We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador Hotel El Hierro
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Valverde
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ursula, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed over the Easter Break with my husband and 15 year old daughter which here in the Canary Islands started on Thursday as today is a normal working day.

From the day we arrived till we left everything was just perfect. The staff are all extremely polite and know what they are doing! The hotel is in a secluded location and simply charming. Our room although not enormous is perfect for a couple but perhaps a Little cramped for 3, but that did not spoil our enjoyment. It faced the sea and at night you could hear it, but this didn´t affect my sleep. It is a very clean hotel and well run. We had dinner there 2 nights out of the 3 but on reflection would have preferred to have booked a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. The food is of a good standard and the portions are large so we had 2 menus for 25 euros each (3 course but they also bring you a nibble to start with) and one main course from the a la carte. The a la carte has a limited choice, but the 2 days we had dinner the set menu changed and had ample choice of starters and main courses.

The swimming pool was not heated so slightly on the cold side, but the jacuzzi and the steam room (which you have to ask to be switched on) were nearly perfect (on the last day the jacuzzi was not as hot as previously). This was probably due to the fact that it was morning and the jacuzzi hadn´t quite heated up.

I would certainly recommend the parador if you want a quiet peaceful hotel away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. It is a very tranquil place with a happy and polite staff who have obviously worked there for a long time and know what customer service is and that is why I am giving it 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noorgardner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    137
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
45
189
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OXFORDSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in March 2014. Rooms with even numbers face the sea, those with odd numbers back onto the car park/mountain. Definately worth having a sea view room (providing you can sleep through the crashing waves). Rooms were well serviced but we had a problem with the glazed doors leading to the balcony. These would not close and severe draught resulted. Repairs carried out after complaint. This hotel is nearly 40 years old and some exterior refurbishment of woodwork is badly needed - the interior is smart and well furnished. All staff were pleasant. Breakfast is self service but there were several groups of Germans who descended like locusts early each morning and replenishments were sometimes slow to arrive. Evening meal in the restaurant was 25 Euros for 3 courses but few diners used this facility on the five nights we attended. Snack meals are also available. There are good internal facilities including jacuzzi, table tennis, sauna, changing rooms and fitness room. External non heated swimming pool was never used during our stay. Gardens are in need of attention but the situation is very attractive.

Room Tip: Suggest room on top floor at front e.g 404,406,408,410 or level 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIGEL927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We were here for 5 nights. Car hire from Cicar at the port was quick and efficient and we arrived approx 15 mins later. Dinner finishes at 10.30pm so using the 5.30pm ferry from Los Cristianos is not a problem.

The hotel overlooks the sea and rooms with that view are available for extra. Our balcony was very windy though!

The restaurant is pleasant with local food on the menu.

Breakfast is served in a smaller dining room and is good and varied.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrogateblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Parador of El Hierro for 5 nights after Christmas till 3rd January and celebrated New Year in the Parador. The parador is located in a very beautiful spot at (almost) the end of a dead end road. You can only reach the rest of the island through a short, small one lane tunnel. A traffic light alternately lets cars through in one or the other direction. Leaving the parador, keep in mind that this traffic light takes its time in turning from red to green! The parador is literally by the beach. About half the rooms are ocean facing (facing east) and one half look out over the back of the building. At the back of the building (no ocean views) about half the rooms look out over a small garden and have terraces, the other adjacent half of the rooms on the back side look out over a car park and do not have terraces and only small windows. You may want to avoid these rooms. It’s certainly worth paying the extra money for a room with ocean view. The parador is not a new building but it’s in a good state. The room we got was on the second floor. All ocean facing rooms have a terrace with two chairs and a table. The ocean is at most 50 meters away. For those who like very quiet nights it might be good to know that the surf of the ocean is very audible – even with the windows closed. The older state of the building becomes obvious from details such as the condition of the sliding terrace doors in the rooms. The doors are made of wood but require quite a bit of effort to open. “Sliding” door is maybe not really the right description. “Rasping” doors might more accurately describe it. The doors also don’t fully slide together leaving them slightly ajar. In a place where the average yearly temperature is above 20°C this is not likely to be a major problem but for those who easily feel cold it might be. The rooms are a good size, the mattresses are decent enough although not the best. The bed linen is of good quality and the same goes for the bathroom towels. The room decoration is typically parador: old style classical but tasteful. The rooms were clean and had all the conveniences you would expect. In true parador style the minibars still come fully stocked. One minus for the rooms: wifi doesn’t extend there. You can only use the wifi in the public spaces of the hotel. On top of it the wifi is very unreliable. We had two full days without wifi anywhere in the hotel. Staff is the typical, uninterested parador staff: friendly but not overly zealous. What I like most of the paradores are the cozy public areas. I loved lounging in their living room area with a book and a coffee. Keep in mind however that the bar hours are quirky in that the bar is simply closed most of the time. You’ll have to go on a small hunt to find a member of staff to get you something to drink. Best way is probably to go to reception and ask them to find the person for you. I sometimes had the impression they were hiding in the backroom behind the bar. The hotel has a great (salt water) swimming pool outdoors. El Hierro being in the north Atlantic I’m not sure how many days a year the water actually gets warm enough to swim but for those with resilient skins: the pool is clean and very nice. By the pool is the annex with a fitness area and a Jacuzzi (no extra charge). There’s a sauna but it didn’t work throughout our stay. El Hierro being a very, very small island you won’t have many alternative dining options. We ate in the hotel every night of our stay. The first night’s service was decent but I was served rotten fish… It smelled awful and I inadvertently took a fork-full of the stuff…. Luckily without consequences since it had been deep-fried. The second night the food was good but the service went completely haywire. We entered at 1930 and finaly got our starter at 2100. Others had to wait even longer. Some tables got their bottle of wine during dessert. Some orders were forgotten. It was a downright mess. In general it was total mayhem. I believe the fault lies with the management. With a full restaurant and only two employees plus a young kid (trainee) this kind of situation was bound to happen. We feared the worst for the following night – New Year’s Eve dinner – but luckily the management had decided to deem the guests worthy of some extra service and they had hired extra staff for the occasion. That evening the food was excellent ànd the service was impeccable. The following nights the food remained good but service was variable and mostly erratic and chaotic. A major overhaul of the kitchen and dining hall management is absolutely needed in this hotel. It’s a total disaster. One last minus: at 10 am in the morning as we were still in the room with the don’t disturb sign outside, the cleaner burst into the room without knocking, ignored us, went into the bathroom and left without saying anything slamming the door loudly behind her… Never seen such a thing. Maybe training in hospitality etiquette might help ? Again I believe this to be a task for the management. Would I stay here again ? Yes because despite the total disaster in the restaurant and the uninterested staff the hotel is in a location to die for and besides there is no comparable alternative offering the same comfort level on the island. It’s not cheap either. Count on between 200 and 250 EUR per night for the room (with ocean view) and breakfast and dinner for two people. Regarding transport: you may want to rent a car. There are no buses to the parador and taxi services are not exactly plentiful on the tiny island.

Room Tip: For the price charged better get an ocean view room. The others offer "sweeping" car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our walking holiday on El Hierro. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and all the staff we encountered were extremely polite and friendly. The room was excellent and very clean. We had a seaview room and were able to sit on the balcony and relax whilst watching the crystal clear sea with waves crashing on the shore. There are various communal rooms and areas -indoors and outdoors - in which to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or cup of coffee and the service was impeccable.
The evening meal was excellent, again service impeccable, and the breakfast was amazingly good with a huge selection of food and drink.
It was too cold to use the pool and the Jacuzzi was too cold for us but I imagine they are great in the warmer months.
This was ideal for us to finish our active week off and relax before we travelled home.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room - the views are great and the sound of the sea is very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited El Hierro during our holiday in Tenerife (we got a bit fed up with all of the people there) and found the hotel very nice! We had a warm welcome and then went up to our room. By the time we wanted to eat, it was already 10 PM but we were able to anyway. The food did take a long time but was very nice! The following night was new years night and at midnight the whole hotel (including us) went to the room downstairs and all danced when the traditional Spanish music was turned up! We also joined in in the communal grape the eating (you eat one grape at each chime of the clock). Overall we had a fantastic stay, the breakfast is amazing! The room is quite nice and the location is beautiful. This is definatley the most luxurious hotel on El Hierro!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

nice calm location, uninterrupted sea views, nice surrounding walks, sometime noisy sea for those who may not enjoy it, but the sound of waves can put you to sleep too.....food quality can be better, but breakfast selection is adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghislain59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valverde
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ida Ines
Hotel Ida Ines
#1 of 1 in Frontera
125 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Villa El Mocanal
Hotel Villa El Mocanal
#3 of 4 in Valverde
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balneario Pozo de la Salud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Casa Rural La Asomada
Casa Rural La Asomada
#1 of 1 in Guarazoca
4 reviews
3.7 mi away
Casa Rural Aborigen Bimbache
4.2 mi away
La Brujita
La Brujita
#2 of 2 in Tigaday
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Hotel El Hierro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Hotel El Hierro

Property: Parador Hotel El Hierro
Address: Diseminado Las Playas s/n, 38910, Valverde, El Hierro, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > El Hierro > Valverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Valverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Hotel El Hierro 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Hotel El Hierro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Hotel Valverde
Parador Hotel El Hierro Valverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing