcanrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    127
    116
    46
    26
See reviews for
53
151
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
354 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Heard a lot of bad things about Las Palmas- which I did not find beeing correct. Got a good airfare and hotel through Alpharooms.

Las Palmas is a noisy, dirty and dangerous city to stay in!-
Not at all!!! Noise and traffic you will find in every Capital City.
The city is large- divided into 4 major areas:
Vegueta- this is the original Las Palmas with narrow streets, museums and cathedral. Beautiful.
Triana: just next to Vegueta. Here you will find the busstation (parque San Telmo)with the major lines to all the island. shop in the Calle Mayor street. Watch opera or dancing at the Teatro Perez Galdos.
Ciudad Jardin: this is where you take a break from the noise and visit pueblo Canario with typical canarian houses.
Puerto-Canteras: My guess is that most tourists choose to stay here- beach, restaurants, shopping and lovely atmosphere.
Las Palmas is not like the south of the island- if you expect everything to be English (food, entertainment etc etc) then you should stay South.

Las Palmas is a wonderful city which caters for all nationalities who are at least open for the idea that they are in Spain:-). Canarian people are very friendly and helpful if you show them respect and dont expect them to be fluent in English:-)- I dont speak much spanish, but give it your best and you´ll see the difference. Dirty...not. Dangerous...not!

Astoria hotel is in fact a 3 star CITY hotel- noise you must expect whyen staying in a city hotel- I had a room facing the inner court, so no noise for me. My room was actually quite large for a singleroom, interior a bit outdated, bathroom very old. There was no aircondition in my room, which was not a problem in December, but remember if you plan to stay in summertime.
Staff were very friendly and helpful to me. Breakfast was 3 star- nothing special, but definately not disgusting.
Location is perfect, you will find the Canteras beach just around the corner, a Hiper-Dino supermarket just 20 meter away, las Arenas shopping Mall you can reach in 10 minutes. Main shoppingstreet Mesa y Lopez (El Corte Ingles) you can reach in 5 minutes. In Santa Catalina square you will find Gueguabuses to Sant Elmo busstation if you want to explore the island(EUR 1,10 each way). Here you will also find the bus to Agaete for ferry to Tenerife(Fred Olsen Line). The Guagua Turistico (hop on hop off sightseeing bus) EUR8,70.

I would recommend Astoria as a city breakhotel- if you want 1 or 2 week beach holiday with cityflair- choose a hotel or apartments at the Canteras Beach.

I did enjoy my stay in Las Palmas- and I am going back soon.
Smile, you are in Spain:-)

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Me and my husband stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks in the beginning of november 2007. I had read some very bad reviews on the net so I was a bit worried that the hotel was going to be really bad! But to our surprise it was much nicer than we thought. The hotelroom was ok, the only problem with it is that the traffic outside was very loud outside the window in the night and you couldn´t sleep with the window open. But if you want to stay in a spanish city you have to take this into consideration. Although I think the hotel could maybe install more soundproof windows. There were also a bordell outside the hotel but this was nothing that you really notice except for that you heard the girls talk and and sometimes scream in the night. Mind you, this did´nt happen a lot.
The hotel was nice. It had a nice roofterrass with a lot of sunchairs and a nice pool. There was also a gym you could use and a cheap bar. The room got cleaned everyday and all the people in the hotel were nice and friendly. One warning though, the breakfast was terrible, really disgusting food, I practically ate cheesesandwiches for every morning for 2 weeks. I am glad we didnt ate the rest of our meals in the hotel if the food was anything similar to the breakfast!
The hotel was 2 minutes from the beach and to the nice beachwalk of Las Canteras with a lot of restaurant and bars. Also around the hotel there was some nice spanish bars and restaurants where you could eat and drink both well and cheap.
It takes 10 minutes by foot to walk to the centre where a lot of shops and Corte Ingles are, and 10 minutes to walk to Las Arenas which is a mall. Also by Parque santa Catalina, which is 5-10 minutes by foot there is really big mall with a lot of shops.
I don´t think the area was in any way scary or intimidating, after reading some of the reviews on this page you would think it was situated in some sort of ghetto but it was not, it was a normal area. Ok, I wouldn´t like to walk in the small street by myself in the night, but I don´t like to do that anywhere.
I think it all depends on what you want really, we wanted a trip to a city where you could experience the citys advantages as well as the beach and the this is perfect. If what you want is a vacation that is more focused on sun and relaxing and childrenfriendly I think it is better to go to the south of the island.
All in all, we had a really nice stay, the hotel isn´t a fivestar hotel, but it isn´t what we payed for either, anyway, the fivestarhotels are situated only 5-10 minutes further down the beachwalk and except for maybe a nicer hotel you pretty much get the same experience if you stay in this hotel.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank annaolsson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

Booked a stay at Astoria for my family. Recommended by on line travel agent. All I can say is imagine yourself in the heart of Moss Side Manchester and X 100 and that is what the location of this hotel has to offer. No shops, filth everywhere, brothels. The hotel itself is an absolute death trap. All the amenities are based on roof top and if you value your life you would not venture up there as very poor safety railings saving you from a 5th floor drop. Just what you want when you have children. Same along corriders - large windows open. Stair wells overooking drops to the basement. No protection from certain death if you lose your footing!! Nobody speaks English. Nobody who stays there is English. No entertainment, etc,etc. This hotel has nothing to offer. I have stayed in some hovels over the years but this is in a league of it's own. We lasted just over a day and was moved to the lovely Maspolomas, which I could not fault. Please save yourself from a holiday from hell. DO NOT GO THERE.

  • Liked — When I escaped!!
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank allyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels

Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

My daughter and I are just back from a week at this hotel, and I feel I have to post a review, as I certainly would not recommend it, particularly to female visitors. On the plus side, it's well situated for the lovely Canteras beach, and only a five minute walk from the shops of the town centre. The room was basic but clean, with good maid service. However, we had paid for half board, and that was a waste of money as the evening buffet was pretty poor, like school dinners! The last two evenings we ate out (loads of good restaurants along the promenade) as we couldn't face the "dining room" any more. Only one member of staff appeared to speak English, and in the dining room no-one approached us to offer drinks etc. One night we managed to ask for water and were sold a plastic bottle of it!
But the main reason I would say "don't go there" is the area around the hotel, which is very dodgy, including a large brothel in the next block. Most nights there's a lot of noise around the hotel from pimps shouting and whistling, and "customers". That, plus the locals constantly staring, was very offputting for two women on our own. Choose another hotel!

  • Liked — Room was clean and there is a reasonable roof terrace.
  • Disliked — Food and situation.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PollyannaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2007

I stayed here on a girlie weekend away. The rooms were fine and a maid came in every day. Only sampled the Breakfast at the hotel which was nice. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of the main attractions although opposite is a really dodgy appartment block. Being only girls on holiday did not feel safe as locals really stared at us a lot and we were advised by a taxi driver the roads aren't safe at night due to muggings of tourists. Avoided the nightclubs due to this reason don't think they get many English people there but lots of Germans and Swedes. The local restaurants were nice. Can reccomend Ginos in the shopping Mall.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KentZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ex1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2007

due to an error on my part (i had read reviews for the ac hotel and mistook it for the astoria) i found myself in the astoria, well i did eventually as it is impossible to park the car anywhere in the vicinity, and i mean anywhere! the room whilst fairly clean was cramped and the noise from outside kept me awake during the night. the area around the hotel was pretty dodgy and for the first time in spain i found myself concerned as to my safety.
the evening meal was the buffet style, favoured by the big hotels in the costas with poor quality food and tables that were not clean. breakfast was even worse, in fact i would go so far as to call breakfast dire. it appears that this hotel, which is allegedly 3 stars, is used by mainly german tour operators, it is certainly a place that i did not want to spend any time in and i checked out the following day, despite having paid for 2 weeks which was non refundable.
i decamped to the ac which as my original choice was perfect.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — totally cramped room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank freyas_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios Canteras
Hotel Alisios Canteras
#22 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Concorde Hotel Gran Canaria
Concorde Hotel Gran Canaria
#28 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Faycan
Hotel Faycan
#18 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
Apartamentos Brisamar Canteras
#21 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Exe Las Canteras
Hotel Exe Las Canteras
#33 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Verol
Hotel Verol
#15 of 42 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Calle Fernando Guanarteme 54, 35010 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is one of the most centrally located hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. It is situated in the commercial area of the city, near the financial area and beside the spectacular Playa de Las Canteras. The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool on the top floor with spectacular views, plus a fully equipped gym. If you are looking for a central hotel with affordable prices, Hotel Astoria is undoubtedly your hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. In addition to a privileged location, our hotel has excellent facilities to help you make your stay in Gran Canaria a real pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing