We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - you get what you pay for - miserable trim room”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Decisive for my choice of this hotel were the facilities like trim room, swimming pool and sauna. The cheapest offers are rooms only connected with the outer world with an air shaft 4 floors up shared with other cheap rooms - which of course should be cheap. The trim room is really a tragedy and needs an update. I did not try the swimming pool or sauna, since the beach was more tempting. Breakfast is adequate and is boooring. What about some local inspiration? Local cheese is excellent. And what about natural yoghurt instead of the artificial flavoured and coloured yoghurt? You get what you pay for - maybe a bit less as well...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkeltje58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

You get what you pay for. We booked a four day cheap break and I would say that considering the price it is value for money. The hotel is a bit dated and the food is adequate. I would not want to experience the same buffet for longer than four nights but the location of the hotel made this hotel a good choice. Close to the beach and not far from the shops. Air con in the bedrooms and good easy wifi throughout the hotel. Tha hotel bar on the fifth floor offer great prices ..no normal high bar prices which was great. Downside: the staff don't appear to be very happy and we were recommended a restaurant where we were ceremonially ripped off, but generally an economy hotel for an economy price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A bit retro but no harm in that. It is clean and tidy, things work properly and bed is comfortable. Free wi-fi is easily accessed too.
The breakfast is adequate but lacks fruit, tea and coffee are pretty reasonable fruit juice is rather poor, a pity when oranges are so abundant.
Parking can be had for €6 per day at nearby indoor car park (see concierge). I would advise getting a good map of Las Palmas as the local (free) ones miss off lots of roads. The one way system can have you going round in circles. Gold cars from the airport was good and easy to drop off too.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite well sound proofed with two lots of double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just average. Located in third to beach line. The problem can be noise from the street if Your room faces one of the main streets. I would say that it is hotel for economy class tourists.
The problem can be also parking - I just park my car at front of the hotel in order to fix all the registration formalities and wiem returned find a fine.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for a week as part of an "on the beach" package. Good sized room with air conditioning. Free wifi everywhere and PCs available on 5th floor. Reasonable swimming pool on roof. Breakfast buffet got a bit boring but can't complain at the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christ0pherF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was a great hotel. I stayed with two other friends and the location was perfect, close to the beach, just as close to shops and it had a crazy pool in the roof. We got the breakfast included and it was a big spread with hot cooked food and a continental, loads of fruit and yogs and nice little cake things. Friendly staff, the girl on the desk told us where the nearest supermarket was and they would order taxis at night. Not all young people staying here, there's a good range from couples to families. No loud disco at night so you get quiet time to actually sleep. Good basic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It is not a fancy hotel, you get what you pay for: delicious food, confortable bed, welcoming staff and a few steps away from Las Canteras beach. Breakfast is always the same but you can choose something different everyday from the variety offered: breads, cereals, english breakfast, fruits, milk, yohgurt. The main meals are very tasty and always bring you good cuisine from the canary islands. The room is big enough, recently refurbished and the soundproof glass works as it should. There were no strange people around the hotel as you may read in some reviews.
I'd stay here again if I get back to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LuisRibeiro89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Palmas de Gran Canaria hotels
0.5 mi away
Concorde Hotel Gran Canaria
Concorde Hotel Gran Canaria
#28 of 45 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios Canteras
Hotel Alisios Canteras
#20 of 45 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Parque
Hotel Parque
#8 of 45 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Faycan
Hotel Faycan
#23 of 45 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
176 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Aloe Canteras
Hotel Aloe Canteras
#18 of 45 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#37 of 45 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Calle Fernando Guanarteme 54, 35010 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is one of the most centrally located hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. It is situated in the commercial area of the city, near the financial area and beside the spectacular Playa de Las Canteras. The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool on the top floor with spectacular views, plus a fully equipped gym. If you are looking for a central hotel with affordable prices, Hotel Astoria is undoubtedly your hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. In addition to a privileged location, our hotel has excellent facilities to help you make your stay in Gran Canaria a real pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing