We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartments close to town centre and port”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel El Galeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent a night here as we had to catch an early ferry from Santa Cruz to Tenerife in the morning. The apartments are enormous and well equipped and had plenty of space for our family. The basement parking is very convenient in a town where parking is at a premium and you can get the lift straight from the car park to your floor making it very easy to move luggage etc. The town centre and port are close at hand and only about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel. This is a pleasant downhill stroll but it's a bit of a workout coming back up the hill to the apartments! The hill is an important consideration if you're arriving in Santa Cruz on the airport bus since although it stops near the hotel you will have to struggle up the steep hill to reach the hotel. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful and we'd definitely stay here again if visiting Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We asked for a sea view on our booking form, but were given an apartment at the back, facing the steep hill. I have the impression that (German) tour operators book the best rooms en masse. On the other hand, our spacious apartment had two large bedrooms although we only booked one - oh well. The apartments are well equipped:
Kitchen: four-ring electric hob (no oven of any kind), crockery, pans, cutlery, glasses, washing-up liquid, dish cloth, but NO condiments or oil. Mini-bar. Our fridge (apt. 309) did not cool well. No kettle nor tea/coffee provided. The only coffee maker is the typical small metal Italian espresso percolator used on the hob.
Bathroom. Good HAIRDRYER. Fresh towels every two days. Bath with shower over.
Owing to the bad fitting of the sliding door lock, it was not possible to lock the balcony door. Not a nice feeling!
Hot water was sporadic.
TV channels: Spanish, BBC World, CNN, German ARD and ZDF, France24.
No table lamp in the living room for a cosy feel. The furniture is very Spanish - brown and bulky - we didn' t feel at home at all. Everything very clean, however. Secure parking underground.
Staff were friendly and spoke enough English. Breakfast costs €5/person extra. We booked this hotel for its proximity to the port and the good reviews on TA.
TIP: When leaving the hotel by car, do not try to go through the warren of one-way streets, but watch out for signs to the airport. This road will take you direct to the coast road still in the town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you are staying in La Palma and want an excellent apartment providing self catering, with choice of great value excellent breakfast this is a must. Great value, lovely new apartments and central in the capital city. Parking provided and easy to find. Lifts to all floors. Great base for your holiday, for walking or exploring the island. Also only a short distance from the main bus stops which provide great services around the island.

Staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Various sizes are available so select for you needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, Director General at Aparthotel El Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thak you for your comment. We hope see your again in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked here for a 3 night stay for my husbands birthday. When we arrived, on a Sunday, the reception was closed with a telephone number for you to call, within 5 mins someone arrived to show us to our room. We were in 403, it was huge, an enormous balcony, views of the port and mountains, a large sitting room and bedroom. It was spotlessly clean. For me the only downside was I personally found the bed very uncomfortable, perhaps a new mattress required? The free underground parking is a bonus, as parking is at a premium here. A bit far to walk into town, but do-able, but maybe a taxi back as it is uphill. Would definately come here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MEB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I just saw the review from JennyP and can just confirm her views. We also stayed here during the storm and I must say, Yessica, you are a gem and an asset to the hotel. Management, are you listening? When she told us that all the restaurants were closed because of the rain and the storm, our question was: where do we eat? She just said: "I can fix you some sandwiches, if that´s ok" and within minutes she knocked on our door with a tray with sandwiches, juice, cheese and yogurt. We were actually supposed to go to Fuerteventura that day to catch a flight to Norway but being stranded in Sta Cruz de la Palma we couldn´t have found a better place. Rooms are spacious and clean, the beds comfortable, the breakfast great and then there´s Yessica! When (not if) we come back to La Palma we know where to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_H190483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We recently stayed at this lovely apartment and so enjoyed it. An excellent place and so very clean; our apartment was cleaned every day and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Yessica. We actually arrived during a terrible storm on 3 March and were unable to leave the building due to the rain, high winds etc. however Yessica kindly prepared for those wanting it a lovely cold buffet supper which was way beyond her call of duty. She is a credit to the establishment and we highly recommend El Galeon as a lovely place to stay in La Palma. Our thanks to Yessica for making us so very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 831JennyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This apartment was huge. Very large lounge/dining room, great kitchen, beautiful bathroom and large bedroom with huge bed. We didn't find the second bedroom for several hours. This was just for two of us! We also had a large balcony with views of the port. The breakfast costing 5 euros was excellent. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyJ186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de la Palma
1.9 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
582 reviews
2.1 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,025 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
263 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel El Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel El Galeon

Address: Carretera Galion 10, 38700 Santa Cruz de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Santa Cruz de la Palma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz de la Palma
Price Range: £43 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel El Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel El Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel El Galeon La Palma/Santa Cruz De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing